EndNote Online

EndNote Online is the legacy interface, pre-EndNote 21. There are three different account types:

1) EndNote Basic (Free)

Free for anyone; great for students and casual users.
Works with Word, allows sharing with 1,000 users, includes 2 GB storage for 50,000 references, 21 citation styles, basic imports and browser search, but lacks advanced tools.

2) EndNote Online (Premium)

For users with the EndNote Desktop software, activated by syncing with the desktop app.
Fully compatible with Microsoft Word (CWYW), offers unlimited storage for up to 1 million references, 7,000+ citation styles, supports 600+ import formats and 3,000+ search connections, includes browser-based search, but lacks group sets, tags, and activity feed.

3) EndNote Online with WOS

For researchers with a Web of Science subscription. Access via WOS or EndNote Online.
Works with Microsoft Word (CWYW plugin), includes 2 GB storage for 50,000 references, uses citation styles and imports set by the WOS admin, supports browser-based search, allows sharing with up to 1,000 users, but lacks advanced tools like group sets, tags, and activity feed.

LibrarySearch

Make sure that you have your EndNote library open:

1. Access LibrarySearch and perform a search.
2. Select the pin icon next to each reference you want to save.
3. Select the pin icon at the top right of the screen to open My Favourites.
4. Tick the references you want to export.
5. Select the three dots (•••) near the top of the list.
6. Select EndNote (RIS) Export.
7. In the Encoding dropdown, choose UTF-8.
8. Select Download to save the Primo_RIS_Export.ris file to your computer.
9. Go to your EndNote Web/Online library.
10. Select Collect → Import References from the top menu.
11. In the File field, upload the .ris file you just downloaded.
12. In the Import Option dropdown, select RefMan RIS.
    Tip. If RefMan RIS isn’t listed, select “Select Favorites,” add it, then return to the dropdown.
13. Choose a group or select [Unfiled] in the To dropdown.
14. Select Import to add the references to your EndNote Web library.

Library databases

Databases include a range of resources such as scholarly journals and articles, newspaper articles, e-books, videos, images, theses, and more. From the Library's website you can access a list of popular databases. Check the Library subject guide in the relevant subject area for the list of recommended databases.

Make sure that you have your EndNote library open:

1. Access your chosen database and perform a search.
2. Select the reference(s) you want to export.
3. Look for an option like Export, Save, Send to, or EndNote—select it.
4. Choose the EndNote format (usually .ris) and download the file.
5. Locate the downloaded file (usually in your Downloads folder or desktop).
6. Go to your EndNote Web/Online library.
7. Select Collect → Import References from the top menu.
8. In the File field, upload the file you downloaded.
9. In the Import Option dropdown, select the correct filter (e.g. PubMed, RefMan RIS).
   Tip: If the filter isn’t listed, select “Select Favorites,” add it, then return to the dropdown.
10. Choose a group or select [Unfiled] in the To dropdown.
11. Select Import to add the references to your EndNote Web (Online) library.

Google Scholar

Import a single reference

1. Go to Google Scholar and search for your topic.
2. Select Cite under the reference you want to export.
3. Select EndNote to download the scholar.enw file.
   Alternatively:
   a) Select the three horizontal lines (top left) → Settings.
   b) Under Bibliography manager, select EndNote and select Save.
   c) Then select Import into EndNote under the reference.
4. Open your EndNote Web/Online library.
5. Select Collect → Import References.
6. In the File field, upload the scholar.enw file.
7. In the Import Option dropdown, select EndNote Import.
   Tip: If not listed, select “Select Favorites,” add it, then return to the dropdown.
8. Choose a group or select [Unfiled] in the To dropdown.
9. Select Import to add the reference.

Import multiple references

1. Sign in to Google Scholar using your RMIT credentials.
2. Select My Library (top right) and press ENABLE if prompted.
   This step is only needed the first time you sign in.
3. Search for your topic.
4. Select the star icon (Save) under each reference you want to export.
   Saved references turn the star blue and are added to My Library.
5. Select My Library to view saved references.
6. Tick the references you want to export.
7. Select the Export icon (arrow on a line) and select EndNote.
8. This downloads a citations.enw file to your computer.
9. Open your EndNote Web (Online) library.
10. Select Collect → Import References.
11. In the File field, upload the citations.enw file.
12. In the Import Option dropdown, select EndNote Import.
    Tip: Use “Select Favorites” if the option isn’t visible.
13. Choose a group or select [Unfiled] in the To dropdown.
14. Select Import to add the references.

 Note: Only citation details (e.g. title, author, year) are imported—not full-text PDFs.

Online search

To retrieve references directly from library catalogues or databases in EndNote Web (Online):

1. Go to Collect → Online Search.
2. From the drop-down list, select a source (e.g. RMIT_University_Library). You can also select Select Favorites to save frequently used sources.
3. Select Connect, enter your search terms, and choose to retrieve all or a specific range of records.
4. Select Search, then tick the references you want.
5. Use the Add to group drop-down to assign selected references to a group.

The references will appear in All My References and in the selected group.

Minimum fields

For references to display correctly in most referencing styles, a certain number of bibliographic elements or minimum fields are required.

Your referencing style may require more fields. Refer to the Library's Easy Cite referencing guide for more details.

Groups

Create, Add, and Share Groups in EndNote Web/Online. Groups are folders to organize references by topic, project, or purpose.

Create Groups

1. Log in at EndNote Web/Online.
2. Create: Go to Organize → Manage My Groups → New Group, name it, and save.
3. Add References: In My References, select items and use Add to group….
4. View: Select a group name under My Groups to see its contents.
5. Edit/Delete: Rename or delete groups in Manage My Groups (references stay in your library).

Share Groups

1. Go to Organize > Manage Sharing.
2.  Select a group, select Manage Sharing, add emails, and set permissions (Read Only or Read & Write).

Duplicates

1. Log in to EndNote Web/Online.
2. Go to Organize → Find Duplicates.
3. EndNote scans and shows duplicate references.
4. Review side-by-side entries and select which to keep.
5. Select Delete or Remove Duplicates.

Tips:

• Duplicates are based on Author, Title, Year, Journal.
• Slight differences (e.g. punctuation) may not be flagged.
• You can manually edit or merge entries if needed.
   

File attachments

1. Log in to EndNote Web/Online.
2. Go to My References and open a reference.
3. Select Attach File (or Edit → scroll to File Attachments).
4. Choose a file (PDF, Word, image, etc.) and select Upload or Save.

Important notes

• Max storage: 2 GB total.
• References with attachments show a blue paper clip.

Inserting citations

1. In Word, go to the EndNote tab.
2. Select Insert Citations.
3. Search for a reference and select Find.
4. Select the reference(s) and select Insert.

Tip: For large documents, turn off Instant Formatting:

1. Go to EndNote → Preferences.
2. Uncheck Enable Instant Formatting.
3. Select OK.
    

Bibliographies

1. Log in to EndNote Web/Online.
2. Go to My References.
3. Select the references you want in your bibliography (use checkboxes).
4. Select Format in the top menu.
5. Choose Bibliography from the dropdown.
6. Select:
   a) Output Style (e.g. APA, MLA, Chicago).
   b) File Format (e.g. RTF, HTML, TXT).
7. Select Save, Preview, or Email to generate your bibliography.
    

Referencing styles

1. Log in to EndNote Web/Online.
2. Go to Format → Bibliography.
3. Under Output Style, select the dropdown menu.
4. Select a style (e.g. APA, MLA, Chicago).
   Tip: If your style isn’t listed, select “Select Favorites” to add more styles.
5. Once selected, you can preview, save, or export your bibliography in that style.