All guides: Textiles and Materials: Journals and magazines

Academic journals and industry magazines

Academic journals contain articles that explore new developments, issues and research findings within a field of study. Articles published in peer-reviewed journals are assessed for quality and reliability, by one or more experts.

Trade journals and magazines are aimed at those working in the industry and provide in-depth information on trends, new products, and topics of interest.

Search across collections of journals using the databases listed on the key resources page, or access a specific journal title via LibrarySearch. A selection of relevant journals and magazines are listed below.

Academic journals

Journal of Materials Science
Publishes original research studies on the structure, properties and uses of engineering materials. (peer-reviewed)
Materials Today Sustainability
A multi-disciplinary journal addressing sustainability issues through the use of materials science. Publishes short articles and comprehensive research with the potential to save the planet. (peer-reviewed)
Materials Science and Engineering: R Reports
Covers theoretical and experimental topics and current issues in materials science. (peer-reviewed)
MRS Bulletin (Materials Research Society)
An international journal publishing the latest research on designing materials, properties and processes. It includes tutorial-style overviews of interdisciplinary research topics. (peer-reviewed)
Nature Materials
A monthly journal on all areas of materials research. It covers processing, composition, properties and performance of materials. (peer-reviewed)
Progress in Materials Science
Publishes recent articles on the science of materials. Covers the fundamentals of materials structure and properties. (peer-reviewed)
Sustainable Materials and Technologies
An international, cross-disciplinary journal. Publishes research articles on sustainable materials, processes, technologies and energy sources. (peer-reviewed)

Industry journals and trade magazines

Circular Economy
An open access international journal providing innovative solutions for waste reduction and sustainability. It explores ways to reduce, reuse, recycle, dispose and synergise efforts.
Corrosion & Materials
A publication of the Australasian Corrosion Association. Covers research, updates and insights in corrosion prevention and materials science. (Available in print at Swanston Library PER 620.11223 C81)
Materials Australia
A quarterly magazine providing technical support to materials professionals. Covers a broad range of topics and current issues, written by leading industry professionals and subject experts.

Textiles journals and magazines

Academic journals
Industry journals and magazines

Academic journals

Clothing and Textiles Research Journal
A quarterly journal published by the International Textile and Apparel Association. Topics include textile science, the textile industry apparel science and technology, and history and culture. (peer-reviewed)
Coloration Technology
Published by the Society of Dyers and Colourists. Covers the chemistry, physics, technology, engineering and management of applying colour. (peer-reviewed)
International Journal of Sustainable Fashion & Textiles
Covers sustainability and ethics in the fashion and textiles industry. Themes include sustainable innovation and environmental and social issues. (peer reviewed)
Journal of Industrial Textiles
A quarterly publication covering all aspects of industrial textiles. Research articles explore the production, processes and wide-ranging applications of technical textiles. (peer-reviewed)
Journal of the Textile Institute
Publishes research and innovation on textile production, processes, design, marketing and use. Topics include materials science, and the cultural history of textiles and the textile industry. (peer-reviewed)
Resources, Conservation and Recycling
An international journal focused on strategies for conserving resources and developing sustainable practices. Covers both production and consumption systems. (peer-reviewed)
Textile History
An international journal covering historical perspectives and material culture studies on textiles and apparel. Explores the art, design, social, cultural, and economic history of textiles and dress. (peer-reviewed)
Textile Research Journal
Covers new concepts, innovation and scientific research related to fibres and textiles. Publishes theory and applied knowledge of materials, chemistry, manufacture and systems. (peer-reviewed)

Industry journals and trade magazines

Ecotextile News
An environmental magazine for the global textile and clothing supply chain. Provides news, expert analysis and in-depth comment on textile and apparel industries. (print)
Handwoven
A magazine providing woven projects with step-by-step instructions, along with tips and product information. Features articles on special techniques, history and people.
Journal of Textile Design, Research and Practice.
Provides a forum for studies focused on the education and development of textile designers, practitioners and researchers.
Shuttle, Spindle & Dyepot
A magazine covering fibre arts, including design, history, education, products and international textile news.
View: Textile View Magazine
Trend forecasting for up-and-coming seasons, with street and retail reports. Covers merchandising, consumer analysis and influences on fabric and fashion. (print)

News and newspapers

Find news articles and broadcasts

The Library's News and newspapers guide lists Australian and international sources of news.

Library subject guides

Textiles and Materials

Academic journals and industry magazines

Materials science journals and magazines

Academic journals

Industry journals and trade magazines

Textiles journals and magazines

Academic journals

Industry journals and trade magazines

News and newspapers