All guides: Textiles and Materials: Standards and patents

Standards

Standards provide detailed guidelines to ensure that materials, products, and processes are safe, reliable and fit for purpose.

Standards: Library collection guide
Find Australian and international standards and patents. Discover where and how to search, and how to request standards not available at RMIT.

Australian Standards Online (Intertek Inform)
Full-text access to the majority of Australian Standards, Draft Standards and some Handbooks. Royalty issues prohibit access to approximately 100 of the total 6,500 documents. ISO and IEC indexes are available. (Vendor was SAI Global)
ASTM Compass
Contains ASTM International published specification documents, test methods, classifications, practices, and guides describing the characteristics of materials, systems, products and services. Using ASTM Compass

Good Environmental Choice Australia (GECA)
The Australian Ecolabel Program provided by GECA uses standards of environmental performance for different product sectors to verify product compliance for the ecolabel.
Global Organic Textile Standard (GOTS)
Defines and certifies international standards for organic textiles. The standard covers processing of organic fibres and environmental criteria. Certified final products include fibres, yarns, fabrics, home textiles, personal hygiene products, and other organic items.
Oeko-Tex Standard
Textile and leather products are tested for the presence of harmful substances and rated for safety.
AATCC technical manual
The American Association of Textile Chemists and Colourists. International standard methods of testing fibres and fabrics for performance.

Patents and intellectual property

Patents protect the intellectual property rights of inventors. They can be useful for finding the latest developments and competitive product information, including technical specifications and diagrams that may not be published elsewhere.

Australian Patent Search
IP Australia’s database of patent applications lodged and granted in Australia since 1904.
Espacenet
The European Patent Office (EPO) provides access to over 150 million patent documents.
USPTO
The United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) is the federal agency for granting U.S. patents and registering trademarks.
Google Patents
Search for patents across many countries.
Patent Quality Artificial Intelligence (PQAI)
A free open-source AI (artificial intelligence) patent search platform using natural language.
IP Australia
Information about intellectual property (IP) including trade marks, patents and design rights.

Library subject guides

Textiles and Materials

Standards

Patents and intellectual property