All guides: Nursing: Getting started

Essential Databases

Looking for journal articles for your assignment?

Databases will provide you with subject focused journal articles, as well as other sources of information.

To get the best quality journal articles from a Library Database, refine your search results by selecting options such as peer reviewed journals. Some databases may only offer options such as academic journals or scholarly journals.

Other options to refine you research results include - language, publication date, or article type. Depending on the database you may need to refine your search results to English language articles only, or articles published in the last five years, or reviews that have been written on your topic.

The following databases are key for your area of study.

CINAHL Complete with Full Text (EBSCO)
CINAHL Complete provides full-text access to more than 1,400 journals indexed in CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature). It contains predominantly English-language journal articles about nursing, allied health, biomedicine and healthcare.

ClinicalKey Student
ClinicalKey Student is an interactive education platform that supports students and faculty by enhancing the learning experience with tools tailored to develop and assess the medical knowledge of aspiring professionals.
ClinicalKey Student Nursing
ClinicalKey is a clinical search engine that supports clinical decisions by making it easier to find and apply relevant knowledge.

Emcare (Ovid)
Emcare is a nursing and allied health database offering a vast number of international journals, with coverage from 1995 onwards. Emcare includes evidence-based healthcare, comprehensive nursing coverage, health care economics, midwifery, social work, psychiatry and mental health, emergency medicine, biomedicine, dental hygiene, nutrition and dietetics, physical therapy and surgical technology.
Nursing & Allied Health Database (ProQuest)
Find complete, full-text information from leading nursing and related publications.

Find journal articles on 'nursing handover and communication' via CINAHL

Note: if the audio does not play, please press rewind

Transcript for 'nursing handover and communication' (DOC)

Other Databases

Mental Health

PsycINFO (ProQuest)
PsycINFO provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Unrivaled in its depth of psychological coverage and respected worldwide for its high quality, the database is enriched with literature from an array of disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work.
PsycARTICLES (ProQuest)
PsycARTICLES is a database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber.
Psychology Database (ProQuest )
Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.

Child and Family Health

Families & Society Collection (Informit)
Unique in its focus on Australian family matters, the Informit Families & Society Collection brings together the most authoritative research available to support researchers, policy makers and community organisations in their work.With the majority of content exclusively available online through Informit, this Collection provides an unrivalled source of informed and balanced perspectives on issues relating to families in an ever-changing society
Health collection (Informit)
Developed in response to the growing demand for Australasian health information, this Collection provides cover-to-cover full text access to core content from the region. Content includes research articles, reports and case studies of practical support to anyone studying or working in therapeutic, diagnostic and preventative health roles.
Family Health Database (ProQuest)
This database includes journals and magazines covering an enormous range of health subjects, from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry

Indigenous Health

ATSIhealth: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Bibliography (Informit)
The Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Bibliography (ATSIhealth),is a bibliographic database that indexes published and unpublished material on Australian Indigenous health.Source documents include theses, unpublished articles, government reports, conference papers, abstracts, book chapters, books, discussion and working papers, and statistical documents.
Health collection (Informit)
Developed in response to the growing demand for Australasian health information, this Collection provides cover-to-cover full text access to core content from the region. Content includes research articles, reports and case studies of practical support to anyone studying or working in therapeutic, diagnostic and preventative health roles.
Indigenous Collection (Informit)
With a broad range of international Indigenous research resources brought together, the Informit Indigenous Collection offers a variety of content on both historical and topical issues within Indigenous studies. Encompasses anthropology, community development, cultural studies, economics, education, health, history, human geography, law and land rights, literature, politics and policymaking, (post)colonial studies.
RURAL: Rural and Remote Health Database (Informit)
RURAL consists of the following seven databases: 1: Education for Rural Medical Practice. 2: Indigenous Peoples' Health. 3: Rural and Remote Area Nursing. 4: Rural and Remote Health Care. 5: Rural and Remote Area Aged Care. 6: Promoting Rural Mens Health. 7: Rural and Remote Area Health Care

Others

APA-FT: Australian Public Affairs - Full Text (Informit)
Australian Public Affairs - Full Text (APA-FT), is an indexing and full text database that provides Internet access to the scanned images of journal articles from published material on the social sciences and humanities.
Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination
Clinical skills videos featuring head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques. Based on Bates’ Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking, this online guide maintains the evidence-based origins of the text and provides careful attention to clinical accuracy, and to the range of patient types profiled in the series.
Cochrane Library
A publication designed to supply high quality evidence to inform people providing and receiving health care, and those responsible for research, teaching, funding and administration at all levels.
Health & Medical Collection (ProQuest)
ProQuest's Health and Medical Complete is designed to serve a wide range of people who need health information - from hospital administrators to medical professionals to consumers. The database provides coverage from leading health journals and essential medical journals in key medical specialties.
Health collection (Informit)
Developed in response to the growing demand for Australasian health information, this Collection provides cover-to-cover full text access to core content from the region. Content includes research articles, reports and case studies of practical support to anyone studying or working in therapeutic, diagnostic and preventative health roles.
PubMed
PubMed was developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). It was developed in conjunction with publishers of biomedical literature as a search tool for accessing literature citations and linking to full-text journals at web sites of participating publishers.
Scopus (Elsevier)
Scopus is a comprehensive scientific, medical, technical and social science database containing relevant literature.
UpToDate
This resource is designed to answer the clinical questions that arise in daily practice. UpToDate covers over 10,000 clinical topics in over 20 medical specialties and includes links to fulltext articles, drugs & drug interaction databases, and medical calculators.

Library subject guides

Nursing

Need help? Ask the Library!