All guides: Languages: Translating and Interpreting: Journals and magazines

Find peer-reviewed journal articles

Journals, newspapers, industry and trade magazines provide current research and news articles.

Search collections of journals using the databases listed on the key resources page.

Login and search LibrarySearch using keywords that describe your topic, then refine your results to Show only: Peer-reviewed Journals and Resources: Articles.

Combine your keywords with AND to find all search terms.
Use OR to find any words or synonyms.
Find “exact phrases” with quotation marks.
Add an asterisk* to part of a word to find different endings and plurals.

An example search:

identity (linguistic* OR language) Chinese

Academic journals

Suggested peer-reviewed journals available at RMIT University Library.

Languages:

International journal of bilingual education and bilingualism
Multidisciplinary journal covering on all aspects of bilingualism and bilingual education around the world.
International journal of multilingualism
Aims to foster, present, and spread research focused on psycholinguistic, sociolinguistic and educational aspects of multilingual acquisition and multilingualism.
Language learning
Journal on research in language studies. Covers a broad spectrum of theoretical issues in language learning including foreign language acquisition, bilingualism, and language education.
Modern language journal
International journal covering “research and discussion about the learning and teaching of foreign and second languages.” Includes articles in non-English languages.

Translating and interpreting:

International journal of English language & translation studies
Open-access journal aims to promote English language teaching, literature, linguistics and translation studies as well as to promote advanced research and best practices in these fields.
The international journal of translation and interpreting research
Open-access international journal highlighting research applied to improve T&I training and practice.
The interpreter and translator trainer
International journal covers issues related to the education and training of professional translators and interpreters.

Linguistics and sociolinguistics:

Applied linguistics
Covers relationship between theoretical and practical aspects of language education.
Australian journal of linguistics
Official journal of the Australian Linguistic Society and the premier international journal on language in Australia and the region. Covers research on Australian Indigenous languages, Australian Englishes, community languages in Australia, language in Australian society, and languages of the Australian-Pacific region.
The Canadian journal of applied linguistics
Includes empirical research, theoretical articles, essays, and original literature reviews.
Computational linguistics
Covers the design and analysis of natural language processing systems. Encompasses research in language, linguistics, and the psychology of language processing and performance.
International journal of applied linguistics
Covers all areas of applied linguistics represented by the various commissions of AILA (L'Association Internationale de Linguistique Appliquee), and encourages the development of new fields of applied language study.
Journal of East Asian linguistics
Examines original research papers and review articles on theoretical work in East Asian language syntax, semantics, phonology, and morphology. Emphasis on Chinese, Korean, and Japanese. Includes relevant contributions from cognate disciplines and comparative studies.
Journal of language, identity, and education
Interdisciplinary research from around the world, reflecting diverse theoretical and methodological frameworks and topical areas.
Journal of language and social psychology
Explores the social dimensions of language and the linguistic implications of social life.
Journal of pragmatics
Directed to linguists, sociologists, psychologists, anthropologists and artificial intelligence professionals. Covers all aspects of pragmatic studies of language, including applications in the information sciences, artificial intelligence, person-machine interaction, and psychiatry.
Journal of sociolinguistics
Publishes articles about language in all its dimensions, macro and micro, as formal features or abstract discourses, as situated talk or written text.
Journal of Vietnamese studies
Publishes original social science and humanities research about Vietnamese history, politics, culture, and society.
Language and education
Provides a forum for the discussion of recent topics and issues in the language disciplines which have an immediate bearing upon thought and practice in education.
Language and linguistics compass
Surveys of current research from across the entire discipline. Including sociolinguistics, education, and languages of the world.
Language documentation and conservation
Open access journal publishes on all topics related to language documentation and conservation.
Language in society
Covers sociolinguistics (i.e., speech and language as aspects of social life).
Language variation and change
Studies linguistic variations, with emphasis on systematic and inherent variation in synchronic and diachronic linguistics.
World Englishes
Covers the study of global varieties of English in their distinctive cultural and sociolinguistic contexts.

Is it a peer reviewed journal?

Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory
A comprehensive source of information about journals and magazines. Check if a journal is peer reviewed, or find peer reviewed journals in your subject area.