All guides: Marketing and Market Research: Journals and magazines

Journals and magazines

Journals are comprised of articles and are published regularly throughout the year. There are different types of journals: academic and trade.

An academic journal contains work of a scholarly-nature about a particular discipline. Academic journals can be peer reviewed or not. This kind of journal article is good for theory.

A trade journal targets a particular industry or trade group. Trade journals publish cutting-edge information and developments in the particular industry and include specific advertising geared to the target audience.

Search collections of journals using the databases listed on the key resources page.

Peer reviewed Marketing and Market Research Journals

Peer reviewed Industry-specific journals

Trade journals

B&T
Leading Australian marketing, advertising and media magazine
AdWeek
Leading source of information covering brand marketing
Ad Age
A daily must-read for those across the marketing and media landscape.
Campaign
Global magazine serving the marketing, advertising and media communities.
Marketing News
A publication of the American Marketing Association, includes articles, interviews, commentary and news on marketing.

Academic journals

Find journal articles on a broad range of subjects including marketing, market research, market analysis and consumer behaviour.

Search using the main keywords that describe your topic. For example: marketing.

Try the advanced search options for combining keywords and refining your search to find the most relevant search results in the following databases:

Business Source Complete (EBSCO)
An EBSCO database covering marketing, management, finance, international business, and other business-related disciplines. Includes access to Harvard Business Review and Harvard Business Review Digital Articles.
ProQuest Central
A comprehensive, multidisciplinary collection, ideal for starting your research on a broad range of topics. Limit searches to business resources by using the “Change databases” tab at the top of the homepage.
Emerald Insight
Subject coverage spans a spectrum of management disciplines including management; strategy; leadership; marketing; and human resource management. Includes access to The CASE Journal and Emerging Markets Case Studies.
SAGE Journals Online
Multi-disciplinary database that features peer-reviewed, original research and review articles in an open access format. Subject areas may span the full spectrum of the social and behavioral sciences and the humanities, including marketing.
Taylor & Francis Online
Peer-reviewed articles on marketing topics including, market research, consumer behavior and advertising.
Wiley Online Library
Wiley Online Library provides access to journal articles, ebooks, reference materials in the disciplines of marketing, market and consumer research.
eMarketer Pro
Offers research articles, reports, and statistics. Topics include marketing, advertising, media and social media.

News and newspapers

Find news articles and broadcasts

The Library's News and newspapers guide lists Australian and international sources of news.

Library subject guides