All guides: Psychology: Key Resources

Key databases

Databases are collections of resources, primarily journal articles, but they can also contain conference papers, videos, ebooks, reports, images and more. Many databases specialise in a specific subject area, so you'll know when you're searching the database you will find material relevant to your studies.

PsycARTICLES (ProQuest)
Provides full text access, citations and abstracts to articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrefe & Huber. Coverage includes general psychology and research in areas including, animal behaviour, cognition, memory, neuroscience, perception, physiological psychology, psycholinguistics, psychometrics, social and personality psychology.
PsycINFO (ProQuest)
Published by the American Psychological Associations this is the largest and most comprehensive index of scholarly articles in behavioural sciences and mental health. Subject coverage includes applied psychology, communication systems, developmental psychology, educational psychology, experimental human and animal psychology, personality, psychological and physical disorders, physiological psychology and neuroscience, psychometrics and statistics, social psychology and sports psychology.
Psychology Database (ProQuest )
This database provides abstracts and indexing from leading psychology and psychosomatic publications, with many available in full text. Charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to psychological research are also available. Subject coverage includes behavioural, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental and social psychology and personality, neurology, psychobiology, psychometrics and related disciplines.

PsychiatryOnline.
This website features the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, fifth edition (DSM-5) and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of a collection of psychiatric references. It also includes books, journals, medication information handouts for patients, clinical and research news, self-assessment tools, and previous editions of the DSM.

EMBASE (Elsevier)
A major biomedical and pharmaceutical database that indexes international journals covering drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation.
Scopus (Elsevier)
Scopus is a comprehensive scientific, medical, technical and social science database which contains an extensive range of content in the field of psychology.

Counseling and psychotherapy transcripts: Volume I & 2
This database contains authentic counselling and psychotherapy transcripts. These are combined with associated reference works and published narratives, memoirs, and client stories which provided the reader with a unique insight into the experience of those undergoing therapy and suffering from mental illness, as well as illustrating a range of therapeutic techniques and practices.

Google Scholar
Access Google Scholar via the library homepage link and log in using your student login credentials. In addition to a range of scholarly resources on the internet, this will also allow you to access results from within the RMIT online collections while searching via the Google Scholar interface which you may find easier.

JoVE: Journal of Visualized Experiments
JoVE is a peer-reviewed scientific video journal covering biological, medical, chemical and physical research. RMIT has access to JoVE Education Unlimited, which includes:
Psychology
Clinical skills
18 topics in the JoVE Core series

You will find more databases on Psychology here. Review the details of each database before making your selection and if prompted please logon using your RMIT credentials. Or log in and search across a range of resources via LibrarySearch.

Academic study skills

Assignments: get started

Assignments: get started is your guide to finding, evaluating and referencing sources of information.

Learning lab

Access the Learning lab to develop skills in writing, critical thinking, assessment tasks and much more.

Library subject guides

Psychology

Need help? Ask the Library!

Key databases

Academic study skills