All guides: Management and Human Resource Management: Websites

Key Websites

Management

Centre for Organisations and Social Change (COSC)
COSC addresses how organisations can play a key role in driving a business agenda that promotes transformative social change for the inclusion and wellbeing of all.
Diversity Council Australia (DCA)
DCA is the independent not-for-profit peak body leading diversity and inclusion in the workplace.
International Institute for Sustainable Development (IISD): A Global Guide
An independent think tank working to fulfill a bold commitment: to create a world where people and the planet thrive. Provides strategies and tools that companies can use to translate an aspiration for sustainability into practical, effective solutions.
Sustainability Victoria: Business
Sustainability Victoria helps reduce energy costs and boost business productivity.
Weatherhead School of Management - Organizational Behavior Research
Home to a number of significant ideas in the field of organisational development.
Workplace Gender Equality Agency (WGEA)
The WGEA is charged with promoting and improving gender equality in Australian workplaces.

Management (Professional Associations)

American Management Association (AMA)
AMA is an international, nonprofit, membership-based association that provides a broad range of management development and educational services to individuals and organisations.
MBA Australasia
The professional body for MBAs in Australiasia
International Project Management Association (IMPA)
IPMA is a federation of about 70 Member Associations that develop project management competences in their geographic areas of influence.
Women & Leadership Australia
An initiative that offers professional development, networking channels and research.
World Federation of People Management Associations (WFPMA)
The WFPMA is a global network of professionals in people management.

Human Resources (Australian Government)

Australian Government: Department of Education, Skills and Employment
To support economic growth by delivering policies and programs that assist job seekers to find work and encourage small and family businesses to grow.
Australian Government: Fair Work Ombudsman
Information and advice about your workplace rights and obligations.
Australian Human Rights Commission
Information on various topics, including racial & sexual discrimination.
Safe Work Australia (SWA)
SWA is an Australian government statutory body established in 2008 to develop national policy relating to WHS and workers’ compensation.

Small Business (Australian Government)

Aboriginal Business Victoria
Tools and resources to support Aboriginal businesses
Australia Competition and Consumer Commission (ACCC)
Aims to educate, inform and assist small business operators, to understand their rights and responsibilities under the Trade Practices Act.
Australian Government: Business
Access to all the government information, forms and services you need to plan, start and grow your business.
Australian Government: Starting an Indigenous business
Support and assistance to start and run an Indigenous business.
Australian Taxation Office
Information about tax for individuals, businesses or professionals. Includes detailed discussion of tax law, rulings, guidelines and ABN essentials.
Business Victoria
Provides a wealth of information to assist with starting and developing a business.
Indigenous Business Australia (IBA)
Programs and information that provides ATSI people with financial opportunities and support, including owning their own business.
Office of the Registrar of Indigenous Corporations
Supports and regulates the corporations that are incorporated under the Corporations (Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander) Act 2006.
Supply Nation
Brings a wide range of corporate and government organizations together with Indigenous businesses to facilitate relationships and commercial opportunities.

Human Resources (International)

European Union Open Data Portal
Provides access to an expanding range of data from the European Union (EU) institutions and other EU bodies.
International Labour Organization (ILO)
The ILO brings together governments, employers and workers of 187 member States to set labour standards, develop policies and devise programs promoting decent work for all women and men.
Japan Institute for Labour Policy and Training
Promotes and contributes to the planning of labour policies and work toward their effective and efficient implementation.
John J. Heldrich Center for Workforce Development
Dedicated to raising the effectiveness of the American workplace by strengthening workforce education, placement and training programs.
OECD Employment Database
Find up-to-date statistics for making comparisons between countries and identifying trends over time.
U.S. Department of Labor
To foster, promote, and develop the welfare of the wage earners, job seekers, and retirees of the United States.

Human Resources (NGOs)

Fair Labour Association
A not-for-profit organisation - the 'Affiliates' tab provides a list of companies, universities and organisations that are committed to promoting workers' rights.
Tip: look under the 'Impact' tab for current case studies.
Human Rights Watch
An NGO that conducts research and advocacy on human rights.
Tip: search on a range of topics such as 'child labour' and 'worker rights' etc. to access reports and current news stories.

Human Resources (Professional Associations)

Academy of Management Online
The Academy of Management is the preeminent professional association for management and organization scholars.
Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry (ACCI)
Australia's largest and most representative business association.
Australian Federation of Employers & Industries (AFEI)
AFEI is an independent employers advisory and policy group.
Australian HR Institute
Professional body that supports HR in Australia.
Industrial Relations Society of Victoria (IRSV)
An organisation committed to fostering discussion, research and education in the fields of industrial and employment relations and related areas of interest.
International Association for Human Resource Information Management (IHRIM)
A community for sharing expert knowledge that leverages HR systems, technologies, and analytics for business excellence.
Workforce
Platform for scheduling, attendance, labour insights and workforce success. Note: use of platform requires registration.
Workplace Express
Links to Australian employer associations, Australian Government and international sites, HR bodies, legal and statistical sites, unions and specialised services.

Tech Tools

Practical strategies magazine created by Jason Downs.
Note: you need to set up a (free) account with Flipboard first. Use the link below.
Flipboard
Don't have the app? Get it here
ClickUp
Free cloudbased project management software that offers features including Gantt charts.

Evaluating information sources

The CRAAP test

Evaluate the quality of a range of sources using the CRAAP test.

• Currency: when was it created?
• Relevance: is it on my topic?
• Authority: is it by an expert?
• Accuracy: is it correct?
• Purpose: why was it created?

The SIFT method

Evaluate the quality of web and social media sources using the SIFT method.

• Stop - think before using a source.
• Investigate where it is from.
• Find alternative sources.
• Trace claims, quotes and media.

Fact checking

Find out how to verify the factual accuracy of sources using the Fact Checking guide.

• Assess content created by humans and artificial intelligence (AI).
• Learn how to spot fake news.
• Access different fact checking tools.

Library subject guides

Management and Human Resource Management