All guides: Economics: Key resources

Recommended databases

Databases are online collections of resources, primarily scholarly journal articles. They can also contain conference papers, e-books, reports, standards, images, videos and more. Many databases specialise in a specific subject area, so when you are searching in a database you will find material relevant to your studies.

Specialist

GIBLIN: Giblin Working Papers Database (Informit Archive)
This bibliographic database indexes and abstracts working papers on economics and economics-related topics. Source documents are working papers, also known as research papers or discussion papers. Most papers emanate from major universities and research institutes in Australia, Europe (including the UK) and the USA.
RePEc/IDEAS
IDEAS is a service providing information about working papers and published research to the economics profession.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO)
Provides bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the most-cited authors in the database.
Business Collection (Informit)
Covers all broad business fields, including: accounting, career development, commercial law, commodities, corporate governance, e-business, economics, employment, human resources, labour, management, marketing, occupational health, taxation, and unions. The collection provides access to full content from a range of journals, monographs and books, and reference materials published by a myriad of small Australasian academic and professional associations, interest groups and research centres.
OECD iLibrary
OECD iLibrary is an online collection of resources from the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD). It includes books, papers and statistics that contain recommendations, analysis and data that OECD provides to help inform policy makers, researchers and analysts so they can implement the best possible solutions to issues in their countries.

Multidisciplinary

ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest)
Database covering business, management, economics and a wide range of related fields. Contains thousands of full-text journals; dissertations/theses; working papers; key business and economics newspapers such as the 'Economist', 'Wall Street Journal' and 'Financial Times'; country and industry reports; and downloadable data. Great international coverage provides an overall picture of companies and business trends around the world.
more...less...
Via ProQuest Central
Social Science Premium Collection‎ (ProQuest)
Contains indexed and full-text materials in the area of social science, specifically in politics, sociology, education, linguistics and criminal justice. Economics is covered.
APA-FT: Australian Public Affairs Full Text (Informit)
A multidisciplinary database containing journal articles on Australia's political, economic, social and cultural affairs. Also includes Australian humanities, social sciences and law. Economics in an Australian context is covered.
Emerald Insight
Includes worldwide research material in the areas of business, society, public policy and education. Contains e-books, case studies, teaching cases and journals. Subject coverage spans a spectrum of disciplines, which also includes economics.
Wiley Online Library
The world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary database containing over 6 million articles from 1500 journals, over 20,000 online books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases. Subject coverage includes life, health and physical sciences; social science; and the humanities. Economics is covered.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
A multidisciplinary, full text database of peer-reviewed scholarly literature in the areas of physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities. Economics, econometrics and finance is included.
Scopus (Elsevier)
A comprehensive, peer-reviewed and multidisciplinary database containing scientific, medical, technical and social science scholarly literature, including journals on economics, econometrics and finance. Bibliographic or indexing-only database, so access the full-text via the FindIt button.
Web of Science (Clarivate Analytics)
A thorough, peer-reviewed and multidisciplinary database containing over 21,000 prestigious and high-impact scholarly research journals in the world. Subject coverage spans over 250 science, social sciences and humanities disciplines. Bibliographic or indexing-only database, so access the full-text via the FindIt button. Economics is covered.

Quick Links

Further Support

Study Support

You can get drop-in help from academic skills advisors and librarians in the Study Support Hubs, both on-campus and online, or submit a question or assignment for feedback.

Connect with a peer mentor to help you with your course. Discover a range of tools to support your study.

Vietnam Library Study Support

Check out the Library study support resources and contacts for Vietnam students.

Your feedback and suggestions

Send us your feedback about this guide.

Library subject guides

Economics

Need help? Ask the Library!