All guides: Media, Journalism, Screen and Music: Key resources

Key Resources

Identify Key Terms: Focus on concepts from your assignment like mass communication, digital media, media effects, media theory, media literacy, media ethics, etc.

Search Strategy examples: Combine terms like “media effects AND digital content,” “journalistic ethics OR bias,” or “media literacy AND education.”

ProQuest Central
A comprehensive, multidisciplinary collection, ideal for starting your research on a broad range of topics.
Taylor & Francis Online
An extensive collection of peer-reviewed articles. Including content on writing, editing and publishing.
SAGE Journals Online
The SAGE Journals portfolio includes journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, and Technology. Provides full text access to subscribed titles.
JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive
JSTOR provides access to a wide range of scholarly content for the humanities and social sciences.

Informit Online
The Informit Online package provides full text cover-to-cover access to journals, monographs, conference proceedings and other research material relating to the humanities and social sciences.

Wiley Online Library
classical & cultural studies, communication & media studies, history, literature, philosophy and political science.
DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals
Access quality-controlled Open Access Journals and their articles. The Directory covers all open access scientific and scholarly journals including design topics.

Media and journalism research

Margaret Gee's Australian media guide
A directory of the major Australian media outlets, including television and radio stations; internet media; newspapers, newsletters, and magazines; and press agencies. It includes profiles and contact listings as well as circulation figures, publication details and base advertising rates.

Communication and Media Studies: SAGE full-text collection (SAGE)
Journal articles on all aspects of communication: political, business, interpersonal, cultural and intercultural. Also covers journalism, public opinion, mass communication, and media, television and film studies.
Humanities & Social Sciences Collection (Informit)
Provides access to full content from a range of journals, monographs and books, conference proceedings, research papers and reference materials on media and communication.
Australia & New Zealand Newsstream (ProQuest)
Provides access to leading Australian and New Zealand newspapers. Includes regional and rural radio transcripts and news from current affairs tv programs.
Project Muse
A leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community. A source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies.

Oxford University Press journals
Provides full-text online access to electronic journals published by the Oxford University Press. Disciplines covered are humanities, social sciences, and the sciences.

ProQuest Arts Premium Collection
Allows users to conduct comprehensive literature reviews across the arts disciplines, access complementary full text articles.
WARC: World Advertising Research Center
Search for thousands of case studies and industry-focused information alongside consumer behaviour, media and technology, marketing and geographical trends.
Intellect Discover
"Intellect is a fiercely independent academic publisher for scholars and practitioners teaching and researching in the arts, media and creative industries. Intellect is best known for our work in the visual and performing arts, film and media studies as well as dance, music and popular culture".

Music industry research

Music Industry Data
Provides access to sophisticated tools that allow you to interpret, graph, analyse, compare musical trends and interactions. Listen to audio samples for each track and album quickly and easily.
IBIS World
Australian and Chinese industry reports providing strategic insights and analysis. Reports contain key statistics, operations, markets, major companies, performance and forecasts.
MarketLine
Search for reports and case studies by industry, company or geography. Find market data, business strategies, product intelligence, key facts and news.
Passport
Global industry, company and country reports. Find statistics, analysis and trends for markets, competitors, products and consumers. Use the analytics modelling tools to generate customised datagraphics, forecasts and analyses.
ArtsHub
Arts Hub is the online home for Australian arts workers. Contains the accepted industry standard for employment opportunities, and Australia's only arts industry news service.
Oxford Music Online
Provides access to various music reference resources including Grove Music Online, The Oxford Companion to Music, The Oxford Dictionary of Music & Encyclopedia of Popular Music.
Music Database (ProQuest)
Covers the full spectrum of subjects and all aspects of music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms and composition.
Cambridge Core (Cambridge University Press)
Access peer-reviewed academic journals containing the latest research from a variety of subject areas including music and performance studies.

Smithsonian global sound for libraries
A virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. The collection provides listeners with an unprecedented variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms.
African American music reference
Bringing together text reference, biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes, and discographies which chronicle the diverse history and culture of the African American experience through music.
Classical music reference library
Brings together reference materials, spanning the entire history of Western classical music. Included are the reference titles Baker's dictionary of music, Baker's biographical dictionary of musicians, Baker's student encyclopedia of music and Women composers: music through the ages.
Music online: Classical scores library
A reliable and authoritative destination for in-copyright digital scores of classical music, as well as a resource for the discovery of diverse and lesser-known contemporary works.

SNIPER: Searchable Networked Intellectual Property Electronic Resource (Informit)
Bibliographic database of journal articles, conference papers, and other documents about issues in intellectual property. It provides a knowledge base to support policy, awareness and research in intellectual property matters.

Screen studies research

Screen Studies Collection (ProQuest)
A comprehensive survey of current publications related to film scholarship alongside detailed and expansive filmographies. This collection includes the specialist index FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database and the detailed and complementary filmographies created by the American Film Institute and the British Film Institute; AFI Catalog and Film Index International.
IngentaConnect (Ingenta)
An independent academic publisher in the fields of creative practice and popular culture that includes subscriptions to key academic screenwriting and cinema journals.
ScreenHub
Australia's portal for professionals working within and those aspiring to enter Film & Television, where a community read, write and share their knowledge and passion for the industry.
AustLit: the resource for Australian literature
ScreenLit, found in the 'Screen Projects' section of the AustLit database provides a scholarly approach to a collection of information about Australian cinema productions and television programs.
American Film Scripts (Alexander Street)
Contains scripts and makes available, for the first time, accurate and authorized versions of copyrighted screenplays. Now film scholars can compare the writer’s vision with the producer’s and director’s interpretations from page to screen. Most scripts in the series have never been published before and are available nowhere else.
Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts
A resource for students and educators working across multiple fields of practice, including film and media, marketing and advertising.

AFI research collection

Search the AFI Online Catalogue

The AFI Research Collection is a specialist film and television industry resource open to the public. The collection has strengths in screen history and theory (in cinema from around the world, as well as Australian cinema), and it features a diverse range of books, journals, clippings, film scripts, film directories, reports and film festival catalogues.

Why visit the AFI Research Collection?

Extensive and unique resources about film and television all in one place
AFI Research Collection resources are not available for loan
Easy access to staff who have the training and experience to assist in finding the material you need for your research

Location

The AFI Research Collection is located within the Swanston Street campus in Building 8, Level 6.

Enter via Swanston Library - 2nd Floor. We are behind the yellow wall past the silent area.

Contact

Phone +61 3 9925 2829 | Email afiresearch@rmit.edu.au

Academic study skills

Assignments: get started

Assignments: get started is your guide to finding, evaluating and referencing sources of information.

Learning lab

Access the Learning lab to develop skills in writing, critical thinking, assessment tasks and much more.

Library subject guides

Media, Journalism, Screen and Music

Need help? Ask the Library!