Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library services for RMIT alumni

Use this guide to find out about library benefits and services for the RMIT alumni community; includes how to gain free access to selected online databases, print collections and audiovisual collections.

First time access

If you're accessing the library databases, e-journals or e-books available to RMIT alumni for the first time, you'll need to reset your RMIT account.

If you are having difficulties resetting your password, please fill out the 'Online Access' form and we will endeavour to activate your account.

You will need the following information:

  • Full name (first name, last name)
  • Email (to receive the password reset link)
  • Date of birth (for verification)
  • Student ID (Optional)

You can also use this login to access your LibrarySearch account for self service to check your loans, renewing items, and to place holds.

eBook Databases

​Click on one of the eBook Database names below for RMIT Alumni access.
Resource Description

Cambridge Core

Cambridge University Press logo

The Cambridge Core database provides access to unique, scholarly content published by Cambridge University Press, in one user-friendly and fully searchable online platform.

Cambridge University Press publishes a wide range of research monographs, academic reference, textbooks, books for professionals, and large numbers of books aimed at graduate students. This database includes more than 30,000 ebooks for the global market, with 1,500 new titles added on average each year alongside our print publications.

Subjects covered include:

  • Social sciences
  • Medicine
  • Science
  • Technology
  • Economics
  • Mathematics
  • Politics
  • Shakespeare studies
  • Humanities

If searching Cambridge Core from the initial landing page, please select the checkbox indicating "only search content I have access to" 

Austlit

Austlit logo

AustLit is a comprehensive record of Australia's literary and storytelling history and culture. AustLit supports and publishes the results of scholarship and research into Australia's cultural heritage and includes full-text access in the following areas:

  • Novels
  • Children’s books
  • Poetry (recently published)

The database includes indexing of current publications on Australian literature and criticism. Journals are indexed either quarterly or annually; newspapers on a weekly or monthly basis.

OECD iLibrary

OECD iLibrary logo

This is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD's analysis and data.

It also includes content published by the International Energy Agency (IEA), the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), the OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and the International Transport Forum (ITF).

New titles are published yearly associated with some of the following themes:

  • Agriculture and Food
  • Economics
  • Education
  • Environment
  • Industry and Services
  • Science and technology
  • Social Issues / Migration / Health
  • Trade
  • Transport
  • Urban, Rural and Regional Development

CSIRO eBooks

An independent science and technology publisher in Australia, whose books cover a wide range of scientific disciplines, including:

  • agriculture
  • plant and animal sciences
  • environmental management

Free eBooks Databases

The following resources are free accessible eBook Databases.

Click on one of the eBook Database names below for access.

Resource Description

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)

The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of academic, peer-reviewed open access eBooks. Subjects covered include:

  • Arts and Architecture
  • Biology and Life Sciences
  • Business and Economics
  • Earth and Environmental Sciences
  • Health Sciences
  • Language and Literature
  • Mathematics and Statistics
  • Physics and Astronomy
  • Social Sciences
  • Technology and Engineering

Project Gutenberg

Project Gutenberg offers over 58,000 free eBooks, with a focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired. eBooks. eBooks are listed for over 200 categories and are available mainly in English, but some are also available in German, French, Italian and Portuguese

Trove

Trove is a collaboration between the National Library, Australia's State and Territory libraries and hundreds of cultural and research institutions around Australia. Bringing together content from libraries, museums, archives, repositories and other research and collecting organisation it aims to create a legacy of Australia's knowledge for now and into the future.

JSTOR Open Access Books

More than 5,000 Open Access ebooks are available at no cost to libraries or users.