Publisher of streaming video, audio, and text library databases that promote research, teaching, and learning across disciplines. Includes significant collections such as Asian Film Online, LGBT Studies in Video, Ethnographic Video Online, and Theatre in Video.

The collection provides educators, students, and interested listeners with an unprecedented variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms.

Has free sound effects available for use for educational purposes (as explained in the Copyright and Conditions of use notices).

Includes television and radio broadcasts recorded under Part VA [Screenrights Licence] of the Copyright Act, and other video and audio files in the public domain used with permission or used under licence (such as Creative Commons).

The ABC has opened the archives and released a selection of archival materials for you to use.

(Temporarily unavailable)
British Library Sounds presents recordings and their associated documentation from the Library’s extensive collections of unique sound recordings which come from all over the world and cover the entire range of recorded sound: music, drama and literature, oral history, wildlife and environmental sounds.

This is a community music remixing site featuring remixes and samples licensed under Creative Commons licenses. Music on this site is licensed under a Creative Commons license. You are free to download and sample from music on this site and share the results with anyone, anywhere, anytime. Some songs might have certain restrictions, depending on their specific licenses. Each submission is marked clearly with the license that applies to it.

The Cutting Room Floor is dedicated to unearthing and researching unused and cut content from video games. From menus, unused music, graphics, enemies, or levels, many games have content never meant to be seen by anybody but the developers.

Audio files available for download, need to check copyright and licensing agreement for each file.

First Sounds has recovered the sounds first recorded on phonautograms, many were made before Thomas Edison invented the phonograph in 1877. The samples are among the world's earliest sound recordings.

The Free Music Archive is a library of quality, legal audio downloads. The Free Music Archive is directed by WFMU, a radio station in America. Radio has always offered the public free access to new music. The Free Music Archive is a continuation of that purpose, designed for the age of the internet.

Freesound is a collaborative database of Creative Commons Licensed sounds. Browse, download and share sounds.

GloPAD (Global Performing Arts Database) records include descriptions of digital images, texts, video clips, sound recordings, and complex media objects related to the performing arts around the world, plus information about related pieces, productions, performers, and creators.

The Public Domain Review is a not-for-profit project dedicated to showcasing the most interesting and unusual out-of-copyright works available online.

There are many independent sound bundle libraries available. These collections often appear on isolated websites. Sound Effects Search was created to solve the problem of discovering isolated, indie sound effects libraries.

UbuWeb is a completely independent resource dedicated to all strains of the avant-garde, ethnopoetics, and outsider arts.

A collection of freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute.

Xeno-Canto is a website for sharing recordings of bird sounds from all across the world. Xeno-canto uses the evolving possibilities of the internet to popularise bird sound recording worldwide, improve accessibility of bird sounds and increase knowledge of bird sounds. So, the recordings are here for enjoyment, education, conservation and science.