All guides: Conveyancing: Key resources

Conveyancing Victoria: 2022

The latest edition of this book covers the basic elements of a conveyancing transaction including:

The 8th edition includes:

Building a Profession
This book documents the history of the conveyancing profession in Victoria and explores the fight for a licensing scheme.
The Sale of Land
This 2007 book by Wikrama & Voumard is a complete guide to understanding the principles and special characteristics in a contract for the sale and conveyance of land in Australia.

LawOne
Contains full-text and consolidated legislation for the Commonwealth and all States and Territories. Also includes full-text repealed legislation for these jurisdictions. Provides access to bills, second reading speeches and explanatory memoranda.
Lexis+ Australia
Key Australian and New Zealand legal research database containing legal information relating to Australia and New Zealand, including legislation, cases, legal commentary, journals, books and analytical material. Acts are linked to related cases, commentary, and articles using the “Legislation Citator”.
Westlaw AU
Provides access to Australian legislation, case law, commentary, journals, news and precedents. Formerly Legal Online.
AustLII: Australasian Legal Information Institute
Provides free online access to Australian legal information, including Federal and State legislation, treaties, and judgments of various Federal and State level courts and tribunals. Contains indexed cases, Law Reform Commission Reports, and journal articles. Free access to all Australian legislation. Find an Act, and then for each provision use the “Note Up” feature to find related cases and journal articles.
CCH iKnowConnect (formerly IntelliConnect)
Access to legal, tax, accounting, finance and business resources.

Websites of Australian Government legislation:

The Commonwealth and every State and Territory in Australia maintain a website that contains their legislation.

Australian Capital Territory (ACT)
New South Wales (NSW)
Northern Territory (NT)
Queensland (QLD)
South Australia (SA)
Tasmania (TAS)
Victoria (VIC)
Western Australia (WA)
Federal Register of Legislation - Commonwealth (CTH)
The most complete and up-to-date collection of Commonwealth legislation and related documents. Also and includes notices from the Commonwealth Government Notices Gazette. The Legislation Register is managed by the Office of Parliamentary Counsel.

Westlaw AU
Access to Australian case law, legislation, commentary, journals, news and precedents. Formerly Legal Online.
Lexis+ Australia
Key Australian and New Zealand legal research database containing legal information relating to Australia and New Zealand, including legislation, cases, legal commentary, journals, books and analytical material. Acts are linked to related cases, commentary, and articles using the “Legislation Citator”.
CCH iKnowConnect (formerly IntelliConnect)
Access to legal, tax, accounting, finance and business resources. Use the case's party names or citation to search.

Note: CCH IntelliConnect does not contain full-text authorised reports. To find these reports, use 'Westlaw AU' database instead.
AustLII: Australasian Legal Information Institute
Provides free online access to Australian legal information, including Federal and State legislation, treaties, and judgments of various Federal and State level courts and tribunals. Contains indexed cases, Law Reform Commission Reports, and journal articles. Free access to all Australian legislation. Find an Act, and then for each provision use the “Note Up” feature to find related cases and journal articles.

AGIS Plus Text (Informit)
AGIS Plus Text is an indexing and full-text Australian database that provides access to journal articles from published material on all aspects of law.
Westlaw AU
Provides case citation information, summaries of important cases and helps find similar and related cases. Has the full text of the Commonwealth Law Reports (CLR).
Lexis+ Australia
Key Australian and New Zealand legal research database containing legal information relating to Australia and New Zealand, including legislation, cases, legal commentary, journals, books and analytical material. Acts are linked to related cases, commentary, and articles using the “Legislation Citator”.
AustLII: Australasian Legal Information Institute
Provides free online access to Australian legal information, including Federal and State legislation, treaties, and judgments of various Federal and State level courts and tribunals. Contains indexed cases, Law Reform Commission Reports, and journal articles. Free access to all Australian legislation. Find an Act, and then for each provision use the “Note Up” feature to find related cases and journal articles.
HeinOnline
HeinOnline is a full text archive of U.S. law journals. It also contains some law journals from Commonwealth countries including the UK, Australia and New Zealand. Coverage is from the first volume for each journal.

Assignments: get started

Assignments: get started is your guide to finding, evaluating and referencing sources of information.

Learning lab

Access the Learning lab to develop skills in writing, critical thinking, assessment tasks and much more.