All guides: English as an Additional Language: Key resources

Find resources for English as an additional language

Login and search LibrarySearch using keywords that describe your topic, then refine your results to books and chapters.

An example search:

"IELTS" AND "practice test"

Searching for books in Library search word suggestions:

Try the advanced search options for combining keywords and refining your search to find the most relevant results.

For EAL teachers, these are generally the best resources for research in education so begin your search for information here!

ERIC (ProQuest)
This database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to education-related literature. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
DELTAA: Database on English Language Teaching for Adults in Australasia (Informit Archive)
DELTAA is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on English second language learning and teaching in Australasia.
MAIS: Multicultural Australia and Immigration Studies (Informit)
Multicultural Australia and Immigration Studies (MAIS), is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts a wide range of media on all aspects of Australian immigration and multicultural issues.

RMIT's Learning Lab has information to help you develop your study skills, assignment writing, referencing and more.

Academic word list tool
570 of the most important words that will help you to be successful in your studies

Assignments: get started

Assignments: get started is your guide to finding, evaluating and referencing sources of information.

Learning lab

Access the Learning lab to develop skills in writing, critical thinking, assessment tasks and much more.