Research - Media and Communication - Resources for Master Students

LinkedIn Learning courses

Quantitative research is a crucial part of academic study and a fundamental scholarly research methodology. In this course, educator Rolin Moe explores the foundations of this methodology to help you confidently tackle your own quantitative research study. Rolin covers the characteristics of quantitative research, and explains how to approach different parts of the research process, such as creating a solid research question and developing a literature review. He goes over the elements of a study, explains how to collect and analyze data, and shows how to present your data in written and numeric form. Once you wrap up this course, you'll be familiar with the framework of a quantitative research study and prepared to start drafting your own.

Learning objectives

Reviewing the types of research design
Generalizing your research
Writing research questions
Creating research objectives
Developing a literature review
Anonymity and confidentiality in research studies
Narrowing your idea to a research topic
Developing a problem statement
Outlining your research proposal
Presenting your data in written form and numeric form
Writing your abstract and final summary

Course details

Level: Beginner Released: 10/9/2019

Join market research expert Sarah Weise as she goes over some of the best marketing research techniques and how to leverage them for nearly any challenge at hand. Sarah lays the groundwork for the course by examining the role marketing research plays in making strategic decisions about your brand or product. She shows how to get to know your customers though quantitative and qualitative techniques ranging from surveys and interviews to mobile diary studies and ethnography. Learn how to clarify your research goals, how to sell your company on research, how to find the best participants, and how to present your data in succinct, meaningful formats like customer personas and journey maps. You'll walk away with the skills you need to plan your next market research study with confidence.

Learning objectives

Defining your research approach
Qualitative research techniques, such as focus groups
Quantitative research techniques, including surveys
Articulating your research goals
Selling your company on research
Effectively presenting your findings
Using personas and journey mapping

Books and eBooks

Handbook of quantitative research methods in entrepreneurship by George Saridakis editor. Marc Cowling editor.
ISBN: 9781786430960
Publication Date: 2020
This Handbook of Quantitative Research Methods in Entrepreneurship provides an overarching perspective on the methods and approaches critical to quantitative analysis of research on entrepreneurship. Representing the research efforts of 28 international scholars in entrepreneurship, this Handbook offers guidance for quantitative analysts at a time of increasing availability of economic, financial and business data. Contributions focus on a range of important empirical issues, including business survival, job creation, internationalisation, bank financing and specific types of entrepreneurial activity such as social enterprise and family business. The combined chapters synthesise and experiment with useful methods to navigate and unpack crucial entrepreneurial data. Informative and accessible, this Handbook is crucial reading for undergraduate and postgraduate students looking for a broad overview of the field. It will also be useful to established academics and researchers who require state of the art research, and policymakers and practitioners, who may use this book as an indispensable guide for reflecting on public interventions in the entrepreneurial arena.
Market Research in a Week by Polly Bird
ISBN: 1444159658
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Learn in a week, what the leading experts on market research learn in a lifetime.
Research Design by Patricia Leavy
ISBN: 1462529992
Publication Date: 2017-04-12
This user-friendly book provides a step-by-step guide to using the five major approaches to research design: quantitative, qualitative, mixed methods, arts-based, and community-based participatory research. Chapters on each approach follow a unique format--they present a template for a research proposal and explain in detail how to conceptualize and fill in every section. Terminology commonly used within each approach is identified, and key moments of ethical decision making are flagged. Interdisciplinary research examples draw on current events and social justice topics. Unique coverage includes hot topics: replication studies and data sharing, tailoring proposals to different audiences, and more. The book also includes a general introduction to social research; an in-depth, practical discussion of ethics; and a chapter on how to begin a research study, from planning a topic to developing a research question via a literature review. Pedagogical Features *Multiple "Review Stops" in each chapter--quick quizzes with answer keys. *End-of-chapter writing exercises, research activities, and suggested resources. *Bold-face key terms and an end-of-book glossary. *Boxed tips from experts in the respective approaches. *Supplemental PowerPoint slides for instructors using the book in a class. Winner (Third Place)--American Journal of Nursing Book of the Year Award, Nursing Research Category
Communication Research by Joann Keyton
ISBN: 0078036917
Publication Date: 2014-02-25
Communication Research: Asking Questions, Finding Answers covers basic research issues and processes, both quantitative and qualitative, appropriate for communication students with little or no previous research methods experience. The text's guiding principle is that methodological choices are made from one's research questions or hypotheses. This avoids the pitfall in which students learn one methodology or one methodological skill and then force that method to answer all types of questions. Instead of working with one methodology to answer all types of questions, students come away understanding a variety of methods and how to apply them appropriately. Instructors and students can now access their course content through the Connect digital learning platform by purchasing either standalone Connect access or a bundle of print and Connect access. McGraw-Hill Connect® is a subscription-based learning service accessible online through your personal computer or tablet. Choose this option if your instructor will require Connect to be used in the course. Your subscription to Connect includes the following: * SmartBook® - an adaptive digital version of the course textbook that personalizes your reading experience based on how well you are learning the content. * Access to your instructor's homework assignments, quizzes, syllabus, notes, reminders, and other important files for the course. * Progress dashboards that quickly show how you are performing on your assignments and tips for improvement. * The option to purchase (for a small fee) a print version of the book. This binder-ready, loose-leaf version includes free shipping. Complete system requirements to use Connect can be found here: http://www.mheducation.com/highered/platforms/connect/training-support-students.html
How to Write Qualitative Research by Marcus B. Weaver-Hightower
ISBN: 1351659049
Publication Date: 2018-10-25
Qualitative research has exploded in popularity in nearly every discipline from the social sciences to health fields to business. While many qualitative textbooks explain how to conduct an interview or analyze fieldnotes, rarely do they give more than a few scant pages to the skill many find most difficult: writing. That's where How to Write Qualitative Research comes in. Using clear prose, helpful examples, and lists, it breaks down and explains the most common writing tasks in qualitative research, and each chapter suggests step-by-step how-to approaches writers can use to tackle those tasks. Topics include: writing about and with qualitative data composing findings organizing chapters and sections using grammar for powerful writing revising for clarity writing conclusions, methods sections, and theory creating and writing about visuals writing different types of qualitative research and different document types Each chapter features real-world examples from both professionals and students, hands-on practice activities, and template sentences that show qualitative writers how to get started. This text provides the perfect companion for writers of almost any skill level, from undergraduates to professionals. Whether you are writing a course paper, a dissertation, or your next book, How to Write Qualitative Research will help you write clearer, more effective qualitative research.

Qualitative Research - Videos

Introduction to qualitative research methods
ISBN: 9781473991958
(15 min, 52 sec)
Dr Denise Clark Pope discuss qualitative research methods and how to use them. The qualitative research process consists of five components: design, sample selection, data collection, analysis, and data representation. Clark Pope explains the five components and how to implement them.
Doing qualitative research
ISBN: 9781506363448
(9 min, 55 sec)
Professor John Creswell analyzes the characteristics of qualitative research and the qualitative researcher.
Qualitative research
ISBN: 9781473929234
(12 min, 1 sec)
Simon Richardson explains how his company, Human Digital, does qualitative analysis to show companies what people are saying about them on the Internet.

Library subject guides

Media and Communication - Resources for Master Students

Feedback?

LinkedIn Learning courses

Learning objectives

Course details

Level: Beginner Released: 10/9/2019

Learning objectives

Books and eBooks

Qualitative Research - Videos