All guides: Property and Valuation: Case studies

Case studies

What is a case study?

Case studies generally describe real world practical examples from which others can gain insight for their own application. Case studies can provide both positive examples, as well as raise issues and challenges for others to be aware of. Case studies can be written documents or videos delivered via streaming media websites/databases.

Finding case studies

To locate case studies in LibrarySearch, enter the search words "case study" or "case studies" along with the keywords describing your topic.
To locate case studies in some of the Library databases, either look for a Case Study filter in advanced search,OR select as resource type OR enter the search terms, "case study" or "case studies" along with the keywords describing your topic.

Recommended databases for case studies

Business source complete (EBSCO)
Contains case studies from many sources. They can be found using advanced search and selecting "case study" as the Document Type.
Harvard Business Review
Journal of Harvard Business School that covers a wide range of business topics. Click “Search within this publication” and input search terms, then limit results by “Subject” to “Case studies”.
Harvard Business Review Digital Articles
Digital articles uploaded from the HBR.org site. Click “Search within this publication” and add “Case study” as a search term.
Henry Stewart talks: The business and management collection
A collection of video lectures, case studies and seminar-style talks. Subject areas include marketing & sale, global business management, organisation, commerce, technology, and operations.
Emerald Insight
An extensive business research database. Click on advanced search and then select the case studies checkbox.
MarketLine Case Studies (Datamonitor)
Explore business practices across a variety of industry sectors. Select "Analysis" from the menu bar and select Case studies. A selection of pre 2008/9 reports are also available from LibrarySearch; search for "Datamonitor Case Studies”.
Factiva
Use "case study" or "case studies" as terms when building your search. There is no option to limit to case studies as a resource type.
SAGE Business cases
Access to authoritative cases from over 100 countries. SAGE curates interdisciplinary cases on in-demand subjects such as marketing, entrepreneurship, accounting, healthcare management, leadership, social enterprise, and more.

Open Access databases for case studies

Arthur Andersen Case Studies in Business Ethics
90 case studies that highlight awareness of ethical issues in business.
Business Case Studies
Uses real information and issues from featured companies.
Markkula Center for Applied Ethics - ethics case studies
Find case studies and scenarios on a variety of fields in applied ethics.
MIT LearningEdge Case Studies
Some of the case studies featured on LearningEdge highlight the decision-making process in a business or management setting.

Streaming video for case studies

Case studies in video documentary format are available from these video streaming websites.

ClickView
A collection of educational videos, including professional development videos and case studies. To access you will need to use your RMIT student login. Streaming videos covering a variety of disciplines. Enter your search terms and then narrow using the “case study” Tag.
Alexander Street
A collection of documentaries, features, educational and informative videos (and audio), and archival material. Also includes industry specific textbooks, book chapters, corporate training videos, case studies and executive-oriented research reports. Enter your search terms and then filter your result by selecting “Case Study” as your Content Type.
Kanopy Business Case Studies
A selection of streaming videos examining companies, marketing strategies, and entrepreneurs. Browse the “Business” section and select “Business Case Studies”.

Library subject guides