All guides: Law and Justice: Books

Legal research and writing texts

RMIT's Learning Lab is great resource for support in studying Law. Find help with research and writing, as well as help with specific subjects.

Use LibrarySearch to find texts by keyword. Some keyword suggestions:

Do a search and narrow the results to:

Be sure to log in!

Some suggested texts:

Laying down the law
Provides a comprehensive and accessible introduction to the study of law. Topics covered include Australia's legal system and sources of law. A legal toolkit and marginal notes provide additional information to develop understanding of key concepts.
Nemes and Coss' effective legal research
An indispensable guide to mastering the techniques and strategies that are vital for successful legal research and writing.
Foundations of Australian Law
A great resource for business students, for law students, and for international students.
Legal Writing Skills: A Guide to Writing Essays and Answering Problem Questions
Practical tips and advice to help develop the ability to research, write and present clear and confident law assignments.
Practical guide to legal research
Provides essential legal research skills in Australian and International Law, including practical examples.
The new lawyer
A comprehensive guide to to the Australian legal system, including fundamental legal concepts, legal research skills and practical advice and guidance for students and early career lawyers.

Use LibrarySearch to find texts by keyword. Some keyword suggestions:

Some suggested texts:

Australian Encyclopaedia of Forms and Precedents
Contains a range of legal procedures and concepts. Includes sample documents and forms. Introductory notes explain the purpose of individual forms, precedents and clauses, and indicate where and when each should be used.
Court Forms, Precedents and Pleadings Victoria
Court forms, precedents and pleadings for use in Victoria.
Lawyers Practice Manual Victoria
The Lawyers Practice Manual Victoria is a procedural guide which deals with the everyday questions of legal practice and procedure. The Manual's practical information and subject coverage are designed to meet the needs of both community legal centres and private practitioners.

OER Commons - Law
Provides a curated collection of textbooks and resources for Law studies.
Open Textbook Library - Law
Provides a growing catalogue of free, peer-reviewed, and openly-licensed textbooks.
Saylor Academy Open Textbooks
Repository of textbooks used for Saylor Academy's courses, which are freely available and open for downloading and sharing for the public. Includes business law textbooks.
Wikijuris
Open access Australian law texts covering Australian IP Law and governing the internet.