All guides: Nursing and Health: Journals and magazines

Academic journals

Browse or search scholarly and peer-reviewed journals for current research and historical articles.

Search collections of journals using the databases listed on the key resources page.

Health

Australian and New Zealand journal of public health (ANZJPH)
The correlates and causes of diseases and health-related behaviour, analysis of public policy affecting health and disease, and the cultures and social structures within which health and illness exist.
BMC primary care
Special focus on clinical practice and decision-making, continuing professional education, eHealth, health services research in primary care settings, and health promotion.
BMJ nutrition, prevention and health
Research on the key determinants of health including the social, economic, and physical environment, as well as lifestyle and behaviour.
Food quality and safety
Up-to-date research in the areas of food quality and safety, food nutrition and human health. Promotes food and health equity which will consequently promote public health and combat diseases.
The health information management (HIM) journal
Health Information Management Association of Australia (HIMAA).
JAMA health forum
National and global health policy; innovative approaches to health care delivery; and health care economics, access, quality, safety, equity, and reform.
Nutrients
Novel insights into the impacts of nutrition on human health or novel methods for assessing nutritional status.
PLOS Global public health
Addresses deeply entrenched global inequities in public health.
Public health
The Royal Society for Public Health (UK).
Public health in practice
The Royal Society for Public Health (UK). Focusing on the practical basis of public health delivery.
Public health nutrition
The causes of, and approaches and solutions to, nutrition-related public health achievements, situations and problems around the world.
Public health research and practice
Australian. Innovations, data and perspectives from policy and practice. Scroll to the bottom of the page to browse topics important to public health in Australia.

Nursing

Australasian emergency care
College of Emergency Nursing Australasia (CENA).
Australian critical care
Australian College of Critical Care Nurses (ACCCN).
Applied nursing research
Covers such areas as pain management, patient education, discharge planning, nursing diagnosis, job stress in nursing, nursing influence on length of hospital stay, and nurse/physician collaboration.
Asian nursing research
Korean Society of Nursing Science.
Evidence-based nursing
Critical commentaries and summaries of the most valid research in nursing, summarised into succinct expert commentaries.
International journal of nursing services (IJNSS)
Chinese Nursing Association. Advanced nursing practice, bio-psychosocial issues related to health, cultural perspectives, and lifestyle change as a component of health promotion.
Journal of advanced nursing (JAN)
Evidence-based nursing, midwifery and healthcare.
Journal of clinical nursing (JCN)
Nursing research, theory and practice. JCN focuses on clinical need and the implications for nursing interventions and models of service delivery.
Journal of family nursing
Nursing research, practice, education, and policy issues, plus empirical and theoretical analyses of family health. Examines cultural diversity and families across the life cycle.
Journal of obstretric, gynecologic and neonatal nursing (JOGNN)
Association of Women's Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses.
Journal of transcultural nursing
Transcultural Nursing Society. Culturally congruent health care delivery, the relationship between culture, nursing and related disciplines, and the delivery of health care.
Midwivery
Research to inform the safety, quality, outcomes and experiences of pregnancy, birth and maternity care for childbearing women, their babies and families.
Nursing and health sciences
Society for Nursing and Health Sciences at Yamaguchi University, Japan.
Nursing ethics
Articles on ethical and legal issues are written in a comprehensible style and official documents are analysed in a user-friendly way.
Nursing in critical care
British Association of Critical Care Nurses (BACCN). Topics include surgery, medicine, cardiac, renal, neurosciences, haematology, accident and emergency and paediatrics.
Nursing outlook
American Academy of Nursing, and the Council for the Advancement of Nursing Science.

Magazines and industry journals

The magazines and journals in this box are not peer-reviewed but can be useful sources of information relating to the health and nursing professions. Peer-reviewed sources are more reliable, so always seek verification in a peer-reviewed source.

The Australian journal of child and family health nursing
Journal of Maternal, Child and Family Health Nurses Australia (MCaFHNA), the peak professional body for nurses working in the field of maternal, child and family health.
Australian nursing and midwifery journal
Journal of the Australian Nursing and Midwifery Federation (ANMF). News, features and analysis to keep nurses well informed.
InScope
Journal of the Queensland Nurses and Midwives' Union (QNMU). Covers a broad range of issues and topics relating to anything and everything nursing and midwifery.
Whitireia nursing and health journal
Articles and research abstracts written by staff and students from the Whitireia New Zealand Nursing Centre of Learning, Faculty of Health, Education & Social Sciences.

News

Discover news and issues affecting the nursing and allied health professions.

Australia & New Zealand Newsstream (ProQuest)
Provides access to the full text of major Australian and New Zealand newspapers. Includes regional and rural radio transcripts and news from current affairs television programs such as the ABC's 7.30 Report.
Factiva
Global news sources, including Australian and overseas newspapers. Access limited to 5 concurrent users.
EduTV (Informit)
View past Australian television programs including news, current affairs segments, and documentaries.

Newspapers

Check out the Library’s News and Newspapers guide.

BrowZine Library

BrowZine is a great way to find journals in your subject area to read on a desktop or mobile device.

Scholarly information

What is scholarly information?

Is it a peer reviewed journal?

Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory
A comprehensive source of information about journals and magazines. Check if a journal is peer reviewed, or find peer reviewed journals in your subject area.

Library subject guides

Nursing and Health