All guides: Finance, Financial Services and Accounting: Key Resources

Key Resources

Databases are collections of resources, primarily journal articles, but they can also contain conference papers, videos, ebooks, reports, images and more. Many databases specialise in a specific subject area, so you'll know when you're searching the database you will find material relevant to your studies.

ABI/INFORM Collection ( via ProQuest Central)
Features over 3,000 full-text journals, 25,000 Dissertations, 14,000 SSRN working papers, key newspapers such as The Wall Street Journal and The Financial Times, as well as country-and industry-focused reports and data. Its international coverage gives a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world
Business Collection (Informit)
Covers all broad business fields, including: accounting, career development, commercial law, commodities, corporate governance, e-business, economics, employment, human resources, labour, management, marketing, occupational health, taxation, and unions. The collection provides access to full content from a range of journals, monographs and books, and reference materials published by a myriad of small Australasian academic and professional associations, interest groups and research centres.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO)
Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the ultimate collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included. Full text articles and eBooks are on international business, including China and other Asian counties. Other resource includes company reports, economic forecast, product reviews, marketing and management case studies
DatAnalysis Premium
Provides a comprehensive current and historical picture of ASX listed and delisted companies. Also includes extensive financials and calculations. Users can access financial ratios, as well as detailed breakdowns of company revenue and expenses. Extensive current and historical corporate data include ASX announcements, floats, dividend history, and listing rule waivers.
Emerald Insight
A powerful business research tool that provides critical information when it is most needed. Users have instant access to over 35,000 full text articles from Emerald's international management portfolio, complete with full text archives back to 1994. Subject coverage spans a spectrum of management disciplines including: strategy; leadership; library and information management; marketing and human resource management; plus a substantial number of engineering, applied science and technology titles
Factiva
Factiva is the major source for Australian newspapers - both the Fairfax and Murdoch press, and has exclusive rights to the Australian Financial Review & the Business Review Weekly. It is a Dow Jones & Reuters Company product and offers content from over 9,000 sources of information. Access limited to 5 concurrent users.

ACCOUNT
Institute of Chartered Accountants in Australia.; Informit Online.; RMIT Publishing
Australian Stock Exchange (ASX)
Provides current and historical market information for all listed companies
Checkpoint
Checkpoint transforms traditional online research methods into a workflow information solution for tax and accounting professionals. Checkpoint has been designed and developed locally to meet the current needs of Australia's tax and accounting professionals. Checkpoint's workflow features, coupled with its clear layout, easy searching, relevant linking and access to authoritative content all contribute to improved productivity and reduced risk."--Publisher's website.
ProQuest Accounting, tax, & banking collection
Bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts for articles from periodicals published worldwide, (though mainly U.S. titles.), on financial management, accounting and taxation. Includes full text for selected titles.
Sage Business cases
SAGE Business Cases is our robust digital collection of business cases tailored to library needs. SAGE includes interdisciplinary cases on subjects such as entrepreneurship, accounting, healthcare management, leadership, social enterprise, and more. "--Publisher's Web site.
Victorian audit library information database (VALISE).
Victorian Audit Library Information Service Database (VALISE), produced by the Victorian Auditor-General's Office, is a bibliographic database that indexes articles on auditing and related business topics from 1988 onwards. Coverage includes Victorian material, but extends to all Australian states, as well as some British, American, Canadian and New Zealand material. Subject coverage includes; auditing, internal auditing, public finance and public administration; selected articles on business, politics and economic conditions as they relate to public affairs; computing, management and training information with a government bias; and a small number of Victorian government media releases.

Academic study skills

Assignments: get started

Assignments: get started is your guide to finding, evaluating and referencing sources of information.

Learning lab

Access the Learning lab to develop skills in writing, critical thinking, assessment tasks and much more.

A lightbulb over a laptop, with a lightning bolt pointing to the brain inside a head.

Library subject guides

Finance, Financial Services and Accounting

Need help? Ask the Library!

Key Resources

Academic study skills