All guides: Nursing and Health: Research topics

Health of Indigenous Australians

In addition CINAHL, PubMed and other databases on the Key resources page of this guide, you will find relevant sources at the sites below:

Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNet
Kurongkurl Katitjin, the ECU Centre for Indigenous Australian Education and Research. Provides research and information to those working in the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health sector.
Australian Institute of Health and Welfare (AIHW): Indigenous Australians
The AIHW is an independent statutory Australian Government agency producing authoritative information and statistics to inform and support policy and service delivery decisions.
The Lowitja Institute: Lit.search
Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health literature on the PubMed database.

Find Lowitja Publishing's own published materials including reports, journal articles, policy briefs and other resources produced from Lowitja Institute funded research projects.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples
Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS). Health, wellbeing, population, education, housing and other factors.

ATSIhealth: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Bibliography (Informit)
Published and unpublished material on Australian Indigenous health.
Health collection (Informit)
Australasian health information including research articles, reports and case studies for those in therapeutic, diagnostic and preventative health roles.
RURAL: Rural and Remote Health Database (Informit)
Australian content: Indigenous peoples' health, rural and remote area nursing, health care, aged care, men’s health.

Child and family health

In addition CINAHL, PubMed and other databases on the Key resources page of this guide, you will find relevant sources at the sites below:

Australian Institute of Health and Welfare (AIHW): Children and youth
Reports, data, fact sheets and resources related to the health and wellbeing of children living in Australia. Includes health, education, social support, household income and finance, parental employment, housing, justice and safety.
Australian Institute of Health and Welfare (AIHW): Mothers and babies
Reports, data, fact sheets and resources about the health of mothers and their babies important for monitoring and evaluating the provision and outcomes of maternity services and care in Australia.
Maternal and child health service framework
The MCH framework provides an integrated service delivery architecture for the Victorian MCH Service. Service guides, standards, clinical practice guidelines, universal program guidelines, and enhanced program guidelines.
National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC)

The Australian parenting website
Up-to-date, evidence-based, scientifically validated information about raising children and caring for yourself as a parent or carer. From pregnancy to infants and children of all ages, including teens, autism and disabilities.
Healthdirect
An Australian government-funded service, providing quality, approved health information and advice for patients and their families. Extensive list of topics.

BetterHealth channel: Family and child support services
A Victorian government website to help people understand and manage their health and medical conditions. Content from a wide range of reputable Australian health, medical and academic organisations.

Families & Society Collection (Informit)
Australian family matters, with some New Zealand and Asia Pacific content. Topics include the non-traditional family, parenting, marriage, divorce, labour, social conditions and family relationships.
Health collection (Informit)
Australasian health information including research articles, reports and case studies suitable for those studying or working in therapeutic, diagnostic and preventative health roles.

Child and youth health
Australian government Department of Health.
Breastfeeding (WHO)
A global perspective of breastfeeding as a fundamental health indicator. Recommendations, guidelines, data, factsheets, news

Mental health

In addition CINAHL, PubMed and other databases on the Key resources page of this guide, you will find relevant sources at the sites below:

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5)
The DSM-5 is used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders.
Australian Institute of Health and Welfare (AIHW): Mental health services
AIHW is an independent statutory Australian government agency producing authoritative information and statistics to inform and support policy and service delivery decisions. Overview, reports, data, data sources, indicators, and links to key organisations.
Centre for Mental Health Nursing
University of Melbourne, School of Health Sciences. A resource for Victoria’s mental health nurses to advance and support mental health nursing practice through research, education and sector consultation.
National Mental Health Commission
Australian government. The Commission monitors and reports on investment in mental health and suicide prevention initiatives, provides evidence-based policy advice to government, and disseminates information on ways to improve our systems.
Health Victoria: Mental health
Victorian government Department of Health. Information for Victoria’s mental health workforce.
Beyond Blue
Beyond Blue works with the community to improve mental health and prevent suicide, so that all people in Australia can achieve their best possible mental health.
headspace
headspace is the National Youth Mental Health Foundation. It supports young people with mental health, physical health (including sexual health), alcohol and other drug services, as well as work and study support.
Community Mental Health Australia (CMHA)
A coalition of community mental health organisations that advocates to improve all mental health and allied social services across Australia.

Equality and equity

Interaction Institute for Social Change
Artist: Angus Maguire
interactioninstitute.org
madewithangus.com

Library subject guides

Nursing and Health

Health of Indigenous Australians

Child and family health

Mental health

Equality and equity