All guides: Osteopathy: Key resources

Recommended databases

Databases are online collections of academic literature, primarily peer-reviewed journal articles. You will find relevant material in the library databases below.

PubMed
A major international database of evidence-based literature on biomedical and health science from the MEDLINE database, including osteopathy.
OSTMED.DR: osteopathic medicine digital repository
Full-text osteopathic medicine digital library providing access to current literature and historical documents.
AMED: Allied and Complementary Medicine Database (EBSCO)
AMED, compiled by The British Library, indexes articles from about 600 mainly European journals in the fields of complementary and alternative medicine, such as chiropractic, osteopathy, physiotherapy, acupuncture, occupational therapy, and rehabilitation.
CINAHL with Full Text (EBSCO)
A major international database of nursing and allied health literature, including osteopathy.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text (EBSCO)
An international database for sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, training, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention, rehabilitation, osteopathy, physical therapy, exercise physiology, and occupational health and therapy.
PEDro: Physiotherapy Evidence Database
PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. Details and abstracts of randomised controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
Index to Chiropractic Literature
Database of peer-reviewed chiropractic journals.
Cochrane Library
Comprising three databases: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) and Cochrane Clinical Answers.
EMBASE (Elsevier)
EMBASE, the Excerpta Medica database, is a major medical, biomedical science and pharmaceutical database indexing over 8,500 international journals. Osteopathy is included.
TRIP Database (Turning Research Into Practice)
TRIP is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find high-quality evidence-based research to support their practice and/or care. Osteopathy is covered.
UpToDate
This resource is designed to answer the clinical questions that arise in daily practice. UpToDate covers over 10,000 clinical topics in over 20 medical specialties (including osteopathy) with full text articles, drugs and drug interaction databases, and medical calculators.

Anatomy and physiology

Primal Pictures (anatomy.tv)
Derived from real human data, this image databases provides over 5,000 3D anatomical structures, clinical slides, dissections, animations, videos and more. Three-dimensional animations illustrate function, biomechanics, and surgical procedures. Clinical videos and text by leading specialists supplement animations and models.
Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination
Clinical skills videos featuring head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques. Based on Bates’ Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking, this online guide maintains the evidence-based origins of the text and provides careful attention to clinical accuracy, and to the range of patient types profiled in the series.
An@tomedia
‘Construct’ the body by studying regions and systems. 'Deconstruct' the body through dissection and imaging. Each module has interactive text, image overlays and clinical questions.

Multidisciplinary

Scopus (Elsevier)
A comprehensive, peer-reviewed and multidisciplinary database containing scientific, medical, technical and social science scholarly literature. Bibliographic or indexing-only database, select the FindIt button to access full text documents.
Science Direct (Elsevier)
A multidisciplinary, full-text database of peer-reviewed scholarly literature in the sciences including health sciences.
Web of Science
Web of Science is peer-reviewed, multidisciplinary database containing over 21,000 prestigious and high-impact scholarly research journals. Select the FindIt button to access full text documents.

Quick Links

Further Support

Study Support

You can get drop-in help from academic skills advisors and librarians in the Study Support Hubs, both on-campus and online, or submit a question or assignment for feedback.

Connect with a peer mentor to help you with your course. Discover a range of tools to support your study.

Your feedback and suggestions

Send us your feedback about this guide.

Library subject guides

Osteopathy

Need help? Ask the Library!