Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library services for RMIT alumni

Use this guide to find out about library benefits and services for the RMIT alumni community; includes how to gain free access to selected online databases, print collections and audiovisual collections.

First time access

If you're accessing the library databases, e-journals or e-books available to RMIT alumni for the first time, you'll need to reset your RMIT account.

If you are having difficulties resetting your password, please fill out the 'Online Access' form and we will endeavour to activate your account.

You will need the following information:

  • Full name (first name, last name)
  • Email (to receive the password reset link)
  • Date of birth (for verification)
  • Student ID (Optional)

You can also use this login to access your LibrarySearch account for self service to check your loans, renewing items, and to place holds.

eJournal Databases

Click on one of the eJournal Database names below for access.
Resource Description

Cambridge Core

With over 1.6 million journal articles and 36,000+ books, this database is a central destination for academic research. Cambridge University Press is widely respected as a publisher, their database covering more than 380 peer-reviewed academic journals. Subjects covered include:

  • Social sciences
  • Medicine
  • Science
  • Technology
  • Economics
  • Mathematics
  • Politics
  • Shakespeare studies
  • Humanities

If searching Cambridge Core from the initial landing page, please select the checkbox indicating "only search content I have access to" 

ProQuest Central

This database serves as a central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subject areas ProQuest Central features a diversified mix of aggregated content from many publishers. Includes:

  • Scholarly journals
  • Trade publications
  • Newspapers
  • Reports

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (PQDTG)

A database of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day. Designated as an official repository for the U.S. Library of Congress, PQDTG has growing international coverage resulting from multiyear programs and partnerships with international universities and national associations. Includes:

  • Full text for graduate works since 1997
  • Selected full text for graduate works prior to 1997
  • Significant amount of citations and full text for new international dissertations and theses

Annual Reviews

Annual Reviews is a nonprofit publisher specialising in the synthesis and integration of knowledge for the progress of science and the benefit of society. Subjects covered include:

  • Biomedical sciences
  • Physical sciences
  • Social sciences

Austlit

AustLit is a comprehensive record of Australia's literary and storytelling history and culture. AustLit supports and publishes the results of scholarship and research into Australia's cultural heritage and includes full-text access in the following areas:

  • Novels
  • Children’s books
  • Poetry (recently published)

The database includes indexing of current publications on Australian literature and criticism. Journals are indexed either quarterly or annually; newspapers on a weekly or monthly basis.

OECD iLibrary

This is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD's analysis and data.

It also includes content published by the International Energy Agency (IEA), the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), the OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and the International Transport Forum (ITF).

New titles are published yearly associated with some of the following themes:

  • Agriculture and Food
  • Economics
  • Education
  • Environment
  • Industry and Services
  • Science and technology
  • Social Issues / Migration / Health
  • Trade
  • Transport
  • Urban, Rural and Regional Development

CSIRO Journals

An independent science and technology publisher in Australia, whose journals cover a wide range of scientific disciplines, including:

  • agriculture
  • plant and animal sciences
  • environmental management

Free eJournals Databases

The following resources are free accessible eJournal Databases.

Click on one of the eJournal Database names below for access.

Resource Description

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

DOAJ is an independent, community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. Subjects covered include:

  • Library Science
  • Education
  • Fine Arts
  • Geography
  • Language and Literature
  • Law
  • Medicine
  • Philosophy / Psychology / Religion
  • Science
  • Technology

Trove

Trove is a collaboration between the National Library, Australia’s State and Territory libraries and hundreds of cultural and research institutions around Australia. Bringing together content from libraries, museums, archives, repositories and other research and collecting organisation it aims to create a legacy of Australia’s knowledge for now and into the future.

JSTOR

JSTOR offers academic content that is open to everyone. It includes thousands of free journal articles and open access book chapters.