All guides: Physiotherapy: Key resources

Recommended databases for Physiotherapy

Find resources on Physiotherapy, including treatment outcomes, rehabilitation, Exercise therapy, Sports medicine, therapeutics, anatomy, orthopaedics.

Search using the main keywords that describe your topic. For example: clinical effectiveness and rehabilitation

Try the advanced search options for combining keywords and refining your search to find the most relevant results.

AMED: Allied and Complementary Medicine Database (EBSCO)
AMED, compiled by The British Library, indexes articles from about 600 mainly European journals in the fields of complementary and alternative medicine, such as chiropractic, osteopathy, physiotherapy, acupuncture, occupational therapy, rehabilitation, podiatry, palliative care and speech and language therapy.
CINAHL with Full Text (EBSCO)
Subject coverage includes nursing, biomedical,, health sciences, alternative/ complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. Physiotherapy is covered.
Format types include standards of practice, audiovisuals, legal cases, clinical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials.
Cochrane Library
A medical and healthcare collection of databases providing high quality, independent evidence-based information to inform healthcare decision-making.
Includes three databases: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) and Cochrane Clinical Answers.
Aimed at clinicians providing healthcare and at those responsible for research, teaching, funding and administration at all levels of healthcare, such as researchers and policy-makers. Physiotherapy is covered.
EMBASE (Elsevier)
The Excerpta Medica database (EMBASE), is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database which indexes journals in many fields of biomedical research including: drug research, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation. Coverage from 1947 to present, updated weekly.
PEDro the Physiotherapy evidence database
Provides rapid access to bibliographic details and abstracts of randomised controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
PubMed
Includes evidence-based literature on medical, biomedical science and health topics including physiotherapy from the MEDLINE database, life sciences journals and e-books. Includes systematic reviews, Reviews, Clinical trials. Also includes new references not yet indexed in MEDLINE.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text (EBSCO)
The most comprehensive, bibliographic database covering sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sport administration, officiating, sport law & legislation, college & university sport, disabled persons, sports facility design & management, intramural & school sport, doping, health, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention, rehabilitation, physical therapy, nutrition, exercise physiology, physiotherapy, allied health, occupational health and therapy.

Multidisciplinary

Scopus (Elsevier)
A comprehensive, peer-reviewed and multidisciplinary database containing scientific, medical, technical and social science scholarly literature, including content on chiropractic and manipulative movement therapies. Bibliographic or indexing-only database, so access the full-text via the FindIt button.
Science Direct (Elsevier)
A multidisciplinary, full-text database of peer-reviewed scholarly literature in the areas of physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
Web of Science
A thorough, peer-reviewed and multidisciplinary database containing over 21,000 prestigious and high-impact scholarly research journals in the world. Subject coverage spans over 250 science, social sciences and humanities disciplines. Bibliographic or indexing-only database, so access the full-text via the FindIt button.

Anatomy Physiology & Physical Examination databases

Primal Pictures (anatomy.tv)
Derived from real human data, this image databases provides over 5,000 3D anatomical structures, clinical slides, dissections, animations, videos and more. Three-dimensional animations illustrate function, biomechanics, and surgical procedures. Clinical videos and text by leading specialists supplement animations and models.
An@tomedia
‘Construct’ the body by studying regions and systems. 'Deconstruct' the body through dissection and imaging. Each module has interactive text, image overlays and clinical questions.
Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination
Clinical skills videos featuring head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques. Based on Bates’ Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking, this online guide maintains the evidence-based origins of the text and provides careful attention to clinical accuracy, and to the range of patient types profiled in the series.
JoVE: Journal of Visualized Experiments
A peer-reviewed journal that has video demonstrations of scientific methods, experiments and concepts in a wide range of scientific fields. Covers clinical skills amongst other topics.

Indigenous Information

In addition CINAHL, PubMed and other Key subscription databases, you will find relevant sources for indigenous information at the following sites: 

Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNet
Kurongkurl Katitjin, the ECU Centre for Indigenous Australian Education and Research. Provides research and information to those working in the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health sector.
Australian Institute of Health and Welfare (AIHW): Indigenous Australians
The AIHW is an independent statutory Australian Government agency producing authoritative information and statistics to inform and support policy and service delivery decisions.
The Lowitja Institute: Lit.search
Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health literature on the PubMed database.
Find Lowitja Publishing's own published materials including reports, journal articles, policy briefs and other resources produced from Lowitja   Institute funded research projects. 
Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS)
Health, wellbeing, population, education, housing and other factors.
ATSIhealth: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Bibliography (Informit)
Published and unpublished material on Australian Indigenous health.
Informit Health Collection
Australasian health information including research articles, reports and case studies for those in therapeutic, diagnostic and preventative health roles.
Rural and remote health database (RURAL)
Australian content: Indigenous peoples' health, rural and remote area nursing, health care, aged care, men’s health.

Academic study skills

Assignments: get started

Assignments: get started is your guide to finding, evaluating and referencing sources of information.

Learning lab

Access the Learning lab to develop skills in writing, critical thinking, assessment tasks and much more.

A lightbulb over a laptop, with a lightning bolt pointing to the brain inside a head.

Library subject guides

Physiotherapy

Need help? Ask the Library!

Recommended databases for Physiotherapy

Multidisciplinary

Anatomy Physiology & Physical Examination databases

Indigenous Information

Academic study skills