Create basic maps online with different bases (e.g., topography, imagery) and add your own extra data and layers.
The desktop application is available on RMIT Library computers.

Comprises a diverse community of data providers, sub-project collaborators, technology partners and international connections, all brought together by a common vision of better information infrastructure driving Australia’s urban future. Access the AURIN portal to access data and tools for map creation.

Free maps of Victoria with the ability to add layers such as aerial photography, topographic and geological information.
Register for a free account for additional features.

From the Department of Environment, Land, Water and Planning. Apply street and placename information, basic topographical information like contours and waterways, and overlay historical, environmental and heritage planning information.

MetroMap is an online aerial imagery subscription service offering high resolution imagery. Accessible images captured and processed at a nadir resolution of 5cm - 10cm GSD (pixel size) or better. Imagery is accurate to 3 pixels or better. Images are updated four times per year for each major capital city as a standard (subject to suitable weather and air traffic restrictions). RMIT users will have access to MetroMap 2D imagery, including all historical archives and spatial tools with unlimited downloads for the duration of the subscription period.

Map-based access to spatial data from Australian government agencies. Provides easy access to authoritative and other spatial data to government, business and the public.

Search planning scheme maps, view planning zones and overlays, prepare and print a customised report. the map includes information about properties listed on the Victorian Heritage Register, aerial imagery for the Port Phillip Bay area, historical maps for the 1954, 1959, 1968 and 1985 Melbourne Metropolitan Planning Schemes, sites of significance that are registered on the Victorian Heritage Register, areas of Aboriginal Cultural Heritage Significance. From the Department of Environment, Land, Water and Planning

The map is an attempt to represent the diverse language, tribal or nation groups of the Aboriginal peoples of Australia.

From the Victorian Government. See the online map to find areas of cultural heritage sensitivity and where Registered Aboriginal Parties are located in Victoria.

Data and maps of Australia for use in reports, projects and as a reference source, provided that the Geoscience Australia copyright acknowledgement remains on the image.

Geological maps of Victoria.

MapshareVic allows you to interact with Property, Forest, Public Land and Water maps, view different basemaps, search for an address, place name, locality or LGA, identify features on the map, print and export your map.

Maps with Australian soil and land resource information.

The State Library of Victoria's map collection includes printed maps with physical data such as topography, geology, soil etc.

An easy way to find, access and reuse public data.

Data from Victorian government departments and agencies.

Open data from some Australian local councils - including many from Victoria.

See the State Library's map collection for historical maps of Melbourne and Victoria, as well as Australian and international maps.
Much of the collection is available online as high quality images.

In print at the ERC.

Search the University of Melbourne library catalogue for more printed maps.

Digitised street directories of Melbourne from the State Library of Victoria.

Digitised Melways street directories from the University of Melbourne.

Includes maps from early European charts to current mapping of Australia.
For online images and maps search the NLA catalogue and limit the search results to 'maps' and 'all online'.