All guides: International Business: Websites

Websites

CIA World Factbook
Country and region reports and comparisons covering people, government, economy, and transnational issues. Includes a collection of political, physical and world maps.
Doing Business (The World Bank)
Business regulations and rankings for 190 economies. Covers starting a business, electricity, permits, credit, contracts, taxes, and trading across borders.
Deloitte Tax Guides and Highlights
Overviews of tax systems for major trading countries.
Global Entrepreneurship Monitor (GEM)
Country reports and policy briefs on entrepreneurial behaviour in over 100 economies.
Business etiquette around the world
CT Business Travel's visual guide to global manners in different countries. Tips on introductions, business meetings and dining etiquette.
globalEDGE
A comprehensive collection of international business resources and training materials. The Global Resource Directory includes research, current topics, trade and reference resources.

International organisations

International Business Ethics Institute
A non-profit educational organization. Resources include books, guides and articles on global and regional ethics.
International Chamber of Commerce
Promotes a global approach to international trade through responsible business conduct.
International Monetary Fund
Monitors the global economy, provides financial advice and loans, and supports stable development. Publications include the World Economic Outlook, and Regional Economic Reports.
International Trade Centre
A joint agency of the WTO and UN helping businesses grow sustainable trade. Check out the market information and tools, and publications.
SIPRI - Stockholm International Peace Research Institute
An independent think tank researching conflict and peace.
Provides publications and databases on international arms transfers, peace operations, and military expenditure.
World Bank - Trade and International Integration
Research on trade and integration, global economic development and poverty reduction.
World Trade Organization (WTO)
The WTO helps maintain open trade and build capacity to raise living standards.

Australian organisations

Austrade (Australian Trade Commission
Export market profiles and business advice for Australian exporters.
Australian Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT)
Supports Australia’s international interests. Includes country economies, international relations and security, trade agreements, and development programs.
Global Victoria – for exporters
Resources, tools, strategies and insights for entering the export market.

Asia-Pacific organisations

Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC)
Economic growth, cooperation, trade and investment. Includes publications, news, videos, business resources and member economies.
Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN)
Regional cooperation to achieve harmonious economic and socio-cultural development.
Australian China Business Council
Trade and investment opportunities in Australia and China.
Japan – Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry (METI)
Access policy papers and statistical reports on Japan's industries.
Japan External Trade Organization (JETRO)
Promotes trade and foreign investment in Japan. Includes survey reports, and trade and investment statistics.
Malaysia External Trade Development Corporation (MATRADE)
The national trade promotion agency provides information for Malaysian exporters and foreign buyers.
Singapore – Ministry of Trade and Industry (MTI)
Resources include key economic indicators, economic surveys and publications.
Taiwan – Bureau of Foreign Trade
Taiwan’s external trade development. Information on trade administration and relations, statistics and forecasts.
United Nations (ESCAP) Trade and Investment Division
Trade, investment, technology and innovation for sustainable development across Asia and the Pacific.

Evaluating information sources

The CRAAP test

Evaluate your sources using the CRAAP test to find reliable, quality information.

• Currency: when was it created?
• Relevance: is it on my topic?
• Authority: is it by an expert?
• Accuracy: is it correct?
• Purpose: why was it created?

The SIFT method

Evaluate web and social media sources in 4 moves using the SIFT method.

• Stop - think before using a source.
• Investigate where it is from.
• Find alternative sources.
• Trace claims, quotes and media.

Fact checking

Fact checking is an important skill. Find out how to assess and verify your sources with RMIT's Fact checking guide.

• Assess websites and social media.
• Lean how to spot fake news.
• Develop your media literacy skills.

Library subject guides

International Business

Websites

International organisations

Australian organisations

Asia-Pacific organisations

Evaluating information sources