Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

e-Books guide

Everything you need to know about finding and using e-books in our Library and beyond.

About the EBSCOhost e-book Collection

The EBSCOhost eBook Collection is a broad multi-disciplinary collection covering topics across the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities. 

A personal EBSCOhost Account is required to access personalised features such as the ability to save searches and citations, and download books. When creating an account you will be prompted to review EBSCO's Data Retention and Usage practices, if you decline to consent you will be unable to create a personal EBSCOhost Account.

Some e-book titles have limited concurrent user access, for example when the Concurrent User Level shows as “Limited User Access (3 Copies Available)”. For these titles it is recommended that you:

  • Access e-book online using PDF or EPUB Full Text option
  • Click on Save pages button and identify the required portion of the book. Then click onSave PDF button  to save an allowable portion of the book. 
  • Promptly close the browser or exit the ebook to free up ebook access for other users.

Reading online

To access full-text e-books in EBSCOhost eBook Collection, you can do a Basic, Advanced or Visual Search, or Browse by Category.

From the search results, click the check box beside a title or chapter and click either PDF Full Text or EPUB Full Text.

Screenshot highlighting PDF full text and EPUB full text options

Printing and Copying

Copying and pasting is possible within limits from some titles in EBSCOhost eBook collection. Not all titles will allow this option.

To print pages from an EBSCOhost e-book:

1. Open the e-book at the chapter or first page of the section you wish to print.

2. Click the "Save Pages" icon in the top toolbar. This opens a panel where you can select "Current page and the next XX pages"  Enter the number of pages you wish to print.  

3. Click "Save PDF".  Open the saved PDF and select "Print".

screenshot highlighting save pages steps

Downloading e-books from EBSCOhost

Download an entire book (if the option is available)
To download a book to read offline on your own computer or mobile device, you will need to sign in to your EBSCOhost Account as well as install free e-book viewing software.

If you are using a PC, Mac, iPad, iPhone or android device, you will need to:

Downloaded e-books can also be transferred to any portable e-book reader that supports Adobe Digital Editions. If you are using an e-book reader, it is recommended that you download the EPUB format, rather than the PDF, which automatically re-sizes to fit your screen on any device.