All guides: Furniture Design and Product Design: Websites

Design websites

Websites can be a great source of inspiration, current practice, news and industry resources.

Core77
With a focus on industrial design Core77 publishes articles, discussion forums, hosts portfolios and includes a database of design firms, schools, vendors and services.
Designboom
Publishing the latest news and key issues in the fields of architecture, design, technology and art. Publishing articles, interviews, studio visits, documentation of new products, reviews of exhibitions and books, and historical surveys.
Design Curial
Covers the latest news, opinion and in-depth features on architecture, design, interiors and art. Find articles on international projects, niche products and up-to-date news on the latest innovations across architecture, design and art.
Design InSite
Design inSite is a designer's guide to manufacturing. It details manufacturing processes and materials are described as well as the products where they are used.
Domus web
Online content for Domus magazine, focusing on ideas regarding style in homemaking and furnishing with an international perspective.
InHabit
Provides coverage of environmental news and the latest in sustainable design. Devoted to the future of design, innovative technology and any architectural projects or concepts that emphasise energy efficiency, sustainability and connection to the surrounding environment.
Leibal
Started in 2010 as a sourcebook. Since then, the blog has evolved into a leading authority on design and is focused on the most recent works of architecture, interiors, furniture, and products.
MacGuffin
MacGuffin is a platform for design researchers interested in the inspiring, personal, unexpected, highly familiar, or disregarded things. Published as a magazine and includes articles online.
The Design Release
A design platform curating a comprehensive selection of design related events and works.

Australian design

RMIT Design Archives
The RMIT Design Archives includes collections in many areas of Victorian design, representing historical and contemporary practices in architecture, automotive, ceramics, design education, fashion and textile design, graphic design, illustration, industrial design, interior design and landscape architecture.
Design History Australia Research Network (DHARN)
Comprises original research, links to existing research and resources, and primary material related to Australian design and culture.
National Gallery of Victoria (NGV) design collection
The Contemporary Design and Architecture collection provides online access to an archive of product design to the creation of environments, experiences and services.
Good Design Australia
Responsible for the Australian Good Design Awards, Good Design Australia showcases excellence in design and design-led innovation.

Design industry associations

Design Institute of Australia
Australia’s peak industry body for professional design, the DIA represents Australian design and designers both domestically and internationally.
Australian Design Alliance (AdA)
The Australian Design Alliance [AdA] is an alliance between the peak professional organisations representing Designers across all aspects of Australia’s design industry.
World Design Organization (WDO)
An international non-governmental organization that promotes the profession of industrial design and its ability to generate better products, systems, services, and experiences; better business and industry; and ultimately a better environment and society.

Design museums

Evaluating information sources

The CRAAP test

Evaluate your sources using the CRAAP test to find reliable, quality information.

• Currency: when was it created?
• Relevance: is it on my topic?
• Authority: is it by an expert?
• Accuracy: is it correct?
• Purpose: why was it created?

The SIFT method

Evaluate web and social media sources in 4 moves using the SIFT method.

• Stop - think before using a source.
• Investigate where it is from.
• Find alternative sources.
• Trace claims, quotes and media.

Fact checking

Fact checking is an important skill. Find out how to assess and verify your sources with RMIT's Fact checking guide.

• Assess websites and social media.
• Lean how to spot fake news.
• Develop your media literacy skills.

Library subject guides

Furniture Design and Product Design

Design websites

Australian design

Design industry associations

Design museums

Evaluating information sources