Mendeley Cite add-in is a 'cite as you write' tool for Microsoft Word. Mendeley Cite will work for both the Word Desktop app and Word for the web.

Mendeley Cite can be used to:

• Insert individual or multiple references at once
• Create a bibliography of all the references you've cited
• Change referencing styles

Note: If you are using an RMIT owned computer, or use RMIT's Office 365 license, you will need to contact IT Service Connect to obtain permission to install the add-in for Microsoft Word through the Microsoft Office Store.

To install:

1. Access Mendeley Cite and select the Get Mendeley Cite option
2. At the Microsoft App Source page, select Get it now. When prompted, log in
3. Follow the instructions to install.

Once Mendeley Cite is installed, the add-in can be accessed in Word via the References tab.

The following instructions work for both the Word Desktop app and Word for the web.

From the References tab in Microsoft Word, select Mendeley Cite. This will open a panel on the right-hand side. You may be asked to sign in with your Mendeley account details.

To insert a citation

Place the cursor in your Word document where you want to insert the in-text citation(s) and select the appropriate citation(s) from the right-hand panel. Use the dropdown box All References to select from a Collection/Group or use the search function. Select insert citation.

To edit a citation

1. Select the citation from your Word document and a highlighted box will appear around the citation
2. Navigate to the Mendeley Cite panel and select the highlighted citation below the blue banner
3. At this point, you can add a page number, prefix, suffix or change the display type
4. When you have finished editing, either Save changes, or Discard any changes made.

The following instructions work for both the Word Desktop app and Word for the web.

Mendeley Cite formats all your citations and bibliography according to your chosen citation style. Your bibliography will automatically update and reorganise itself whenever you add a new citation.

To create a bibliography

1. From the References tab in Microsoft Word, select Mendeley Cite to open the panel
2. Place the cursor in your Word document where you want to insert the bibliography, select the 3-dot ellipsis, then Insert Bibliography and  Continue.

Note: Citations will only appear in a bibliography if they have already been added as an in-text citation.

There are over 7,000 citation styles available to use with Mendeley.

To change a referencing style

1. From the References tab in Microsoft Word, select Mendeley Cite to open the panel
2. In the Citation Settings tab, select Change citation style. You can either choose a reference style from the populated list or select Search for another Style or Add a custom style
3. For example, you can find RMIT Harvard this way to add to your style options in Word
4. A preview will provide an example of the in-text citation and reference list.