All guides: Property and Valuation: Key resources

Recommended databases

Databases are collections of resources, primarily scholarly journal articles, but they can also contain conference papers, videos, e-books, reports, images and more. Many databases specialise in a specific subject area, so when you are searching in a database you will find material relevant to your studies.

Specialist

Business Source Complete (EBSCO)
A significant scholarly business database worldwide, it provides a large collection of bibliographic and full text content dating back to 1886. Includes peer-reviewed scholarly journals, trade journals, general business magazines, e-books, industry reports, and company reports/profiles covering all disciplines of business, such as marketing, management, Management Information Systems (MIS), Production & Operations Management (POM), accounting, finance and economics.
Business Collection (Informit)
The source for online Australian information. Includes full-text journal articles and a large video collection covering news and documentaries. Covers all broad business areas, such as: accounting, career development, commercial law, commodities, corporate governance, e-business, economics, employment, human resources, labour, management, marketing, occupational health, taxation, and unions. To search in the Business Collection database, click on the 'Change Databases' button, select ‘Business Collection’, and press the 'Use Selected Full Text Databases' button.
Australia & New Zealand Newsstream (ProQuest)
Provides access to the full text of major Australian and New Zealand newspapers. Useful for the latest real estate and property market news in Australia.

Multidisciplinary

ABI/INFORM Collection ( via ProQuest Central)
Database covering business, management, economics and a wide range of related fields. Contains thousands of full-text journals; dissertations/theses; working papers; key business and economics newspapers such as the 'Economist', 'Wall Street Journal' and 'Financial Times'; country and industry reports; and downloadable data. Great international coverage provides an overall picture of companies and business trends around the world.
ProQuest Central
Including over 90,000 authoritative sources, ProQuest is one of the world's most comprehensive multidisciplinary collections of digital information. Millions of full-text articles are available online covering more than 160 subject areas.
Emerald Insight
Includes worldwide research material in the areas of business, society, public policy and education. Contains e-books, case studies, teaching cases, as well as over 35,000 full-text journal articles from Emerald's international management portfolio dating back to 1994. Subject coverage spans a spectrum of management disciplines, such as strategy; leadership; marketing and human resource management; and a substantial number of engineering, applied science and technology titles.
APA-FT: Australian Public Affairs - Full Text (Informit)
A multidisciplinary database containing journal articles on Australia's political, economic, social and cultural affairs. Also includes Australian humanities, social sciences and law.
Scopus (Elsevier)
A comprehensive, peer-reviewed and multidisciplinary database containing scientific, medical, technical and social science scholarly literature. Bibliographic or indexing-only database, so access the full-text via the FindIt button.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
A multidisciplinary, full text database of peer-reviewed scholarly literature in the areas of physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
Web of Science (Clarivate Analytics)
A thorough, peer-reviewed and multidisciplinary database containing over 21,000 prestigious and high-impact scholarly research journals in the world. Subject coverage spans over 250 science, social sciences and humanities disciplines. Bibliographic or indexing-only database, so access the full-text via the FindIt button.

Plan Melbourne 2017-2050

Plan Melbourne 2017-2050 will guide the growth of our city for the next 35 years. It sets the strategy for supporting jobs, housing and transport, while building on Melbourne's legacy of distinctiveness, liveability and sustainability.

The vision for Melbourne: Melbourne will continue to be a global city of opportunity and choice.

Plan Melbourne 2017-2050

Australian standards

Australian Standards Online (Intertek Inform)
Full-text access to the majority of Australian Standards, Draft Standards and some Handbooks. Royalty issues prohibit access to approximately 100 of the total 6,500 documents. ISO and IEC indexes are available. (Vendor was SAI Global)

Note:

Due to licensing restrictions, only 20 RMIT users may access SAI Global at a time. If you experience trouble accessing the database, please try again later.
The FileOpen plugin is required to open downloaded standards within a PDF reader, such as Adobe Reader. Please download the FileOpen plugin from: https://rmit.libguides.com/c.php?g=336430&p=6832672.
If you open and view the PDF standard within a web browser window, you do not need the FileOpen plugin.

Australian Property Institute (API) - Standards
Sets out the duties, responsibilities and professional standards of members of the Australian Property Institute (AIP).

Academic study skills

Assignments: get started

Assignments: get started is your guide to finding, evaluating and referencing sources of information.

Learning lab

Access the Learning lab to develop skills in writing, critical thinking, assessment tasks and much more.

Library subject guides

Property and Valuation

Need help? Ask the Library!