Skip to Main Content

EndNote Online

Use EndNote Online to add, manage, share and sync your references, and insert and manage citations in Word.

Why use EndNote Online?

EndNote Online is the simplified, condensed online version of the EndNote Desktop program. EndNote Online is not installed on an RMIT computer; you log into it from anywhere with your EndNote Online account.

EndNote Online allows you to:

  • Import selected references to your EndNote library from various online search tools (e.g. LibrarySearch, library databases and Google Scholar).
  • Manually create references in your EndNote library.
  • Insert references from your EndNote library into your Microsoft Word document.
  • Attach full-text PDF files to your references.
  • Organise references into groups.
  • Share groups with other EndNote users.

EndNote Online does not allow you to:

  • Edit referencing styles, filters and connections.
  • Preview a citation / reference in your EndNote library in your chosen referencing style​

Please see EndNote system requirements for Windows/Mac, Microsoft Word and browsers.

Not sure if EndNote is right for you?

Choosing a reference manager

A module that will help you decide which tool to use to organise your references. It explores the features of three popular reference managers: Endnote, Zotero, and Mendeley.

Common features of reference managers

Some common features of reference managers include:

  • Save references from LibrarySearch, Databases and Google Scholar
  • Auto-generate citations and bibliographies in word processing applications
  • Attach and annotate PDFs and other files 
  • Share collections of references with others
  • Available in a desktop version and an online version
  • Sync your references across multiple devices

Changing reference managers

EndNote, Zotero and Mendeley make it easy to change to another reference manager. Note: While citations will be copied, PDFs of articles may not be exported.

Learn more about reference managers

EndNote Online accounts

Types of accounts

There are three types of EndNote Online accounts.

1) EndNote Basic (free version)

  • Standalone System: Separate from Web of Science and EndNote Desktop.
  • Online Only: Available exclusively online.
  • Features: Includes 21 styles, limited filters, and connection files.
  • Free Access: No purchase or subscription required.
  • Library Capacity: Create online libraries with up to 50,000 references and 2GB of attachments.

2) EndNote Basic via Web of Science

  • Enhanced Features: Over 3000 styles and hundreds of filters and connection files.
  • Access: Available to institutions with a Web of Science subscription, including RMIT.
  • Login: Use RMIT credentials to log into Web of Science, then navigate to Products > EndNote.
  • Account Setup: Log in with existing EndNote Online credentials or register for a new account.

3) EndNote Online via EndNote Desktop

  • Premium Version: Requires creating and registering a new EndNote Online account through the EndNote Desktop program.
  • Upgrade Existing Account: Upgrade an existing EndNote Basic account to EndNote Online for free via the EndNote Desktop program.
  • Sync Libraries: Sync both EndNote Desktop and EndNote Online libraries for seamless access.

Creating accounts

The following are three ways to create an EndNote Online account.

1) EndNote Basic

  1. Go to the Clarivate login webpage.
  2. Click on Register.
  3. Follow the prompts to create your new account with your RMIT student/staff email address.

2) Through Web of Science database

  1. Go to the Web of Science database from Library home page (log in with your student/staff number)
  2. Click on Tools > EndNote towards the right within the top toolbar
  3. Click on the 'Register' link
  4. Follow the prompts to create your account.

3) Through EndNote Desktop

  1. Open the EndNote Desktop program
  2. Click on the Edit within the top toolbar
  3. Click on Preferences > Sync > Enable Sync
  4. Click on the 'Sign Up' link
  5. Follow the prompts to create your account
  6. Open a browser and go to the Clarivate login webpage to log in to your EndNote Online account.

Related guides