LinkedIn Accounts

To access LinkedIn Learning, you can either connect your personal LinkedIn profile with your LinkedIn Learning account or decide to keep them separate. If you don’t connect your accounts, you will need to log in to your LinkedIn Learning account by selecting ‘Sign in with your organization account’, using your RMIT login and password.

Logging in allows you to save courses or videos to your saved and collections lists, share collections, keep a list of completed courses in your Learning History and provides you with certificates once you have completed courses.

In LinkedIn Learning, you can save the videos or courses to a Saved list:

1. Search for a video chapter or course on your topic.
2. From the search results list, select the Save button located next to individual video and course titles. 
3. To view saved video and course resources, select My Learning from the menu bar, then select Saved.

Adding a video or course to a Collection list

1. To create a collection, select My Learning from the menu bar, then select My Collections.
2. Select Create New Collection, then enter a collection title and description in the dialog box.
   
3. You can add an individual video or a course to a collection from a list of search results by selecting More then + Add to collection. You can also add resources from your Saved list by selecting + Add to collection.

See more information about Reading Lists on the library guide Reading Lists in Canvas.

To add a video or course in Reading Lists

Videos or courses may be added to a Reading list using the Search function, as detailed on the Reading Lists in Canvas guide. The Cite It function does not operate within LinkedIn Learning.

Many LinkedIn Learning videos and courses can be located through LibrarySearch. If the video is indexed within LibrarySearch, use the Search option:

1. In Reading Lists, select ADD ITEMS + icon.
2. On the left side panel, under the Search tab, search for the video in LibrarySearch.
3. Once selected, add to the appropriate section of the Reading List.
4. Select ADD.

If the video is not indexed within LibrarySearch, you can add the video manually:

1. Locate the video or course in LinkedIn Learning, then select the arrow Share icon, then select Link.
2. In the dialog box, choose between the single video or whole course, then Copy the link. 
3. In Reading Lists, select ADD ITEMS + icon, then select the Create tab.
4. Type in the Title and Author. For Type, select Video. Then add Duration, Publisher, Publication date, and if needed, a public note.
5. In the Source field, paste the copied link into the space and add &auth=true to the end of the link. This will allow students to view the video off-campus.
6. Once complete, add to the appropriate section of the Reading List.
7. Select ADD.
8. Once all updates to your list are complete, remember to select Send List at the top of the page to send the update to the Library for checking.

To add a collection in Reading Lists

1. In LinkedIn Learning, locate the collection in My Collections.
2. Select Share. In the pop-up box, change Shared with: to RMIT University.
   
3. Copy the link that appears.
4. In Reading Lists, select ADD ITEMS +
5. In the right hand panel, select the Create tab.
6. In the Type field, select Video.
7. Give your collection a title and add LinkedIn as the publisher. Then add the publication details for each video to the public notes field: this might be the title, author, duration, and publication date.
8. In the Source field, paste the copied link into the space and add &auth=true to the end of the link. This will allow students to view the video off-campus.
9. Select ADD.
10. Once all updates to your list are complete, remember to select Send List at the top of the page to send the update to the Library for checking.

You can also add hyperlinks to LinkedIn Learning videos and courses into Canvas pages.

1. In LinkedIn Learning, search for the video or course that you would like to link to.
2. Select the relevant video or course to open the individual resource.
3. In the top right corner of the viewing area, select the share icon and choose Link from the list.
   
4. Copy the link.

To link to a video in Canvas

Start from the Canvas page where you want to link to the video.

1. Select the Edit button.
2. In the Rich Content Editor, type the name of the video or relevant text at the desired location.
3. Select the text.
4. Select the Links icon.
5. Paste the link in the Insert Link box.
6. Select Done, then Save.

The link is inserted into your Canvas course and will open in a new tab.

You can embed a LinkedIn Learning video into your Canvas course.

Note: The embed option is only available if you have connected your LinkedIn Profile to your LinkedIn Learning account. See the Library page on LinkedIn for instructions.

1. Locate the video or course, then select the Share button.
2. Select the Embed heading.
3. Select Copy to copy the embed code.

There is no option to embed a full LinkedIn Learning course into Canvas. However, at the top of each embedded video is a direct link to the course page in LinkedIn Learning.

To embed a video in Canvas

1. Select the Edit Button.
2. Work out where you want to embed the video. Type the name of the video or relevant text on the required page.
3. In the menu select Insert, then Embed.
4. Paste the embed code and select Submit.

The video is embedded in your course and will play in the frame (Note: users may be prompted to sign in).