All guides: Entrepreneurship: Key resources

Searching databases

Search database collections using the main keywords that describe your topic. For example: entrepreneurship

Databases often include advanced search options for combining keywords and refining your search. These can help you find the most relevant results. Learn more about searching databases effectively.

Academic journal articles

Find journal articles and case studies on a broad range of subjects including entrepreneurship, small business, consumer behaviour, market analysis and management.

Search using the main keywords that describe your topic. For example: entrepreneurship

Try the advanced search options for combining keywords and refining your search to find the most relevant results.

ProQuest Central
A comprehensive multidisciplinary collection. Search can be limited to business and management resources by using the database tab at the top of the main page.
Taylor & Francis Online
Peer-reviewed articles on marketing and business.
Emerald Insight
Business research in management, leadership, strategy, marketing, and human resource management.

For more resources in your subject area, use the A-Z Databases tool, choose Entrepreneurship, and review the details of the databases before making a selection.

Entrepreneurship research

Business Source Complete (EBSCO)
Scholarly business information providing a collection of summary and full text content including case studies.
Psychology Database (ProQuest )
International psychology resources covering aspects of business relating to consumer behaviour.
Business Collection (Informit)
This Australian business collection covers broad fields including accounting, career development, commercial law, commodities, corporate governance, e-business, economics, employment, human resources, labour, management, marketing, occupational health, taxation, and unions.
Asian & European Business Collection (ProQuest)
Find the latest business and financial news from the Eastern Hemisphere. Covers Asian business and financial information from key international publications including Far Eastern Economic Review, Asiaweek, and many more.

Customers and competitors

Find resources to help identify competitors, customers and analyse consumer behaviour.

Passport analytics
Passport (formerly GMID) provides global market research including statistics, analysis, reports, surveys and breaking news on industries, countries and consumers worldwide. It analyses market context, competitor insight and future trends impacting businesses globally.
IBIS World
Provides an understanding of predicted market conditions including supply and source industries and activity in your industry, IBISWorld’s succinct yet comprehensive reports will keep you informed.
DatAnalysis Premium
Provides a comprehensive current and historical picture of ASX listed and delisted companies. For more information see the company and industry information tab of this guide.
MarketLine
Provides Business Insights reports, case studies, company profiles, SWOT analyses, and industry profiles. Additionally includes news & opinions, market data analytics, and country statistics.
ABS (Australian Bureau of Statistics)
The ABS website is a useful resource to understand potential customers. As well as providing statistical information around demographics, the ABS also provides detailed analysis and commentary of the data it commissions.

For help check out the Australian Bureau Of Statistics QuickStats Tutorial

TIP: You can also use the Passport and OECD iLibrary databases to locate statistical information and analysis about your potential customer base.

OECD iLibrary

WARC: World Advertising Research Center
Includes information on consumer behavior and articles about trends affecting your customers, industry or business. Use the 3-line menu on the top right to easily navigate the site.

Sprout Social
Social media demographics, usage, personas and insights for marketers. Resources include guides, case studies, templates and reports.
Khoros Social Media Demographics Guide
Age, gender, income, device usage and site behaviour on social media platforms.

Industry and company information

News about a company or industry including industry trends, new products, mergers or acquisitions, what’s hot and what’s not plus any problems or issues relating to a company or industry.

IBIS World
Company and industry reports from Australia and China. Strategic insights and analysis on over 500 Australian industries. Includes business forecasting and market characteristics.
Passport analytics
International database containing company, industry, and consumer reports.
MarketLine
International database featuring Business Insights reports, company profiles, country profiles, SWOT analyses, industry profiles, news and more.
DatAnalysis Premium
Provides detailed and comparative information on listed and delisted companies on the Australian Securities Exchange (ASX) and New Zealand Securities Exchange (NZSE). Also includes extensive current and historical corporate data include breakdowns on company revenue and expenses, ASX announcements, floats, dividend history, and listing rule waivers.

To search for a specific company in DatAnalysis, you will need to know the ASX code which you can find under ‘Code Lookup’ in the first column of the Quick Search tool. At a minimum you will also need to enter a general search term under “Search Criteria’ in the third column of Quick Search.

Case Studies and Statistics

What is a case study?

Case studies generally describe real world practical examples from which others can gain insight for their own application. Case studies can provide both positive examples, as well as raise issues and challenges for others to be aware of.

TIP: To locate case studies in LibrarySearch, enter the search terms, "case study" or "case studies" and the keywords describing your topic.

TIP: To locate case studies in some of the Library databases, either look for a 'Case Study' filter, or enter the search terms, "case study" or "case studies" and the keywords describing your topic.

Datamonitor - case study series
10-page company case studies examining the reasoning behind the business success of specific companies. Produced by Datamonitor in areas including consumer, automotive and logistics, healthcare, technology and energy.
Henry Stewart Talks Business & Management Collection
Streamed video lectures and case studies by leading experts from commerce, industry, the professions and academia, in one online resource.
Kanopy - business case studies
These cases are business oriented and in streaming media format (video). Use keywords such as 'case study', 'entrepreneur', 'management' etc.
Sage Research Methods Online - Cases
Under the browse menu, content type can be filtered to display only 'cases'.
WARC Database (World Advertising Research Centre)
There is a section for finding case studies in WARC covering the areas of business, marketing and advertising.

Statistics

Australian Statistics

Australian Bureau of Statistics
The Australian Bureau of Statistics is an excellent source of Australian statistical information.
Search Census data for statistics on local government areas.

Browse the Statistics tab for information on topic areas.
Use the search bar on the top right of the ABS website to find specific reports.
.idcommunity
Find detailed profile data and forecasts of demographics for local Government areas in Australia and New Zealand. Also known as Profile.id.

International Statistics

IMF eLibrary
The International Monetary Fund's (IMF) eLibrary simplifies analysis and research with direct access to the IMF’s periodicals, books, working papers and studies, data and statistical tools. You will find information and perspective on macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, and so much more.
OECD iLibrary
Full access to the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development statistical databases.

UNESCO Institute for Statistics
This public information source provides access to 110 databases, 66 information services and a range of additional publications including the full text of official UNESCO documents and the Photobank.
UN Statistics Division
This provides commodity and International Trade statistics by country. You can search the UN Comtrade database (commodity imports/exports to or from specifiable countries or the world) under Statistical Databases, or browse the Publications.
World Bank
Provides development indicators for over 200 countries.
World Trade Organisation
Contains International Trade statistics in the Statistics database from the Documents and Resources tab. There are also International Trade Statistic reports, which contains downloadable Excel tables, as well as other yearly reports going back to 1998.

Videos, film, TV and podcasts

Kanopy Streaming Service
Documentaries via streaming video
ClickView
You will need to enter your RMIT email address to be directed to the RMIT log in page.
Streaming videos in the following collections:
Arts and Recreation
Business and Services
Health and Public Sector
Manufacturing and Engineering
Natural Resources
Foundation Skills
SAGE Video (SAGE Knowledge)
SAGE Video provides online video collections in the social sciences, created for use in teaching and research across higher education. RMIT has access to these collections:
Counseling & Psychotherapy
Media, Communication & Cultural studies
Sociology
LinkedIn Learning
Online training library which offers access to training sessions in streaming video covering a variety of software products and digital technologies. Access over 1,200 online courses, 24/7.
EduTV (Informit)
Informit EduTV makes it easy for lecturers and students to find and watch relevant television content instantly. The database includes over 10,000 programs including documentaries, drama and series. Informit EduTV is an essential resource for teaching and learning and allows institutions to derive maximum benefit from their Screenrights broadcast licence.

Quick Links

Further Support

Study Support

You can get drop-in help from academic skills advisors and librarians in the Study Support Hubs, both on-campus and online, or submit a question or assignment for feedback.

Connect with a peer mentor to help you with your course. Discover a range of tools to support your study.

Vietnam Library Study Support

Check out the Library study support resources and contacts for Vietnam students.

Your feedback and suggestions

Send us your feedback about this guide.

Library subject guides

Entrepreneurship

Need help? Ask the Library!