This section contains some useful tips for working with your documents and EndNote as you start your research journey.
There is a lot of complex hidden code that you don’t see when EndNote and Word work together. That code can be corrupted if you copy or delete references incorrectly. You can tell if a paragraph has EndNote code in it; select the paragraph and any EndNote links will be highlighted in a dark-grey block.
To safely copy text within a document or between document follow the instructions in this section.
Image: Copyright © Microsoft. Used under licence
If you are going to cut or copy and paste any part of the document, and you have already inserted citations, unformat the citations first. Unformatting will strip the bibliography from your documents, putting temporary citations into the text as placeholders.
To Unformat citations:
If you wish to copy the text that contains EndNote coded references to another document, follow either the instructions in the previous section or these instructions that follow. In this method you can select whether you wish to keep or not keep the EndNote coded fields in the new document.
It is recommended that you unformat your document prior to submitting a copy to your supervisor for comments:
Be mindful of Track Changes in Word documents as EndNote does NOT work well with them. When you receive a document with Track Changes it is recommended that you either accept or reject accordingly, and only THEN apply the Update Citations and Bibliography from Word’s EndNote toolbar.
If you are writing a document and inserting citations over a long period of time, you should regularly unformat and then reformat your citations. You may even choose to work with unformatted citations, reformatting your documents once a week to check that the citations are appearing correctly in your document.
The in-text citations will change from e.g. (Yeo 2012) to {Yeo, 2012 #39} and the bibliography will temporarily disappear. Note that the placeholder includes the unique record number of the reference in your EndNote library e.g. #39.
It is advisable to separate your thesis chapters into separate documents, then combine them before submission.
If you intend to combine separate documents (for example, chapters) that already contain citations, unformat the citations in all the documents before combining them into a single document, then reformat them.
You can create a single bibliography from multiple documents, for example where each chapter of a thesis is a separate document or where you are collaborating with other EndNote users.
Note: If you want to format a bibliography for each subdocument plus a cumulative bibliography at the end of the master document, follow the instructions above, but use an output style that allows formatting of sections.
You can also use Word’s Master Document feature to generate a single cumulative bibliography at the end of the last combined document.
If you wish to submit your thesis or a paper for publication, you must first remove all field codes as these could interfere with the publishing software used to produce the journal.