Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Osteopathy

This guide will help you find information on osteopathic medicine.

Museum of Osteopathic Medicine @ A. T. Still University

" "In 1892 the American School of Osteopathy was founded by A. T. Still in Kirksville, Missouri. It was the first osteopathic medicine school in the world, and is now known as the A. T. Still University. 

The University is home to the Museum of Osteopathic Medicine, and boasts a range of resources including: artifacts, documents, photographs, books, journals and other materials related to Still and the osteopathic school he founded.

Read the Biography of Andrew Taylor Still.

 

 

Source: "Andrew Taylor Still" by Wellcome Collection, London. Licensed under CC BY 4.0.

 

The Museum of Osteopathic Medicine provides access to:

 

The Missouri Digital Heritage website is hosting three of the Museum's collections:

Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine

The Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine (PCOM) has digitised some classic osteopathy texts and made them available via the DigitalCommons@PCOM website.

This website collection includes:

Early American Manual Therapy - Version 5.0

Manual therapy is the use of the hands to diagnose and treat illness and maintain health.

This collection of books and articles documents the early years of manual therapy in America.

The Early American Manual Therapy collection includes texts from the formative years of osteopathy, chiropractic, naturopathy, neuropathy, massage, mechanical vibration, and magnetic healing in America.

RMIT Library's Special Collection

Special collection

RMIT University Library has some rare osteopathic books which are located in the Special Collection at Swanston Library. They are not for loan, but are available for viewing. For access, please see: Using the RMIT University Library Special Collection.

See the full list in LibrarySearch for the osteopathy books we have in our Special Collection: RMIT Special Collections: Chiropractic and and Osteopathy. Please note that this collection also contains chiropractic books since they have been grouped together with those of osteopathy.

Find out more about the RMIT Special Collection.

Osteopathy

" "