All guides: Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Science: Drug information

Australian information about drugs

Therapeutic Guidelines
A leading source of accurate, independent and practical treatment advice and drug regimens for a wide range of clinical conditions. Clear, practical, succinct and up-to-date therapeutic information which is a distillation of current best evidence interpreted by experts. All topics are reviewed and updated on a regular basis. Used in all Australian medical and pharmacy schools, and extensively in public and private hospitals and in community medical and pharmacy practices.
MIMS Online
MIMS Online is the web version of MIMS - Australia's most comprehensive and authoritative pharmaceutical database. Prescription and non-prescription drugs. Includes content from the Australian don’t rush to crush handbook.
AMH: Australian Medicines Handbook
Guides to prescribing for specific patient groups (children, pregnant and breastfeeding women, elderly, palliative). Includes precautions, dosage, adverse effects and calculators.

Australian pharmaceutical formulary and handbook: a guide to best practice (2021)
The national formulary used by pharmacists in Australia, compiled by the Pharmaceutical Society of Australia. [hard copy located at Bundoora campus library]

The women's pregnancy and breastfeeding medicines guide
Summarises key findings and provides detailed, practical recommendations to support the clinical decision making process. Royal Women’s Hospital (Melbourne, Vic.).
Australian medicines handbook (AMH): children's dosing companion
It is the need to calculate doses based on a child’s age, weight or body surface area that is the main source of medication error in children. Getting the 4Rs – right indication, right dose, right form, right route – right all the time is the principal goal.
Australian medicines handbook (AMH): aged care companion
Information on the management of more than 70 conditions common in older people, including dementia and its behavioural symptoms, delirium, cardiovascular diseases, fall prevention, osteoporosis, COPD, insomnia, depression and wound management. It also contains general principles on the use of medicines in older people. [hard copy located at Bundoora campus library]

MedicinesComplete
MedicinesComplete is an online platform that publishes core titles that are free for RMIT users to access. You can either search across all five guides at the same time, or open one at a time and search or browse within it.

When referencing, cite the specific guide (not MedicinesComplete):

Herbal medicines
Evidence-based guide to the traditional uses and pharmacological properties of common herbal medicines, including information on herbal constituents, herbal medicine regulations, and commercial products.
Martindale: the complete drug reference
Information and background on conventional and complementary drugs and associations compounds, international proprietary names, and disease treatments.
Pharmaceutical excipients
A comprehensive guide to the uses, properties and safety of pharmaceutical excipients.
Stockley's drug interactions
A comprehensive and authoritative reference on drug interactions, providing concise, accurate, and clinically relevant evidence-based information, covering therapeutic drugs, proprietary medicines, herbal medicines, foodstuffs, drinks, pesticides, and drugs of abuse.
Stockley's herbal medicines interactions
Evidence-based information about the potential interactions of conventional drugs with herbal medicines, dietary supplements, and nutraceuticals.

Merck (MSD) Manual (Professional version)
Symptoms, diagnosis, and treatment in all fields of medicine. The manual is a product of collaboration between hundreds of medical experts worldwide, an independent editorial board of peer reviewers, and an editorial staff of physicians and professional medical writers. Continually updated with new content and new features.

Medline Plus - Drugs, Herbs & Supplements
Side effects, dosage, and special precautions of prescription drugs and over-the-counter medicines. Effectiveness, usual dosage, and drug interactions of dietary supplements and herbal remedies. MedlinePlus is a service of the US National Library of Medicine (NLM), the world's largest medical library, which is part of the US National Institutes of Health (NIH).

Merck Index Online
The most authoritative and reliable source of information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals. Includes original literature for mechanism of action per substance. Royal Society of Chemistry.
SciFinder
SciFinder provides access to Chemical Abstracts and Medline and includes journal articles and patents, substance data, chemical reactions, chemical regulatory data and chemical suppliers.