Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EndNote: a beginner's guide

An introduction to EndNote Desktop for new users. Learn how to create a Library, add and modify references, use EndNote with Microsoft Word, add groups, add full-text PDFs, and back-up your EndNote Desktop library. Also includes EndNote Online.

Software compatibility

In order for Microsoft Word, EndNote Desktop and the Mac operating system to work properly with each other, specific compatibility and system requirements need to be methttp://endnote.com/product-details/compatibility.

Mac: Is the 'EndNote 20' tab missing from MS Word's toolbar?

In MS Word, the 'EndNote 20' tab should appear at the top of the page within the toolbar.

 

If the 'EndNote 20' tab is missing from MS Word's toolbar, it is because:

 

  • Issue 1: EndNote Cite While You Write (CWYW) function is disabled in EndNote Desktop

Close MS Word. In EndNote Desktop: go to EndNote 20 > Customizer > place a tick next to the Cite While You Write option > press Next > press Next.

 

OR

 

  • Issue 2: EndNote Cite While You Write (CWYW) function is disabled in MS Word

In MS Word: go to Tools > Templates and Add-ins > place a tick next next to any of the EndNote item(s) > press OK.

 

OR

 

  • Issue 3: EndNote Desktop and/or MS Word do not have the latest updates

If you are using your own personal device:

  1. In EndNote Desktop: Go to EndNote 20 > Check for Updates
  2. In MS Word: Go to Help > Check for Updates

 

If you are still experiencing this issue, please see: https://support.clarivate.com/Endnote/s/article/EndNote-X8-Mac-and-EndNote-online-Mac-CWYW-tools-in-Microsoft-Word-2016-Troubleshooting-guide?language=en_US

Mac: Selecting your referencing style in your MS Word document

Before you begin working on your MS Word document, it is best to first select your referencing style.

 

Instructions:

1. Open your MS Word document and click on the EndNote 20 tab.

2. Select your referencing style from the Style drop-down list, e.g. APA 7th. If your style is not in the list, clickbon Select Another Style within the Style drop-down list and search for your style there. NOTE: The style you select in MS Word needs to be the same style that you have selected in your EndNote Desktop library, otherwise the references in your document will not display in your style.

Mac: Inserting references into your MS Word document -- two methods

You can now insert references from your EndNote Desktop library into your Word document.

 

OPTION A: Insert Selected Citation

1. In your EndNote Desktop library: highlight (select) the reference(s) you want to insert. (Tip: to select multiple references, hold down the COMMAND [⌘] button on your keyboard and click on all the references you want to insert.)

2. In MS Word: put your cursor where you would like to insert the reference(s), and add a space. Click on the arrow part of the Insert Citation button, then click on Insert Selected Citation.

3. The in-text reference(s) has been inserted into your Word document. The full reference has also been automatically created in the reference list at the end of the document containing the full details of that in-text reference(s).

Alternatively:

1. In MS Word: put your cursor where you would like to insert the reference(s).

2. In your EndNote Desktop library: highlight (select) the reference(s) you want to insert, then Tools > Cite While You Write (CWYW) > Insert Selected Citation(s).

 

OPTION B: Insert Citation

1. Go to your MS Word document.

2. Click on the arrow part of the Insert Citation button, then click on Insert Citation.

3. Enter a keyword that appears within your EndNote Desktop library references (e.g. author last name, title, abstract).

4. Press RETURN on your keyboard and a list of matching search results will appear. Then select the reference(s) you want to insert and click Insert. (Tip: to select multiple references, hold down the COMMAND [⌘] button on your keyboard and click on all the references you want to insert.)

5. The in-text reference(s) has been inserted into your Word document. The full reference has also been automatically created in the reference list at the end of the document containing the full details of that in-text reference(s).

NOTE: Regardless which method you use, both the in-text references and the reference list become grey when you click on them because they are linked to your EndNote Desktop library (i.e. EndNote-linked references).

 

Video: In action: EndNote 20 (Windows) Insert Selected Citation(s)

Video produced and kindly shared by EndNote Training. Although this video is currently only available in the context of Windows, the principles are the same for Mac computers and can easily be applied to MacOS.

 

Video: In action: EndNote 20 (Windows) Insert Citation

Video produced and kindly shared by EndNote Training. Although this video is currently only available in the context of Windows, the principles are the same for Mac computers and can easily be applied to MacOS.

Mac: Editing EndNote references in your MS Word document

IMPORTANT -- PLEASE READ: You can edit the EndNote references you have inserted directly from your MS Word document. When you click on your inserted references in your document, they become grey because they are linked to your EndNote Desktop library. When you edit your EndNote-linked references in MS Word, do NOT directly type over the text with your keyboard. This can damage your MS Word document and the EndNote-linked references within. Please edit your EndNote-linked references in your document the following ways instead.

 

A) Add a page number

When you want to quote an author’s idea rather than paraphrase it, you need to insert the page number the quote appears on within the in-text citation.

1. Place your mouse cursor on the in-text citation you want to add a page number to.

2. Click on Edit & Manage Citation(s) . Ensure that the correct reference (citation) is selected.

3. In the Pages field, enter only the page number, e.g. 41. Click OK.

4. The page number now appears within your in-text citation. Page numbers will only appear if your referencing style allows it (e.g. APA 7th, RMIT Harvard). To remove the page number from the citation, delete it from the Pages field.

 

B) Hide author name and display only the year

You may sometimes want to integrate the author’s name within the main text of your document rather than put it in brackets at the end of the sentence. For example: According to Bertran (2018), it was recently discovered that… In this case, you need to hide the author’s name and display only the year (and page number, if applicable) within the in-text citation.

1. Place your mouse cursor on the in-text citation of which you want to hide the author name.

2. Click on Edit & Manage Citation(s) . Ensure that the correct reference (citation) is selected.

3. Click the Formatting drop-down list within the Edit Citation tab, then select Exclude Author. Click OK.​

4. The author name is now hidden within your in-text citation, and only the year shows. To show the author name once again, select Default instead of Exclude Author.

 

C) Fix a misspelling

If there is a misspelling within an in-text citation or bibliography reference in your MS Word document:

1. Place your mouse cursor on the citation which has the misspelling.

2. Click on Edit & Manage Citation(s) . Ensure that the correct reference (citation) is selected.

3. Click on the cogwheel icon to the right of the reference, then select Edit Library Reference. This takes you to the reference in your EndNote Desktop library. Correct the spelling and save the reference.

4. Go back to your document. Click Update Citations and Bibliography  to update the changes within your document.

5. Your document now contains the correct spelling.

Mac: Removing EndNote references from your MS Word document

IMPORTANT -- PLEASE READ:

- You can remove the EndNote references you have inserted straight from your MS Word document. When you click on your inserted references in MS Word, they become grey because they are linked to your EndNote Desktop library.

- Removing an EndNote reference from your MS Word document does not remove the same reference from your EndNote Desktop library.

- If you want to delete a reference from your EndNote Desktop library, first ensure that it has not been previously inserted into your MS Word document. If it has and you still delete it, your Word document will become corrupt and problematic. To avoid this, first remove the reference from your Word document, then delete it from your EndNote Desktop library.

- When you remove your EndNote-linked references in MS Word, do NOT directly remove them with the Delete button from your keyboard. This can damage your MS Word document and the EndNote-linked references within. Please remove your EndNote-linked references from your document the following way instead.

Instructions:

1. Place your mouse cursor on the citation you want to delete.

2. Click on Edit & Manage Citation(s) . Ensure that the correct reference (citation) is selected.

3. Click on the cogwheel icon to the right of the reference, then select Remove Citation. Press OK. This removes the reference from your document only.

4. Click Update Citations and Bibliography  to ensure that the change has definitely gone through in your document.

5. That instance of your in-text citation has been removed from your Word document. If that was its last instance, its corresponding bibliography reference has also been removed from your document.

 

Video: In action: EndNote 20 (Windows) removing citations

Video produced and kindly shared by EndNote Training. Although this video is currently only available in the context of Windows, the principles are the same for Mac computers and can easily be applied to MacOS.

Mac: Creating a standalone bibliography for MS Word

There are two options for creating a standalone bibliography for MS Word format using EndNote Desktop.

 

Option A: Using the EXPORT command:

1. Go to your EndNote Desktop library. Ensure that your reference style is selected.

2. Highlight (select) the references you want. (Tips: to select multiple non-consecutive references, hold down the COMMAND [⌘] button on your keyboard and click on all the references you want in your bibliography. To select multiple consecutive references, click the first reference you want in your bibliography, then hold down the SHIFT button on your keyboard and click the last references you want in your bibliography. To select all references, press COMMAND [⌘] + A on your keyboard.)

3. Click File > Export. A pop-up box will appear.

4. From the Save file as type drop-down list, select Rich Text Format (*.rtf).

5. From the Output style drop-down list, select your referencing style (e.g. APA 7th).

6. Press Save.

 

Option B: Using the COPY FORMATTED command:

1. Go to your EndNote Desktop library. Ensure that your reference style is selected.

2. Highlight (select) the references you want. (Tips: to select multiple non-consecutive references, hold down the COMMAND [⌘] button on your keyboard and click on all the references you want in your bibliography. To select multiple consecutive references, click the first reference you want in your bibliography, then hold down the SHIFT button on your keyboard and click the last references you want in your bibliography. To select all references, press COMMAND [⌘] + A on your keyboard.)

3. Click References > Copy Formatted Reference OR right-click on selected references and select Copy Formatted Reference.

4. In MS Word: paste the references into the document by Home > Paste OR right-click and select Paste.