All guides: Media, Journalism, Screen and Music: Websites

Media and journalism resources

The Bureau of Investigative Journalism
An independent, not-for-profit organisation that tackles big subjects through deep reporting that uncovers the truth.
Pew Research Center
A nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. Conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research.
Media Diversity Australia
A national not-for-profit organisation, led by journalists and media professionals. Advocating for full and equal participation for culturally diverse people.
Media History Digital Library
A free online resource, featuring millions of pages of books and magazines from the histories of film, broadcasting, and recorded sound.
Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) Media Centre
A great resource for journalists with links to key statistics, media releases and information to assist in the interpretation and reporting of statistics.
Data.gov.au
Provides an easy way to find, access and reuse public datasets from the Australian government.
Freedom of Information (Victoria)
Under the Victorian Freedom of Information Act 1982 (FOI Act), journalists and the public have the right to request access to documents held by Victorian public sector agencies.
JournOz
Find experts, contacts, and net-based sources of Australian facts, including business information, cases, databases, directories, government information, legislation, reports, statistics, and trade figures.
360info
Evidence-based discussion on global issues by journalists and academics.

News websites

The Conversation
The Conversation Australia and New Zealand is a collaboration between academics and journalists publishing research-based news and analysis. Created by academics and journalists working together.
Australian Broadcasting Corporation (ABC)
Australia’s national broadcaster, publishing content on television, radio, online and social platforms.
The Guardian
A global news organisation that delivers investigative journalism - giving a voice to the powerless and holding power to account.
Reuters
The news and media division of Thomson Reuters, it is the world’s largest multimedia news provider, reaching billions of people worldwide every day. Reuters provides business, financial, national and international news to professionals via desktop terminals, the world's media organizations, industry events and directly to consumers.
British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC)
An impartial and independent news organisation producing content which informs, educates and entertains millions of people in the UK and around the world.
National Public Radio (NPR)
An independent, nonprofit media organisation from the United States that was founded to create a more informed public.
Public Broadcasting Service (PBS)
Serves the American public with programming and services of the highest quality, using media to educate, inspire, entertain and express a diversity of perspectives.
Associated Press
Remains a source for fast, accurate, unbiased news in all formats and is an essential provider of the technology and services vital to the news business in the United States.
Al Jazeera
The first independent news channel in the Arab world dedicated to providing comprehensive news and live debate. Al Jazeera English, which was launched in 2006.
ProPublica
An independent, nonprofit newsroom that produces investigative journalism. Delving into critical issues, shining a light on abuses of power and betrayals of public trust.
Politico
A global authority on the intersection of politics, policy, and power, particularly in the United States.

Music industry resources

Music Australia
Part of Creative Australia, a government body for funding and promoting the arts. Music Australia supports and invests in the Australian contemporary music industry.
Music Victoria
Music Victoria represents musicians, venues, music businesses and professionals across the contemporary Victorian music community.
Community Music Victoria
Facilitates the development of skills, opportunities and networks necessary for participatory and accessible music-making to be available to all Victorians.
Australian Recording Industry Association (ARIA)
A national industry association representing major and independent record producers, manufacturers and distributors.
APRA AMCOS
APRA AMCOS grants licences for the live performance, broadcast, communication, public playing or reproduction of its members’ musical works.
The Push
An Australian youth music organisation that delivers a range of programs that are responsive to Australia’s future music industry leaders, artists and audiences.
Australian Independent Record Labels Association
Dedicated to supporting the growth and development of Australia’s independent recording sector.
Australian Music Industry Network
Provides a united voice to advocate for the needs of Australia’s contemporary music industry at local, state and federal levels and exists to support and promote contemporary music.
Music Rights Australia
An organisation that protects the creative interests of artists within the Australian music community through educational initiatives, government lobbying and the protection of artists’ copyrights.
Live Music Office
Set up to review the impact of policy frameworks on the Australian live music sector. Including planning, licensing and regulatory policies, as well as cultural, audience and market development strategies.

Screen resources

Screen Australia
Supporting the development, production, promotion and distribution of Australian narrative and documentary screen content. Invests directly in Australian television, film and digital original titles, and administers the Producer Offset tax incentive for Australian screen stories.
Vic Screen
Invests in production and content development, industry placements, filming incentives, location assistance, skills training, industry events and partnership activities in Victoria.
Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts (AACTA)
A not-for-profit organisation to recognise, encourage, promote and celebrate film and television excellence in Australia, connecting Australian and international audiences with Australian screen content.
Film Australia Collection (FAC)
Preserving and providing access to the Australia’s documentary record Including extensive audio-visual holdings and associated stills, documentation and promotional materials.
National Film and Sound Archive of Australia (NFSA)
Mission to collect, preserve and share Australia’s diverse audiovisual culture.
Australia New Zealand Screen Association
Represents the film and television content and distribution industry in Australia and New Zealand with a mission to advance the business and art of filmmaking.
Screen Safe Australia
Provides updates to industry safety advice and has been jointly produced by Screen Producers Australia (SPA) and the Media Entertainment and Arts Alliance (MEAA) in consultation with industry.
ACMI
A Melbourne institution curating exhibitions, screenings, commissions, festivals, and industry and education programs exploring the stories, technologies and artists that create our screen culture.
TV Tonight
Australia's leading site for industry and public alike, full of news, ratings, reviews & more.
Moving Image Archive
This library contains digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.
BONZA - National Cinema & Television Database
An online collection of national cinema databases (French, Australian and New Zealand) prepared by film researchers and students. Gives students the opportunity to learn film research by actively connecting their own work to that of other researchers.
Film Studies for Free
An open access, film and moving image studies resource.

Australian TV ratings

OzTAM
The official source of television audience measurement (TAM) covering Australia’s five mainland metropolitan markets and nationally for subscription television.
Regional Television Audience Measurement
The official television audience measurement (TAM) of Free-To-Air and Subscription Television viewing in the five east coast aggregated regional markets including sub-markets, and the Regional Western Australian market.
ThinkTV
A marketing initiative of Free TV Australia – the industry representative for all of Australia's free-to-air metropolitan and regional commercial television broadcasters.

Evaluating information sources

The CRAAP test

Evaluate your sources using the CRAAP test to find reliable, quality information.

• Currency: when was it created?
• Relevance: is it on my topic?
• Authority: is it by an expert?
• Accuracy: is it correct?
• Purpose: why was it created?

The SIFT method

Evaluate web and social media sources in 4 moves using the SIFT method.

• Stop - think before using a source.
• Investigate where it is from.
• Find alternative sources.
• Trace claims, quotes and media.

Fact checking

Fact checking is an important skill. Find out how to assess and verify your sources with RMIT's Fact checking guide.

• Assess websites and social media.
• Lean how to spot fake news.
• Develop your media literacy skills.

Library subject guides