All guides: Community Services, Social Work and Youth Work: Key resources

Databases

Databases are collections of resources such as journal articles, ebooks, videos, reports and more; many databases specialise in a specific subject area. You will find relevant research and academic sources for community services, social work and youth work in the databases below.

Social Science Premium Collection(ProQuest)
Australian and international literature in social sciences, including social work, public policy, sociology, anthropology, criminology, politics and education.
Informit
Australian content including journal articles and videos covering news and documentaries. Topics include: family and society studies, health, Indigenous studies, law, criminology, human rights, cultural studies and education.
JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive
Includes scholarly content across the social sciences. Covers: social work, sociology, cultural studies, gender studies, feminist studies, psychology, education, conflict studies.
Taylor & Francis Online
International scholarly content including: social and behavioural sciences, youth work, social research, communication, criminal justice and human rights.
Oxford Academic
Quality research published by Oxford University Press. Topics include social work research, criminology, migration studies, human rights practices and gerontology.
PsycINFO (ProQuest)
Index of scholarly articles in behavioural sciences and mental health. Includes applied psychology, social psychology. communication systems, developmental psychology, educational psychology, personality, psychological and physical disorders, physiological psychology and neuroscience.
AIATSIS: Indigenous Studies Bibliography (Informit)
Indexes published and unpublished material on Australian Indigenous studies. Compiled at the Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies Library. Warning: Some records may contain references to deceased people, sacred or secret material, inappropriate terminology or offensive language.
AGIS-ATSIS: Attorney General's Information Service-Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander subset (Informit)
Indexes and abstracts articles from Australian, New Zealand, Pacific and selected international law journals on aspects of the law that relate to the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples such as customary law, Aboriginal deaths in custody, social policy and welfare. Warning: Some records may contain references to deceased people, sacred or secret material, inappropriate terminology or offensive language.
DRUG: Drug Database (Informit)
Indexes Australian and international articles on the psychosocial aspects of substance abuse, from published and unpublished material. Covers political, social, economic, psychological and legal aspects of prevention and treatment of alcohol and other drug use. Legal and illegal drugs are included.

Alexander Street Social Work Online
Contains recently published social work textbooks and video documentaries and lectures. Content is structured around twelve of the most important topics in social work.
Disability busters.
Contains online videos about, and created by, people with disability.

Open Educational Resources

Open Educational Resources are freely accessible and openly licensed learning materials external to RMIT Library that you can use in your studies.

Social Science Research Network (SSRN)
Research platform used to share early-stage research, evolve ideas, measure results, and connect scholars around the world who specialise in the field of social sciences. Search here to find a variety of content types beyond the traditional research article, including grey literature, book reviews, multimedia files, and datasets.
Analysis & Policy Observatory (APO)
Digital repository with a unique collection of grey literature on public policy issues from Australia, New Zealand and beyond. Content on social issues has been sourced from a wide range of organisations involved in policy such as government, agencies, regulators, research institutes, non-for-profits and think tanks.
Campbell Collaboration
International research network that produces systematic reviews of the effects of social interventions in crime & justice, education, international development, and social welfare.

Academic study skills

Assignments: get started

Assignments: get started is your guide to finding, evaluating and referencing sources of information.

Learning lab

Access the Learning lab to develop skills in writing, critical thinking, assessment tasks and much more.

A lightbulb over a laptop, with a lightning bolt pointing to the brain inside a head.

Library subject guides

Community Services, Social Work and Youth Work

Need help? Ask the Library!

Databases

Open Educational Resources

Academic study skills