EndNote Online is the simplified, condensed online version of the EndNote Desktop program. EndNote Online is not installed on a computer; you log into it from anywhere with your EndNote Online account.

EndNote Online allows you to:

• Import selected references to your EndNote library from various online search tools (e.g. LibrarySearch, library databases and Google Scholar).
• Manually create references in your EndNote library.
• Insert references from your EndNote library into your Microsoft Word document (Cite While You Write (CWYW) ).
• Attach full-text PDF files to your references.
• Organise references into groups.
• Share groups with other EndNote users.

EndNote Online does not allow you to:

• Edit referencing styles, filters and connections.
• Preview a citation / reference in your EndNote library in your chosen referencing style​

Please see EndNote system requirements for Windows/Mac, Microsoft Word and browsers.

This guide includes instructions for EndNote Online.

The Library also has a guide for EndNote Desktop.

Choosing a reference manager

A module that will help you decide which tool to use to organise your references. It explores the features of three popular reference managers: Endnote, Zotero, and Mendeley.

Common features of reference managers

Some common features of reference managers include:

• Save references from LibrarySearch, Databases and Google Scholar
• Auto-generate citations and bibliographies in word processing applications
• Attach and annotate PDFs and other files 
• Share collections of references with others
• Available in a desktop version and an online version
• Sync your references across multiple devices

Changing reference managers

EndNote, Zotero and Mendeley make it easy to change to another reference manager. Please note: while citations will be copied, PDFs of articles may not be exported.

Learn more about reference managers

There are three types of EndNote Online accounts:

1. EndNote Basic (free version)

Used as a standalone reference management system separate from Web of Science and EndNote Desktop, EndNote Basic is the free version of the EndNote Desktop program and is only available online. EndNote Basic has 21 styles and a limited number of filters and connection files. EndNote Basic is available for free to anyone, and no purchase or paid subscription is required. EndNote Basic users can create online libraries with up to 50,000 references with up to 2G of attachments.

2. Through Web of Science

This version of EndNote Basic available as part of the Web of Science database subscription has over 3000 styles and hundreds of filters and connection files. This version is available to those whose institution has a subscription to Clarivate's Web of Science database. RMIT Library has a subscription to Web of Science, which you can access as a current RMIT student or staff member.

Log into Web of Science with your RMIT credentials, then click on Products > EndNote at the top right corner. This will take you the EndNote Online log in page. Either log in with your existing EndNote Online credentials if you already have an EndNote Online account, or click the Register link to create a new EndNote Online account if you do not.

3. Through EndNote Desktop

The premium version of EndNote Online requires the free creation and registration (Sign Up) of a new EndNote Online account via the EndNote Desktop program. Please follow these instructions: EndNote: Register for an EndNote online account included in desktop program.

If you already have an an existing EndNote Basic account, you can upgrade it to an EndNote Online account for free by registering your EndNote Basic account via the EndNote Desktop program. Please follow the instructions in EndNote: Register for an EndNote online account included in desktop program, but instead of clicking on 'Sign Up', log in with your existing EndNote Basic credentials.

Using EndNote Online via the EndNote Desktop program will enable you to sync both your EndNote Desktop and EndNote Online libraries.

Note:

• EndNote Desktop is already installed on all RMIT Library student computers (Windows and Mac).
• All current RMIT staff and students can download the EndNote Desktop program to their personal device.
• EndNote Desktop is also available for staff self-installation on RMIT staff computers.

More information: EndNote Desktop Comparison Chart.

The following are three ways to create an EndNote Online account:

For EndNote Basic (on or off campus)

1. Go to the Clarivate login webpage.
2. Click on Register.
3. Follow the prompts to create your new account with your RMIT student/staff email address.

Through Web of Science database (on or off campus):

1. Go to the Web of Science database from Library home page (log in with your student/staff number)
2. Click on Tools > EndNote towards the right within the top toolbar
3. Click on the 'Register' link
4. Follow the prompts to create your account.

Through EndNote Desktop:

1. Open the EndNote Desktop program
2. Click on the Edit within the top toolbar
3. Click on Preferences > Sync > Enable Sync
4. Click on the 'Sign Up' link
5. Follow the prompts to create your account
6. Open a browser and go to the Clarivate login webpage to log in to your EndNote Online account.