All guides: Landscape Architecture: Key resources

Recommended Databases

Databases are collections of resources, primarily journal articles, but they can also contain conference papers, videos, ebooks, reports, images and more. Many databases specialise in a specific subject area, so you'll know when you're searching the database you will find material relevant to your studies.Find resources on landscape architecture, architecture and urban design

Search using the main keywords that describe your topic. For example: "landscape architecture" AND "urban planning"

Try the advanced search options for combining keywords and refining your search to find the most relevant results.

ARCH: Australian Architecture Database (Informit)
This database indexes and abstracts articles from material held by the Stanton Library, North Sydney Council. Source documents include journal articles, exhibition reviews, obituaries, editorials, conference proceedings, news items, project articles and award features.
Art and Architecture Archive (Proquest)
Find articles from trade journals and magazines comprising key research material in the fields of art and architecture, dating from the late-nineteenth century to the twenty-first. Find content related to the field of fine art, decorative arts, architecture, interior design, industrial design, landscape, gardening and photography.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (ProQuest)
Find journal articles on architecture and design, including the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration. Excellent for finding articles containing images, plans and drawings.
Bloomsbury Design Library
Find scholarly reference, books and images covering topics on architecture, design, and crafts worldwide, from 1500 BCE to the present day. Useful research and learning tool for design and visual arts. It will support both students and academics by allowing them to explore the history and context of influential design schools, people, periods, places, and disciplines.
CumInCAD: Cumulative Index of Computer Aided Architectural Design
A cumulative index of publications about computer aided architectural design. It includes bibliographic information about over 8,000 records from journals and conferences such as ACADIA, CAADRIA, eCAADe, SiGraDi, CAAD futures, DDSS and others. All papers include full abstracts. Full texts, in PDF, of some 5,400 papers are also available.
Environmental Impact Statements: Digests (ProQuest)
This database provides detailed abstracts and indexing of the hundreds of environmental impact statements issued each year by the federal government. EIS extracts the key issues from complex government-released environmental impact statements, converting massive documents into concise, readable abstracts. Each entry includes a clear description of the project, sections on positive impact and negative consequences and legal mandates.
JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive
The Arts & Sciences collection provides access to over 350 journals from a range of disciplines across the Social Sciences, Sciences, Business and Humanities subjects. Search for Scholarly articles on Architecture & Architectural History, Art & Art history, Garden & Landscape here
Lifestyle & Interiors (WGSN)
Lifestyle & Interiors is the leading global trend forecasting service and product development tool focused on the ever-evolving needs of the home and interiors industries.
Metromap
MetroMap is an aerial imagery data providing service, offering high-quality and accurate imagery to a subscriber base. Brought to you by Aerometrex, MetroMap fulfills all the quality and accuracy requirements of sophisticated geospatial data users and provides a product for varied applications across a diverse range of industries. Accessible via web-app or your own GIS, MetroMap Imagery is available in 2D.
OnArchitecture
Find videos of building walk throughs and interviews with prominent authors and figures of contemporary architecture -- architects, designers and academics. Each video is complemented with material such as links to further reading and bibliography.

Codes and Standards

Australian Standards Online (Intertek Inform)
Full-text access to the majority of Australian Standards, Draft Standards and some Handbooks and ANSTAT’s. Royalty issues prohibit access to approximately 100 of the total 6,500 documents. ISO and IEC indexes are available

For more databases, check out the Standards Subject Guide

National Construction Code (NCC)
The National Construction Code is Australia’s primary set of technical design and construction provisions for buildings. As a performance-based code, it sets the minimum required level for the safety, health, amenity, accessibility and sustainability of certain buildings. The Australian Building Codes Board, on behalf of the Australian Government and each State and Territory government, produces and maintains the National Construction Code.

You will need to create an account to access the NCC.
Victorian Building Authority - Regulatory framework
See the VBA website for information and guides to building legislation within Victoria, including links to the relevant legislation.

Practice Notes

Acumen Practice Notes
Acumen Practice Notes is an online resource of architectural practice material, providing an extensive database of advisory notes on managing architectural practice and projects in Australia. The practice notes are continuously updated with new and revised notes and include downloadable resources such as the ABIC reference contracts (as applicable to all states and territories), digital versions of the Institute's Client Architect Agreement and the Client Architect Agreement for Limited Services, Guide letters and Client information notes.
Environment
The Environment Design Guide (EDG) is now incorporated under 'Environment', comprising over 175 peer-reviewed design notes on built-environment sustainability within the fully redeveloped Acumen Practice Notes suite

Academic study skills

Assignments: get started

Assignments: get started is your guide to finding, evaluating and referencing sources of information.

Learning lab

Access the Learning lab to develop skills in writing, critical thinking, assessment tasks and much more.

A lightbulb over a laptop, with a lightning bolt pointing to the brain inside a head.

Library subject guides

Landscape Architecture

Need help? Ask the Library!

Recommended Databases

Codes and Standards

Practice Notes

Academic study skills