Inserting a citation in Word

1. Make sure the EndNote library that contains the references you wish to cite is open.  
2. Open a new Microsoft Word document. 
3. Type one or two sentences (anything will do).  
4. Select the EndNote 21 tab.

EndNote allows you to insert references in several ways:

Inserting a citation from EndNote 

1. In Word, select where you would like to insert the citation in the text with the cursor.
2. Select Go to EndNote from the EndNote 21 toolbar.
3. In EndNote, highlight the reference and select Tools > Cite While You Write > Insert Selected Citation(s).  
4. The reference will be inserted into the text of the Word document, and a Reference List or Bibliography will be generated at the end of the document.

Inserting a citation from Word 

1. In Word, place the cursor where you would like to insert citation in the text. 
2. From the EndNote toolbar in Word, Select Insert Citation 
3. From the pop-up box, type an author's last name or keyword. Press Return. EndNote will list the matching results. 
4. Select the reference(s) you require and select Insert. 

Reference(s) will be inserted into the text of the Word document and a Reference List or Bibliography will be created at end of the document.

Inserting multiple citations 

Select multiple references from your EndNote library by holding down Cmd while clicking on the required references (OR use the Shift key to select a continuous range of references). Then return to your Word document and select the drop-down button next to Insert Citations on the EndNote 21 toolbar, then Insert Selected Citation(s) from the options. 

Editing a citation in Word

Once you have inserted a citation, you should NOT edit it directly in Word. If you make any changes within the brackets of a citation they will disappear when you update the citations and bibliography.

1. In Word, select the in-text citation. This will automatically shade the citation in grey. 
2. Select Edit & Manage Citation(s) on the EndNote toolbar
3. From the Formatting drop-down menu, select your chosen option e.g. Exclude Author or Exclude Year. 
4. Enter page number in the Pages field. Page numbers will only appear if style allows it e.g. APA 7th, Harvard_RMIT_EndNote, etc.

Image: Copyright © Microsoft. Used under licence.

Removing a citation in Word

Do NOT delete unwanted citations by highlighting them and pressing the delete key.   

If you wish to remove a citation completely: 

If you wish to remove a citation completely: 

1. Select the citation in-text  
2. Select Edit & Manage Citation(s) in the Word EndNote toolbar  
3. The Edit & Manage Citation(s) dialogue box will be displayed. All the citations within the document will be listed.  
4. Select the Edit Reference dropdown arrow next to the citation you want to delete 
5. Select Remove Citation.  
6. Select OK

Image: Copyright © Microsoft. Used under licence.
 

Special characters and character sets 

Special characters can be entered into EndNote using any of these text-entry methods:

1. To type an accented or alternative version of a character, hold the key down until its alternative characters are displayed 
2. From the list displayed, click the character you want to use 

Note: If you edit a reference in EndNote, the changes you make won’t be reflected in your Word document until you update your Bibliography. In the EndNote tab in Word click on Update Citations and Bibliography.  

Creating a standalone bibliography

You can create a bibliography without an associated paper using the Copy Formatted method:

1. Open your EndNote library and check you have the appropriate Output Style selected.  
2. Highlight to select the desired references.  (Hold the Cmd key down to select multiple references) 
3. From the References menu, choose Copy Formatted Reference (or Cmd+K) to copy the references.  
4. Open a Word document and Paste the references into Word. This will generate a text document with no EndNote coding. Use the Word options to make any changes to the bibliography.