All guides: Laboratory Medicine: Key resources

Databases

Databases are collections of resources; many databases specialise in a specific subject area. You will find relevant research and academic sources in the databases below.

Search tips

Login to LibrarySearch or one of the databases on this guide, then search using keywords that describe your topic. Refine your search results to peer-reviewed journals, books, online books, book chapters or videos.

The following tips will also work in Google Scholar and most databases.

Use OR between words to find any of your keywords.
Group OR words using brackets.
Find "exact phrases" with quotation marks.
Add an asterisk to part of a word to find different endings and plurals.
There is a default AND relationship between search terms separated by a space.

Example searches:

COVID* OR corona* OR SARS-CoV-2
"secondary bacterial pneumonia"
(COVID* OR corona* OR SARS-CoV-2) "secondary bacterial pneumonia"

ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
A leading platform of peer-reviewed scholarly literature; authoritative, full-text scientific, technical and health publications.
PubMed
Evidence-based medical and biomedical science literature.
Select FindIt@RMIT to access full text documents.
CINAHL Complete with Full Text (EBSCO)
A comprehensive database for nursing & allied health journals, including all aspects of laboratory science.
Nature (NPG)
Access to publications from the Nature Publishing Group including Nature, Nature Cell Biology, Nature Chemical Biology, Nature Communications, Nature Medicine, Nature Methods, Nature Protocols, Nature Reviews, and Nature Structural & Molecular Biology.

JoVE: Journal of Visualized Experiments
JoVE is a peer-reviewed scientific video journal covering biological, medical, chemical and physical research. RMIT has access to JoVE Education Unlimited, which includes:
Basic and advanced biology
Chemistry
Clinical skills
18 topics in the JoVE Core series
4 research journals: Biochemistry, Biology, Chemistry, and Medicine.
ProQuest Health and Medical collection
Reliable, comprehensive journal coverage of biochemistry, microbiology, pathology and biomedical science.

BioMed Central
Original peer-reviewed biomedical research.
Annual Reviews
Annual review journals in biomedical, life and physical sciences.
UpToDate
Answers to clinical questions that arise in daily practice. Includes haematology, laboratory medicine and transfusion medicine.
Biological Science Collection (ProQuest)
Includes Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases. A wide range of research in biomedical science and microbiology. Select FindIt@RMIT to access full text documents.
Scopus (Elsevier)
Peer-reviewed journals, books and conference proceedings. Includes author affiliations, and citation impact. Select FindIt@RMIT to access full text documents.
Web of Science (Clarivate Analytics)
Leading scholarly literature in the fields of science and technology. Select FindIt@RMIT to access full text documents.

Chemicals and substances

SciFinder
SciFinder-n provides access to Chemical Abstracts and Medline and covers many scientific disciplines including biochemistry and biomedical science. Use text query or sequence query (draw or import) to discover substances, Patent Markush structures, reactions, references, and biosequences.

Anatomy and physiology

Anatomy.TV (Primal Pictures)
Three-dimensional animations illustrate function, biomechanics, and surgical procedures. Clinical videos and text by leading specialists supplement animations and models.

Help using Anatomy.tv

Academic study skills

Assignments: get started

Assignments: get started is your guide to finding, evaluating and referencing sources of information.

Learning lab

Access the Learning lab to develop skills in writing, critical thinking, assessment tasks and much more.

Library subject guides

Laboratory Medicine

Need help? Ask the Library!

Databases

Search tips

Chemicals and substances

Anatomy and physiology

Academic study skills