Skip to Main Content

RMIT University Library Special Collection

Find information on how to use the Library's Special Collection.

Introduction to the Emily McPherson Collection

A photo montage showing RMIT's Building 13, formerly the Emily McPherson College.

Image: Copyright © 2025 RMIT University. Incorporating Entrance to Emily McPherson College, 1930, RMIT University Archives Image Collection.

The Emily McPherson College of Domestic Economy, which opened in 1927, was for many years the only institution in Victoria offering courses in domestic economy, cookery and dress making.

The Library (named after the Librarian, Elizabeth Eddie) was an integral part of the Emily McPherson College of Domestic Economy. Items from this Library, now known as the Emily McPherson Collection, provide a social history of cooking and food, the domestic arts, home economics and textiles. 

The Emily McPherson Collection is housed as part of the Special Collection within the Swanston Library and at RMIT University Archives. There are additional items held at Public Record Office Victoria (PROV).

Explore information about the records in the RMIT Special Collection via Emily McPherson Collection in LibrarySearch. To access hardcopy records and objects held at RMIT University Archives, Contact Archives directly. 

Digitised images from the Emily McPherson Collection

View the Emily McPherson collection of digitised items. This collection contains books, magazines, photographs, objects, recipe cards and speeches from the Emily McPherson College of Domestic Economy dating from 1927 to 1979. 

Note: You'll be required to log into LibrarySearch to access the digital items.