All guides: Building, Construction and Project Management: Websites

Building and construction resources

Surveying [YouTube video]
Eleven-part series from Buildsum on surveying.
Estimating [YouTube video]
Four-part series from Buildsum on estimating.
The six differences between estimating and ‘guestimating’ - Master Builders Association of Victoria
An estimator's job is to calculate how much a building project is going to cost and how much material and labor is involved. Your numeracy skills must be excellent as well as your ability to organise sub-contractors' quotes etc. Here is an article discussing the difference between estimating and "guestimating".

Wood species from WoodSolutions
Provides details about the timber species and materials available for building in Australia. Includes appearance, common applications, durability, strength, workability termite-resistance and fire-resistance.
Timber applications from WoodSolutions
"Whether in structural roles or used for aesthetic appeal in interior finishes, there is much to discover about the versatility and variety of timber in the built environment." -- WoodSolutions website. You will need to create a username and login, which is free of charge, in order to view the guides on the WoodSolutions website.
The wood database
Excellent website contains a "Wood finder" for identification of wood, mechanical properties of wood, working with wood and general information.

Roofing [YouTube video]
Variety of videos from Buildsum on building roofs.
Doors and windows [YouTube video]
Eight-part series from Buildsum on installing doors.

Woodworking masterclass series [YouTube video]
Professional woodworker Steve Hay guides viewers along the path of fine Woodworking. The primary focus is on hand tool usage and traditional woodworking techniques.
The wood database
Excellent website contains a "Wood finder" for identification of wood, mechanical properties of wood, working with wood and general information.
Carpentry Australia
Australian trade based organisation dedicated to carpentry and carpenters.
Forest & Wood Products Australia
Forest & Wood Products Australia (FWPA), a not-for-profit company, is the forestry and wood industry’s service provider.
Wood Solutions
You will need to create a user registration (free of charge) to gain access to the many publications on this website. Contents include: wood products; structural; standards, codes, and compliance; exterior timber and decking; interior wood finishes; wood species; preservation; environment, sustainability and recycling.

Measurement
Learn about units of measure and the use of rulers and tape measures in the building trade.
Calculations
Learn about types of calculating quantities, sizes and costs.
Volume
This activity covers calculating volume for three dimensional shapes in the building trade.
Angles
This learning activity covers recognition and use of angles to mark out buildings and materials.
Ratio
Learn about the use of ratio and scale in the building industry.

Evaluate your sources using the C.R.A.A.P test to find reliable, quality information.

CURRENCY
When was it created?

RELEVANCE
Is it on my topic?

AUTHORITY
Is it by an expert?

ACCURACY
Is it correct and reliable?

PURPOSE
Why was it created?