Option A: Insert Selected Citation (from Word)

1. Go to your EndNote Desktop library and select the reference(s) you want to insert.
    
2. Go to your Word document. Put your cursor where you would like to insert the citations(s), and add a space.
    
3. Click on the arrow part of the Insert Citation button, then click on Insert Selected Citation.
    
4. The in-text citation(s) has been inserted into your Word document. The full reference list entry has also been automatically created in the reference list at the end of the document. This entry contains the full details of the in-text citation(s) you have just inserted.
   
   
   Figure: Insert Selected Citation within Word's EndNote 21 tab on Windows.
   Image: Copyright © Microsoft. Used under licence.
    

Figure: Insert Selected Citation within Word's EndNote 21 tab on Mac.
Image: Copyright © Microsoft. Used under licence.

Option B: Insert Citation (from Word)

1. Go to your Word document. Put your cursor where you would like to insert the citation(s), and add a space.
    
2. Click on the arrow part of the Insert Citation button, then click on Insert Citation.
    
3. Enter a keyword that appears within your EndNote Desktop library references (e.g. author last name, title, abstract).
    
4. Click Find and a list of matching search results will appear. Then select the reference(s) you want to insert and click Insert.
    
5. The in-text citation(s) has been inserted into your Word document. The full reference list entry has also been automatically created in the reference list at the end of the document. This entry contains the full details of the in-text citation(s) you have just inserted.
   
   
   Figure: Insert Citation within Word's EndNote 21 tab on Windows.
   Image: Copyright © Microsoft. Used under licence.
    

Figure: Insert Citation within Word's EndNote 21 tab on Mac.
Image: Copyright © Microsoft. Used under licence.

Option C: Inserting a citation (from EndNote Desktop)

1. Go to your Word document. Put your cursor where you would like to insert the citation(s), and add a space.
    
2. In the EndNote 21 tab, press the Go to EndNote button.
   
   
   Image: Copyright © Microsoft. Used under licence.
    
3. In your EndNote Desktop library: select the reference(s) you want to insert, then click on the Insert a citation for each selected reference icon (it looks like a quotation mark).
   
   
   Image: Copyright © Clarivate. Used under licence.
   
   Tip: Alternatively, from the EndNote Desktop toolbar, go to Tools > Cite While You Write > Insert Selected Citation(s) after you have selected the reference(s) you want to insert.
    
4. The in-text citation(s) has been inserted into your Word document. The full reference list entry has also been automatically created in the reference list at the end of the document. This entry contains the full details of the in-text citation(s) you have just inserted.

How to select multiple references in your EndNote Desktop library

You can select multiple references from your EndNote Desktop library to insert into your Word document.

Windows:

• Hold down the Ctrl key while selecting any number of references in any order, OR

• Hold down the Shift key to select a continuous range of references. Click on the first reference within the range, then hold down the Shift key and click on the last reference within the range -- this will automatically select all the references in between (plus the first and last), OR

• To select all references, click on any reference, then press together the Ctrl + A keys.

Mac:

• Hold down the Command [⌘]  key while selecting any number of references in any order, OR

• Hold down the Shift key to select a continuous range of references. Click on the first reference within the range, then hold down the Shift key and click on the last reference within the range -- this will automatically select all the references in between (plus the first and last), OR

• To select all references, click on any reference, then press together the Command [⌘] + A keys.

Editing a citation

Add a page number

When you want to quote an author’s idea rather than paraphrase it, you need to insert the page number the quote appears on within the in-text citation.

1. Place your mouse cursor on the in-text citation you want to add a page number to.
    
2. Click on Edit & Manage Citation(s). Ensure that the correct reference (citation) is selected.
    
3. In the Pages field, enter only the page number, e.g. 41. Press the OK button.
    
4. The page number now appears within your in-text citation. Page numbers will only appear IF your referencing style allows it (e.g. APA 7^th, RMIT Harvard). To remove the page number from the citation, delete it from the Pages field.

Hide author name and display only the year

You may sometimes want to integrate the author’s name within the main text of your document rather than put it in brackets at the end of the sentence. For example: According to Bertran (2018), it was recently discovered that… In this case, you need to hide the author’s name and display only the year (and page number, if applicable) within the in-text citation.

1. Place your mouse cursor on the in-text citation of which you want to hide the author name.
    
2. Click on Edit & Manage Citation(s). Ensure that the correct reference (citation) is selected.
    
3. Click the Formatting drop-down list within the Edit Citation tab, then select Exclude Author. Press the OK button.​
    
4. The author name is now hidden within your in-text citation, and only the year shows. To show the author name once again, select Default instead of Exclude Author.
   
   
   Figure: Excluding the author from the citation via the Edit Citation function within Word's EndNote 21 tab on Windows.
   Image: Copyright © Microsoft. Used under licence.
    

Figure: Excluding the author from the citation via the Edit Citation function within Word's EndNote 21 tab on Mac.
Image: Copyright © Microsoft. Used under licence.

Fix a misspelling

If there is a misspelling within an in-text citation or bibliography reference in your Word document:

1. Place your mouse cursor on the citation which has the misspelling.
    
2. Click on Edit & Manage Citation(s). Ensure that the correct reference (citation) is selected.
    
3. Click on Edit Reference button to the right of the reference. This takes you to the reference in your EndNote Desktop library. Correct the spelling and press the Save button to save your changes.
   
   Tip: if using a Mac, first click on the cogwheel icon  to the right of the reference, then click on Edit Library Reference. This takes you to the reference in your EndNote Desktop library. Correct the spelling and press the Save button to save your changes.
    
4. Go back to your Word document. Click Update Citations and Bibliography to update the changes within your document.
    
5. Your Word document now contains the correct spelling.

Removing a citation from your document

1. Place your mouse cursor on the citation you want to delete.
    
2. Click on Edit & Manage Citation(s). Ensure that the correct reference (citation) is selected.
    
3. Click the arrow of the Edit Reference button to the right of the reference, then select Remove Citation. Press OK. This removes the reference from your Word document only, NOT your EndNote Desktop library.
   
   Tip: if using a Mac, first click on the cogwheel icon  to the right of the reference, then click on Remove Citation and press OK button. This removes the reference from your Word document only, NOT your EndNote Desktop library.
    
4. Click Update Citations and Bibliography to ensure that the change has definitely gone through in your document.
    
5. That instance of your in-text citation has been removed from your Word document. If that was the last instance of that in-text citation, its corresponding reference list entry within your reference list has also been removed from your document.

Tips:

• Removing an EndNote citation from your Word document does not remove it from your EndNote Desktop library.
• If you want to delete a reference from your EndNote Desktop library, first ensure that it has not been previously inserted into your Word document. If it has and you still delete it, your Word document will become corrupt and problematic.
• To avoid this, first remove the citation from your Word document, then delete it from your EndNote Desktop library.

Creating a standalone bibliography

There are two options for creating a standalone bibliography in Word using your EndNote Desktop library.
 

Option A: Using the EXPORT command

1. Go to your EndNote Desktop library. Ensure that your reference style is selected.
    
2. Highlight (select) the references you want.
    
3. In the EndNote Desktop toolbar: go to File > Export. The Export File name box will appear.
    
4. From the Save as Type drop-down list, select Rich Text Format (*.rtf).
    
5. From the Output style drop-down list, select your chosen referencing style (e.g. APA 7th).
    
6. Press the Save button. You have now created a separate document in .rtf format which contains your standalone bibliography.

Option B: Using the COPY FORMATTED command

1. Go to your EndNote Desktop library. Ensure that your reference style is selected.
    
2. Highlight (select) the references you want.
    
3. In the EndNote Desktop toolbar: go to References > Copy Formatted Reference OR right-click on selected references and select Copy Formatted Reference.
    
4. Go to Word: paste the references into the document via Home > Paste OR right-click and select Paste. You can now save your document.

Documents and your supervisor

When submitting a document to your supervisor

It is recommended that you unformat your document prior to submitting a copy to your supervisor for comments.

Windows:

1. In the EndNote 21 tab in Word, click the small arrow beside Convert Citations and Bibliography.
2. Click Convert to Unformatted Citations.

Mac:

1. In the EndNote 21 tab in Word, click on the down arrow next to Tools. 
2. Click Convert to Unformatted Citations. 

When receiving a document from your supervisor

Be mindful of Track Changes in Word documents, as EndNote does NOT work well with them.

When you receive a document with Track Changes, it is recommended that you either accept or reject accordingly, and only THEN click the Update Citations and Bibliography in Word’s EndNote 21 tab.

Unformatting citations and bibliographies

If you are writing a document and inserting citations over a long period of time, you should regularly unformat and then reformat your citations. You may even choose to work with unformatted citations, reformatting your documents once a week to check that the citations are appearing correctly in your document.

The in-text citations will change from e.g. (Yeo 2012) to {Yeo, 2012 #39} and the bibliography will temporarily disappear. Note that the placeholder includes the unique record number of the reference in your EndNote library e.g. #39.

It is advisable to separate your thesis chapters into separate documents, then combine them before submission.

If you intend to combine separate documents (for example, chapters) that already contain citations, unformat the citations in all the documents before combining them into a single document, then reformat them.

You can create a single bibliography from multiple documents, for example where each chapter of a thesis is a separate document or where you are collaborating with other EndNote users.

Merging documents to generate a single bibliography

Windows:

1. In EACH of your Word documents / chapters, insert references from your EndNote library. These references will be EndNote-coded (EndNote-linked to your library).
2. In EACH Word document, go to the EndNote 21 tab and click on Convert Citations and Bibliography > Convert to Unformatted Citations to unformat your citations. Your references will no longer EndNote-coded (EndNote-linked to your EndNote library).
3. Cut and paste documents together, inserting breaks between chapters.
4. To reformat the document, select Update Citations and Bibliography in Word's EndNote 21 tab.

Mac:

1. In EACH Word documents / chapters, insert references from your EndNote library. These references will be EndNote-coded (EndNote-linked to your EndNote library).
2. In EACH Word document, go to the EndNote 21 tab and click on the down arrow next to Tools > Convert to Unformatted Citations to unformat your citations. Your references will no longer EndNote-coded (EndNote-linked to your EndNote library).
3. Cut and paste documents together, inserting breaks between chapters. 
4. To reformat the document, select Update Citations and Bibliography in Word's EndNote 21 tab.
    

Preparing your document for submission

If you wish to submit your thesis or a paper for publication, you must first remove all field codes as these could interfere with the publishing software used to produce the journal.

Windows:

1. In Word's EndNote 21 tab, click Convert Citations and Bibliography > Convert to Plain Text.
2. This will preserve your original document and create a new, unsaved version without EndNote field codes.
3. Save the new document under a new name, and send that version for publication.

Mac:

1. In Word's EndNote 21 tab, click on the down arrow next to Tools > Convert to Plain Text OR click Convert Citations and Bibliography > Convert to Plain Text.
2. This will preserve your original document and create a new, unsaved version without EndNote field codes. 
3. Save the new document under a new name, and send that version for publication.

Strange codes in your document

Sometimes, instead of seeing your regular in-text citations, there is a strange code, which looks something like:

ADDIN EN.CITE <EndNote><Cite><Author>Burwell</Author> <Year>2005</Year><RecNum>39</RecNum><record><rec-number>39</rec-number " ...

What you are seeing is the hidden field codes in Word. This is the hidden code. EndNote uses to hold the reference information for your formatted citations.

Follow the instructions below to fix the problem.

Windows:

1. In Word, go to File > Options.
2. In the Advanced tab, scroll down to Show document content > Show field codes instead of their values and uncheck (untick) the box.   
3. Press the OK button. The document should now appear normal without the codes.

Mac:

1. In Word, go to Word > Preferences > View.  
2. Under the Show in Document section, uncheck (untick) the Field codes instead of values box.
3. Click on the small red dot at top left OR press together the Command [⌘] + W keys to save the changes and close the window.
    

'EndNote 21' tab is greyed out

In Word, the EndNote 21 tab within the toolbar should appear as enabled, not greyed out.

If it is greyed out, it is often because the Word document was opened as Protected.

Image: Copyright © Microsoft. Used under licence.

There are various solutions to unprotect the document and enable the greyed out EndNote 21 tab, allowing you to use its functions.

Try the solutions below and see which one works for you:
 

• Solution 1: Unprotect the document

Windows:

1. Open your Word document.
2. Go to File > Info > check that NO option is selected (yellow) within the Protect Document button.
3. If any option is selected (yellow), press on the Protect Document button deselect it (will no longer be yellow). This will cause the document to be unprotected.

Mac:

1. Open your Word document.
2. Go to Tools > Protect Document > check that NOTHING is selected (ticked) and that you did NOT put a password. 
3. If anything is selected (ticked) or there is a password, deselect (untick) the options and remove the password. This will cause the document to be unprotected.
4. Press OK button.

• Solution 2: Re-open the document via File > Open

Windows and Mac:

1. Open any random MS Word document in your usual way.
2. From that same document, go to File > Open > locate and open the other document you want to re-open.
3. This should cause the newly re-opened document to be unprotected.

• Solution 3: Save a local copy of the document

Windows and Mac:

1. Open your Word document.
2. Go to File > Save As > save a copy of the document locally to your computer.
3. This should cause the new copy to be unprotected.

After you have undertaken any of the solutions above, the EndNote 21 tab within Word should no longer be greyed out.

Image: Copyright © Microsoft. Used under licence.