ACM Digital Library | Download for iOS | Download for Android

Comprehensive full-text collection of the Association for Computing Machinery's (ACM) publications in computing and IT. Includes journals, conference proceedings, magazines, newsletters, multimedia titles and bibliographic records. Price: free Device: iPhone, iPad, iPod touch and Android.

Instructions for RMIT users:

1. Sign-in or Sign-up to the ACM DL with your ACM Web Account.
2. Install the ACM DL app onto your mobile device (see iOS or Android links above).
3. Sign in to the ACM DL app on your mobile device with your ACM Web Account.
4. Done. You now have access to the ACM DL on your mobile device.

  Field Guide to Victorian Fauna | Download for iOS | Download for Android

Provides detailed descriptions and images of 950 animal species from urban, bush and coastal environments; animal distribution maps; and information on the status of endangered species. Field guides from other Australian states are found here. Price: free Device: iPhone, iPad, iPod touch and Android.

  Environmental Weeds of Australia | Download for iOS | Download for Android

Covers 1020 plant species that are either significant or emerging environmental weeds in Australia. Offers full identification key, weed fact sheets and over 10,000 images. Price: $10.99 Device: iPhone, iPad, iPod touch and Android.

  WolframAlpha | Download for iOS | Download for Android

Computational knowledge engine that answers factual queries directly by computing the answer from externally sourced curated data. Price: $2.99 Device: iPhone, iPad, iPod touch and Android.

Additional Course Assistant Apps are also available on a range of topics (e.g. Calculus, Algebra, Statistics, Physics, etc.): http://products.wolframalpha.com/courseassistants/.

Periodic Table from Royal Society of Chemistry | Download for iOS | Download for Android

Access the periodic table in an engaging manner. This fact and image-rich app contains information on the natural state of elements and how they're used in real life, an interactive slider that shows you how elements are altered with temperature changes, historical background on the discovery of elements, and podcasts and videos. Price: Free Device: iPhone, iPad, iPod touch and Android.

  Australian CliMate | Download for iOS

Under the auspices of the University of Southern Queensland, this app consists of a suite of climate analysis tools that examine or interrogate long term climate records (over the last 60 years) around rainfall, temperature, radiation, and derived variables such as heat sums, soil water, soil nitrate, yield potential, drought, seasonal forecasts and time trend. Record data is sourced from the Bureau of Meteorology and the Queensland Government’s 'Silo' database. Price: Free Device: iPhone, iPad and iPod touch.

Note: At present, 'Australian CliMate' has no Android presence. It is under development and is due for release in early 2018.

  SoilMapp | Download for iPad

CSIRO's app allows farmers and others find out the likely soil types on their property. Find out about soil, how it holds water, its clay content, acidity and other factors essential for agriculture and land management. Price: Free Device: iPad.

Note: At present, 'SoilMapp' has no Android presence.

  Nutrition DATA PRO | Download for Android

Contains food descriptions, nutrients, weights and measures data. Also includes Dietary Reference Intakes (DRIs) for various groups. Based on the US Department of Agriculture (USDA), Release 28 (SR28). The USDA National Nutrient Database for Standard Reference (SR) is the main source of food composition data in the US. Price: $2.54 (free version available here - has limitations) Device: Android.

Note: At present, 'Nutrition DATA PRO' has no iOS presence.