Skip to Main Content

Building, Construction and Project Management

Find information on building, construction, project management, building codes and standards.

Building codes

National Construction Code
The National Construction Code (NCC) sets the necessary minimum design, construction and performance requirements for the safety, health, amenity, accessibility and sustainability of new buildings and work in existing buildings, and other structures, within Australia. The NNC was developed and is maintained by the Australian Buildings Code Board (ABCB).

The NNC code is in three volumes:

Volumes One and Two: Building Code of Australia (BCA) Volume One covers Class 2 to 9 buildings. Volume Two covers Class 1 and Class 10 buildings (houses, sheds, carports, etc.).
Volume Three: Plumbing Code of Australia (PCA) This volume covers plumbing and drainage associated with all classes of buildings.

First-time users need to register for free (create a personal account) to access, download and print NNC online content. See: https://ncc.abcb.gov.au/user/register

Australian standards

Australian Standards Online (Intertek Inform)
Full-text access to most Australian standards, current and superseded, including those for building and construction. Also includes a variety of international equivalents to Australian standards, e.g. ISO, IEC, BS, etc.

Note:

Due to licensing restrictions, only 20 RMIT users may access Australian Standards Online (Intertek Inform) at a time. If you experience trouble accessing the database, please try again later.
Full text standards documents can be viewed online. Adobe Reader or PDF Exchange are required to open downloaded standards.

Handbooks and manuals

AIRAH Design Application Manuals
Technical publications for the Australian HVAC&R industry, aligned to industry standards and best practice
ASHRAE Handbooks
ASHRAE (American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers) technical standards and guidelines.