All guides: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander resources: Business and Law

Key resources for Business and Law

You will find more resources in the Resources by study area section below.

Indigenous Justice Clearinghouse
The Clearinghouse is an online library of papers, reports and books about Indigenous justice. Its content is relevant for students and professionals in the field of justice and law. Use the search box or browse its library or datasets by subject.
Centre for Aboriginal Economic Policy Research: Publications
The CAEPR undertakes research to further the social and economic development and empowerment of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people throughout Australia. Select a series or group of publications to browse titles or search within.
Closing the Gap: Information respository
From this dashboard, you can access data on the targets and indicators of the National Agreement on Closing the Gap. Select "Annual report data" to view annual data compilation reports.
Analysis and Policy Observatory (APO)
APO is a free evidence platform for Australian public policy research and resources. Browse subjects or use the search box.
Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies (AIATSIS): Research
AIATSIS is at the forefront of research led by Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people. Search for your topic or browse current projects and past research publications. AIATSIS is also a leader in ethical research.
Indigenous cultural and intellectual property rights
Learn about Indigenious cultural and intellectual property (ICIP) and find out how to respect ICIP rights in your own work.
Insight video series: Indigenous cultural and intellectual property rights
First Nations artists talk about their experiences with fake art and the effect it has on their communities. Filmed during the Cairns Indigenous Art Fair in August 2024.

Victoria

You may find more local resources in the Resources by study area section below.

Yoorrook Justice Commission
The Yoorrook Justice Commission is the first formal truth-telling process into historical and ongoing injustices experienced by First Peoples in Victoria. It released the Yoorrook for Justice report into the Victorian child protection and criminal justice systems in 2023.
First Peoples' Assembly of Victoria
The First Peoples’ Assembly is the democratic voice for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people in Victoria. Its task is to achieve Treaty between Traditional Owners of Country and the Victorian Government.
Treaty Authority
The Treaty Authority oversees Treaty negotiations in Victoria. It is independent of the State of Victoria and the First Peoples’ Assembly. It helps to resolve disputes and carries out research to inform Treaty negotiations.
Federation of Victorian Traditional Owners Corporations
The Federation is state-wide body that advocates for the rights and interests of Traditional Owners. It also progresses wider social, economic, environmental and cultural objectives. Use the menu to view focus areas such as Country, Community, Economy, and Impact.
VACCHO: Workforce development
The Victorian Aboriginal Health and Wellbeing Workforce Strategy was developed by the Victorian Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Organisation (VACCHO). It supports a strong and able Aboriginal workforce in the care, health and welfare sector and could be relevant to other industries.
Kinaway Chamber of Commerce
Kinaway creates opportunities for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander businesses across Victoria. It also provides business support and advice, and helps improve visibility and networks.
Victorian Aboriginal Heritage Council
The VAHC is a council of Traditional Owners working to strengthen Aboriginal Peoples, knowledges and communities across Victoria. Its role includes helping the community respect and understand Aboriginal Cultural Heritage and Traditional Owner responsibilities.

Resources by study area

Accounting, Information Systems and Supply Chain

You can find more links in the Key resources and Victoria sections above.

First Nations Digital Inclusion Advisory Group
Closing the Gap in digital inclusion for First Nations Australians is a national priority. It will improve opportunities for employment, social connectedness, and access to vital services.
Australian Digital Inclusion Index
Data from the Australian Internet Usage Survey is used to measure variations in access, affordability and digital ability across Australia.

Economics, Finance and Marketing

You can find more links in the Key resources and Victoria sections above.

Supply Nation
Supply Nation provides a database of Indigenous businesses with at least 50% ownership by Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander person/s.
Indigenous Business Australia
Indigenous Business Australia assists economic development opportunities of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples.
Torres Strait Regional Authority (TSRA)
The TSRA is an Australian government statutory authority that promotes economic development, fisheries management, art and heritage, healthy and safe communities, and infrastructure in the region. It does so through loans at concessional interest rates, university scholarships, grants for new businesses, and a range of community programs. Find details under "Services". The Torres Strait Development Plan 2023-28 can be found under "Corporate documents".
Indigenous Land and Sea Corporation
The Indigenous Land and Sea Corporation provides grants and assistance to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander groups in urban, regional and remote regions. Sectors covered include: cultural and eco-tourism; renewables and energy; fisheries and aquaculture; caring for Country; carbon and environmental markets; health and wellbeing; and water-based enterprises and assets.

Graduate School of Business and Law

You can find more links in the Key resources and Victoria sections above.

Indigenous Justice Clearinghouse
The Clearinghouse is an online library of papers, reports and books about Indigenous justice. Its content is relevant for students and professionals in the field of justice and law. Use the search box or browse its library or datasets by subject.
Law: the way of the ancestors
Professor Marcia Langton and Aaron Corn show how Indigenous law has enabled people to survive and thrive in Australia for more than 2000 generations.
Indigenous Law Centre
The ILC is the only Indigenous law research centre in Australia. Based in UNSW Faculty of Law.
Australians for Native Title and Recognition (ANTAR)
ANTAR is a non-government, not-for-profit, community-based organisation. You can learn about truth-telling, justice, the UN Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples, native title and land rights, Voice, cultural heritage, Closing the Gap, Survival day, racism, and treaty.
National Native Title Tribunal
The National Native Title Tribunal (NNTT) is an independent body established by the Native Title Act 1993 (Cth). It provides assistance to native title holders to resolve native title disputes. On referral from the Federal Court of Australia, the NNTT mediates native title proceedings and conducts reviews of native title rights and interests.
Prescribed Body Corporate (PBC)
The Prescribed Body Corporate (PBC) website provides information and resources for native title groups and corporations. Check the Learn section for information for and about PBCs and the Find section for resources, databases, grants and contacts.
First Peoples - State relations
First Peoples – State Relations is a group within the Victorian Department of Premier and Cabinet, led by the Minister for Treaty and First Peoples. It is responsible for work in the areas of cultural rights, self-determination, treaty and truth.

Management

You can find more links in the Key resources and Victoria sections above.

Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander cultural capability toolkit
This toolkit builds the capacity of public sector workplaces to attract, recruit, retain, support and develop Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander staff at all levels. It is published by the Victorian Public Sector Commission and will also be relevant to other sectors.

Evaluating and referencing Indigenous knowledges

Indigenous referencing: Guidance for Indigenous knowledges (PDF, 27 pages)
This toolkit includes a decision tree to help you critically assess sources of Indigenous information. It provides referencing guidance on how to include the author’s affiliated Nation/Country/Language group, with examples of citing and referencing sources using APA 7th edition style.
This resource was created by the Indigenous Archives Collective (IAC), through funding by CAVAL and support by CACIK.

Library subject guides

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander resources

Key resources for Business and Law

Victoria

Resources by study area

Accounting, Information Systems and Supply Chain

Economics, Finance and Marketing

Graduate School of Business and Law

Management

Evaluating and referencing Indigenous knowledges