All guides: Media, Journalism, Screen and Music: Journals and magazines

Media journals

Journals contain articles that report research findings or review research developments within a subject area. Articles from academic peer-reviewed journals go through a process of review by one or more experts in the subject area.

Search collections of journals using the databases listed on the key resources page or get access directly to a recommended selection of design journals below:

Media Culture and Society
Research and discussion concerning the media, within political, economic, cultural and historical contexts. It regularly engages with a wider range of issues in cultural and social analysis. (peer-reviewed)
New Media and Society
An international journal that provides an interdisciplinary forum for the examination of the social dynamics of media and information change. (peer-reviewed)
Media Asia
Publishes relevant media-related studies in Asia like freedom, ethics, working conditions, ownership, campus press, community press, corporate media, alternative media, literacy, language and culture of impunity. (peer-reviewed)
Communication research
Publishes articles that explore the processes, antecedents, and consequences of communication in a broad range of societal systems. (peer-reviewed)
Asian Journal of Communication
Provides high-quality communication scholarship with an Asian focus and perspectives from the region. Aims to highlight research on the systems and processes of communication in the Asia-Pacific region and among Asian communities around the world. (peer-reviewed)
European Journal of Communication
Provides a focus on communication research and theory in all its diversity and looks to reflect and encourage the variety of intellectual traditions in the field. (peer-reviewed)
Communication theory
Publishing high quality, original research into the theoretical development of communication from across a wide array of disciplines, such as communication studies, sociology, psychology, political science, cultural and gender studies, philosophy, linguistics, and literature. (peer-reviewed)
Journal of Communication
A focus on communication research, practice, policy, and theory, bringing the most important findings in the field of communication studies. (peer-reviewed)

Journalism journals

Australian Journalism Review
A unique Australian journal which has an emphasis on journalists and the news media. (peer-reviewed)
Columbia journalism review
Not just for journalists, but also for professionals in communications, technology, academia, and other fields reliant on media industry knowledge. (peer-reviewed)
Journalism practice
Provides analysis of journalism practice across the distinctive but converging media platforms of magazines, newspapers, online, radio and television; and the provision of a public space for practice-led, scholarly contributions from journalists as well as academics. (peer-reviewed)
Journalism studies
Provides a forum for the study and critical discussion of journalism as both a subject of academic inquiry and an arena of professional practice. (peer-reviewed)
Journal of applied journalism and media studies
Devoted to research with a clear link between the prevalent theories and paradigms that media and communication scholars work with, and the real world where media and communication activities take place. (peer-reviewed)
Digital journalism
The journal aims to be a leader of cutting-edge journalism research, providing a critical forum to advance scholarship that intersects with numerous disciplines. (peer-reviewed)
Pacific journalism review
A journal examining media issues and communication in the South Pacific, Asia-Pacific, Australia and New Zealand. (peer-reviewed)
Journalism history
Provides historical angles on visual communication, public relations, advertising, scholastic journalism, media diversity, sports media, the business of journalism, media technology, oral history, media law and ethics, and documentaries. (peer-reviewed)
American journalism
The journal concerns itself with media history in all national and transnational contexts. It publishes articles, essays, book reviews, and reviews of digital media. (peer-reviewed)
Literary journalism studies
A focus on literary journalism, which is also known as narrative journalism, literary reportage, reportage literature, new Journalism, and the non-fiction novel, as well as literary non-fiction and creative non-fiction that emphasizes cultural revelation. (peer-reviewed)
Journalism and mass communication educator
Publishing quarterly, devoted to education in journalism, public relations, advertising, mass communication, media studies and related fields. (peer-reviewed)

Music journals

Journal of popular music studies
A key journal focusing on all areas of music.
Music industry newswire
A valuable news source for music industry related news and topics.
International journal of music business research
A valuable news source for music industry related news and topics.
Leonardo music journal
Features artists and writers from around the world, representing a wide range of stylistic viewpoints. (peer-reviewed)
Journal of new music research
Journal deals with theory, analysis, composition, performance, uses of music, instruments and music technologies. (peer-reviewed)
Early music
Explores every aspect of earlier musical repertoires, presents vital new evidence for our understanding of the music of the past and tackles controversial issues of performance practice. (peer-reviewed)
Music and politics
Areas of interest include, the impact of politics on the lives of musicians and musical communities, music as a form of political discourse and the influences of ideology on musical historiography. (peer-reviewed)
Journal of music research
A journal focusing on concepts such as ethnomusicology, gender studies in music, interdisciplinary studies in music, musicology, music theory and analysis. (peer-reviewed)

Screen journals

Film quarterly
Provides readers with insightful analyses of film, the film industry, and publishes in-depth articles, reviews and interviews.
Screen
A leading international journal of academic film and television studies.
Journal of film and video
Focusing on scholarship in the fields of film and video production, history, theory, criticism, and aesthetics.
BioScope: South Asian screen studies
Research into the historical, regional, and virtual spaces of screen cultures, including globalized and multi-sited conditions of production and circulation.
Film international
Covers film culture as part of the broader culture, history and economy of society. Addressing topics of contemporary relevance from historically informed perspectives.
Journal of Screenwriting
Explores the nature of writing for the moving image in the broadest sense, highlighting current academic thinking around scriptwriting whilst also reflecting on this with a truly international perspective and outlook.
Adaptation: the journal of literature on screen studies
An international, peer-reviewed journal, offering academic articles, film and book reviews, including both book to screen adaptations and screen to book adaptations. (peer-reviewed)

e-Journals

See the Library’s e-Journals guide for tips on locating journals. Les Mason, Graphis 174, 1974, RMIT Design Archives.

Newspapers

Check out the Library’s News and Newspapers guide.

Scholarly information

What is scholarly information?

Is it a peer reviewed journal?

Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory
A comprehensive source of information about journals and magazines. Check if a journal is peer reviewed, or find peer reviewed journals in your subject area.

Library subject guides

Media, Journalism, Screen and Music