Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library services for RMIT alumni

Use this guide to find out about library benefits and services for the RMIT alumni community; includes how to gain free access to selected online databases, print collections and audiovisual collections.

Video

The following resources are available to RMIT alumni:

Resource Description

Henry Stewart Talks – Business and Management Collection

The Henry Stewart Talks Business & Management Collection contains over 1,000 specially prepared, animated, online, video lectures and case studies by experts from commerce, industry, the professions and academia for universities, business schools, colleges and continuing professional development. There are over 850 contributing editors, speakers and case study presenters and more than 30,000 informative slides.

Topics include:

  • marketing
  • management
  • finance
  • accounting
  • strategy.

 

The following are freely available useful resources.
Click on one of the resource titles below for access.
Resource Description

Australian Screen

Australian Screen is operated by the National Film and Sound Archive, the national audiovisual archive, collecting, preserving and sharing the nation’s moving image and recorded sound heritage. It contains information about and excerpts from a wide selection of Australian feature films, documentaries, television programs, newsreels, short films, animations, and home-movies produced over the last 100 years..

Audio

The following are freely available useful resources.
Click on one of the resource titles below for access.
Resource Description

ccMixter

A community of sharing and open music which includes remixes, samples and pells. Creative Commons allows free non-commercial use of our music - check license terms before use.

freesound

Freesound is a collaborative database of audio snippets, samples, recordings and bleeps. Sounds are released under Creative Commons licenses that allow their reuse

Musopen

Recordings, sheet music, and textbooks to the public for free, without copyright restrictions.

National Jukebox

Historical recordings from the Library of Congress. New recordings are added to the Jukebox periodically. Digitisation of additional record labels, including Columbia and OKeh, along with selected master recordings from the Library of Congress Universal Music Group Collection are included in the collection.

YouTube Audio Library

YouTube Audio Library allows users access to free music and sound effects to use video creation. For more information on how use the YouTube Audio Library use the 'Find out more' link.

BBC Sound Effects

Over 16,000 BBC Sound effects available in WAV format. Check the RemArc Licence details for reuse.

Images

The following are freely available useful resourses.
Click on one of the resource titles below for access.
Resource Description

Flickr: The Commons

The key goal of The Commons is to share hidden treasures from the world's public photography archives.

Wikimedia Commons

Wikimedia Commons is a collection of over 52 million freely usable media files which are contributed to from users all around the world.

New York Public Library Digital Collections

The New York Public Library's Digital Collections is a living database. New materials are added daily, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video and more.

The British Library (Flikr)

The British Library's collections on Flickr Commons offer access to millions of public domain images. They encourage users to explore and re-use images covering a wide variety of subjects.

National Portrait Gallery (UK)

A wide collection of portraits searchable by subject, themes, places and anniversaries.

The Walters Art Museum

Thousands of artworks, spanning centuries, from around the world. Artwork information, as well as conservation and exhibition histories,  is included.

Web Gallery of Art

The Web Gallery of Art is a searchable database of European fine arts and architecture (3rd-19th centuries), containing over 46,000 reproductions. Artist biographies, commentaries, guided tours, period music, catalogue, free postcard and mobile services are provided.

Asian Historical Architecture

Asian Historical Architecture is a photographic survey of Asia's architectural heritage. Over 31,000 photos covering over 1,200 sites in twenty-three countries are included. with background information and virtual tours. This website is a collection of photos, background and virtual tours supplied by many contributors.